Fee-for-service proposal – Trademarks
Page 3 of 5

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

B) How did CIPO establish its new fees?

Financial neutrality principle

CIPO funds its operations on a cost-recovery basis whereby applicants are charged fees in return for receiving a service, namely the grant or registration of an IP right. The fees charged for these rights and related services must recover the costs of the associated activities in order to adequately fund and support CIPO's operations while complying with its mandated role of supporting economic growth and innovation.

For this reason, when implementing the trademark treaties, the organization must balance expenses with the necessity of maintaining a high level of client service and ensuring that the registration process is as efficient as possible. While CIPO's existing services and processes will remain mostly unchanged by the implementation of the treaties, specific fees will be adjusted or combined to recover the expenses of operating the Trademarks Branch (TMB) including the Trademarks Opposition Board (TMOB). One of the guiding principles that the organization followed in establishing its new fees was to ensure financial neutrality. In other words, CIPO sought to generate the least amount of surplus or deficit over a three-year cycle, in accordance with Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) Policy on Special Revenue Spending Authorities.

Projected revenues and costs

The new proposed fees were set using the activity-based management (ABM) methodology, a recognized approach that provides the information needed to make both strategic and management decisions with a focus on ensuring value-for-service. Unit costs from CIPO's ABM model were used to forecast expenses over a three-year period based on forecasted volumes and expected changes to processes and client behaviour.

Other factors besides financial neutrality also helped guide the decision regarding the level of the proposed fees. CIPO considered comparable fees by other IPOs (International comparisons section) and sought to encourage certain client behaviour such as online filing (e-filing), by charging lower fees for e-filing than for paper filing as paper-based applications are more costly to process.

Finally, CIPO also needed to consider the effects of other legislative and regulatory changes undertaken as part of treaty implementation on the overall financial health of TMB and TMOB. The following represent a loss to incoming revenue projections:

It is also expected that the implementation of the Nice Classification will, in the short-term, require additional CIPO resources:

Based on projected volumes, the proposed fee package will, over a three-year period, cover the expenses associated with the overall operation of Canada's trademark regime, from application, to opposition, to registration, to renewals. Table 1 shows the projected revenues and costs for operating TMB and TMOB over a three-year cycle beginning in 2018.

It is important to note that there will be a period of transition whereby applications governed by the current fee regime (the “old” regime) will coexist with applications governed by the proposed fee regime. The “old” regime applications, which are subject to the $200 registration fee, will cause a short-lived increase of revenues and costs starting in fiscal year 2018‒19 as these applications are examined, advertised and ultimately accepted for registration. Their numbers will taper over the next two years with a balanced situation by fiscal year 2020‒21.

Table 1: Projected revenues and costs of operating TMB and TMOB over three years (in Millions $)
  2018‒19 2019‒20 2020‒21 Total over three years
Revenues 49.6 45.7 45.0 140.3
Costs 56.5 42.3 40.8 139.6
Surplus/(loss) (6.9) 3.3 4.2 0.7

Fee-for-service proposal

Application fees

As explained in the Merging of the Application and Registration Fees section, maintaining the requirement that the registration fee be paid after allowance would complicate the implementation of the Madrid Protocol. Therefore, maintaining the current fee structure for domestic applications (that is, those NOT filed using the Madrid Protocol), while creating a new one for applications received from WIPO would be unacceptable, as it would result in a two-tiered system with one set of applicants being subjected to a given procedure while another would be subjected to a different procedure. Keeping in mind the objectives of reducing paperwork burden on applicants, granting trademark rights in a timely fashion and avoiding a two-tiered system, the proposed approach is to merge the application and registration fees and to have one application fee payable at the onset of the registration process.   

The proposed fee would be $330 when filing online or $430 on paper. The higher fee associated with a paper application takes into account the fact that the information must be inputted manually into CIPO's systems rather than automatically processed. The new proposed fee is less than the sum of the current application and registration fees ($250 and $200, respectively), which will make trademark registration an attractive option especially for small first-time users.

Fee-per-Nice class

In order to discourage overly-broad trademark applications containing more goods and services than the applicant intends to use, it is proposed that a fee-per-class be implemented. While there are already safeguards to discourage overly-broad registrations from the Register of Trademarks (see text box), these only apply once a trademark has been registered. This proposed fee-per-class would provide a disincentive at the application stage and, combined with existing measures will help ensure that the Register of Trademarks accurately reflects trademark use in the Canadian marketplace.

Countries adhering to the Nice Classification generally take one of two approaches to fee-per-Nice class: either instituting a fee for each individual class or an initial fee covering three classes and then a charge for each class thereafter. Canada’s closest trading partners, including the US, the UK, Mexico and members of the European Union take this first approach. To prevent overreach, to ensure that businesses (particularly small and medium sized businesses) only pay fees for the classes they actually require, and to ensure that our practices are aligned with the jurisdictions where our clients are most active, CIPO proposes to move forward with this fee-per-individual-class approach.

The proposed application fee and fee for each additional Nice class, both at filing and at renewal, have been established to reflect the basic cost of examination. The proposed fee is $100 when filing a new application and $125 when renewing a trademark for each additional class over one class.

Under s. 45 of Trade-marks Act, the Registrar may require evidence that a trademark is being used in the Canadian marketplace for the goods and services listed in the registration. Failure to provide such evidence can result in a trademark registration being amended (to remove the goods and services for which no evidence of use was provided) or entirely struck from the Register.

Renewals

When considering individual fee changes as is the case here, CIPO must nonetheless keep in mind the overall financial health of TMB and TMOB and maintain financial neutrality, as explained above. As a result of the increased costs for implementing the Nice Classification, CIPO has made the decision to increase its renewal fee. Currently, the fee to file a renewal is $350 if the request to renew is made and paid for online, or $400 for paper requests. Based on international comparisons, renewal fees are generally higher than filing fees to prevent owners from renewing trademarks that are no longer in use or encourage owners to only renew a trademark in association with the classes of goods or services that are in use. This fee structure provides the incentive to only renew truly valuable trademarks that are in use which, in turn, helps ensure that the Register of Trademarks is up-to-date and is a true reflection of the Canadian marketplace. For these reasons, the proposed renewal fees would be $400 when a trademark is renewed online and $500 when it is renewed by paper request as paper-based applications are more costly to process

Proposed new trademark fees
New application (for first class) Application to extend goods & services to an existing registration (for first class) Renewal (for first class)
E-com Paper Per additional class Paper Per additional class E-com Paper Per additional class
$330 $430 $100 $430 $100 $400 $500 $125

Impact assessment

The proposed fee changes are not expected to have a significant impact on trademark applicants. Under this proposal, the most significant change affecting fees is due to the implementation of the Nice Classification and the related proposed fee-per-class principle.

Currently, applicants pay $250 to file an application and $200 upon registration for a total of $450. Analysis of trademark applications over the last five years shows the following:

The above shows that under the new proposal, 67% of applicants (i.e. those who file 1 and 2 Nice classes) would pay $330 and $430 respectively, as opposed to the current fee of $450.

In addition, the fee proposal will have an impact on renewals of trademark registrations. In the current regime, trademark owners must pay a renewal fee of $350 for online requests which provides for an additional 15 years of protection. Under the new regime, the renewal fee would increase to $400 for online requests for a registration covering 1 class and $525 for a registration covering 2 classes, instead of $350. These amounts would provide a 10 year period of protection, a requirement of the Singapore Treaty. The increase in the renewal fee dissuades the renewing of less valuable trademarks and ensures trademark owners only renew valuable trademarks that are actually in use in the Canadian marketplace. Over time, this will reduce “clutter” and improve the quality of the information found in the Register of Trademarks.

As a result, the impact of the new fee structure on trademark owners is not expected to be significant.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Proposition de droits – Marques de commerce
Page 3 de 5

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

B) Comment l'OPIC a-t-il établi ses nouveaux frais?

Principe de la neutralité financière

L'OPIC finance ses opérations selon le principe de la récupération des coûts. Ainsi, des frais sont imputés aux requérants en contrepartie d'un service, à savoir l'octroi ou l'enregistrement d'un droit de PI. Les frais imputés pour ces droits et les services connexes doivent couvrir les coûts des activités s'y rapportant afin de financer adéquatement et appuyer les opérations de l'OPIC, tout en étant conformes au rôle autorisé de ce dernier, qui est d'appuyer la croissance économique et l'innovation.

Pour cette raison, lorsque les traités sur les marques de commerce sont mis en œuvre, l'organisme doit équilibrer les dépenses avec la nécessité de maintenir un service à la clientèle de haut niveau et de s'assurer que le processus d'enregistrement est aussi efficace que possible. Alors que les services et les processus actuels de l'OPIC resteront en majeure partie inchangés par suite de la mise en œuvre de ces traités, des frais particuliers seront ajustés ou combinés afin de récupérer les dépenses associées aux opérations de la Direction des marques de commerce (DMC) ainsi que de la Commission d'opposition des marques de commerce (COMC). Un des principes directeurs que l'organisation a mis en application au moment d'établir ses nouveaux frais se rapporte à la nécessité d'assurer la neutralité financière. Autrement dit, l'OPIC cherchait à générer le moins de surplus ou de déficit pendant un cycle de trois ans, conformément à la Politique sur les autorisations spéciales de dépenser les recettes du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT).

Revenus et coûts projetés

Les nouveaux frais proposés ont été établis à l'aide de la méthode de gestion par activité (GPA), une approche reconnue qui fournit les renseignements nécessaires pour prendre des décisions stratégiques et de gestion, en portant une attention particulière à la nécessité de garantir la valeur des services. Les coûts unitaires découlant du modèle de GPA de l'OPIC ont servi à prévoir les dépenses sur une période de trois ans en fonction des volumes prévus et des changements attendus aux processus et au comportement des clients.

Outre la neutralité financière, d'autres facteurs ont également permis d'orienter la décision concernant le niveau des frais proposés. L'OPIC a examiné les frais comparables facturés par d'autres OPI (section Comparaisons internationales) et a aussi cherché à favoriser certains comportements de la part des clients comme le dépôt électronique en facturant des frais moins élevés pour le dépôt en ligne (dépôt électronique) par rapport au dépôt sur support papier, puisqu'il coûte plus cher de traiter les demandes sur support papier.

Enfin, l'OPIC devait également tenir compte des répercussions d'autres modifications législatives et réglementaires entreprises dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre des traités sur la santé financière globale de l'organisme. Les données suivantes constituent une perte par rapport aux projections concernant les rentrées de capitaux :

On s'attend également à ce que la mise en œuvre de la Classification de Nice exige, à court terme, des ressources supplémentaires de l'OPIC :

Selon les volumes projetés, la tarification proposée couvrira, sur une période de trois ans, les dépenses associées à l'ensemble des opérations du régime canadien des marques de commerce, de la demande, à l'opposition, à l'enregistrement, aux renouvellements. Le tableau 1 montre les revenus et les coûts projetés pour les opérations de la DMC et de la COMC, pour un cycle de trois ans débutant en 2018.

Il est important de noter qu'il y aura une période de transition où les demandes assujetties par le barème tarifaire actuel (l'ancien régime) coexisteront avec les demandes assujetties au barème tarifaire proposé. Les demandes de l'ancien régime, qui sont sujettes au frais d'enregistrement de 200 $, causeront une courte augmentation des revenus et des coûts à partir de l'année financière 2018-2019 alors que ces demandes seront examinées, annoncées et finalement acceptées pour enregistrement d'ici l'année financière 2020-2021.

Tableau 1 : Revenus et coûts projetés sur une période de trois ans (en millions de dollars)
  2018-19 2019-20 2020-21 Total sur trois ans
Revenus 49,6 45,7 45,0 140,3
Coûts 56,5 42,3 40,8 139,6
Surplus/(Perte) (6,9) 3,3 4,2 0,7

Proposition de rémunération des services

Frais de demande

Comme il est expliqué à la section Fusion des frais de demande et d'enregistrement, le maintien de l'obligation de payer les frais d'enregistrement après l'acceptation risquerait de compliquer la mise en œuvre du Protocole de Madrid. Par conséquent, le maintien du barème tarifaire actuel pour les demandes nationales (à savoir celles qui ne sont PAS déposées à l'aide du Protocole de Madrid) tout en créant un nouveau barème pour les demandes reçues de l'OMPI serait inacceptable, car cela entraînerait l'établissement d'un système à deux paliers en vertu duquel un groupe de requérants serait assujetti à une procédure donnée tandis qu'un autre groupe serait assujetti à une procédure différente. En tenant compte des objectifs visant à réduire la paperasserie pour les requérants, à accorder des droits liés aux marques de commerce en temps opportun et à éviter l'établissement d'un système à deux paliers, l'approche proposée consiste à fusionner les frais de demande et d'enregistrement et à maintenir un seul frais de demande payable au début du processus d'enregistrement.

Les frais proposés s'élèveraient à 330 $ pour le dépôt en ligne d'une demande et à 430 $ pour le dépôt d'une demande sur papier. Les frais plus élevés associés à une demande sur papier tiennent compte du fait que les renseignements doivent être entrés manuellement dans les systèmes de l'OPIC au lieu d'être traités automatiquement. Les nouveaux frais proposés sont inférieurs à la somme des frais de demande et d'enregistrement actuels (250 $ et 200 $ respectivement), ce qui fera de l'enregistrement des marques de commerce une option attrayante, surtout pour les requérants d’un premier enregistrement.

Rémunération par classe de Nice

Afin de dissuader le dépôt de demandes de marques de commerce trop larges qui contiennent plus de produits et de services que le requérant n'a l'intention d'employer, il est proposé de mettre en œuvre un système de rémunération par classe. Bien que des mesures de protection aient déjà été mises en place afin de dissuader les enregistrements trop larges du Registre des marques de commerce (voir l'encadré), elles s'appliquent uniquement après l'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce. Le système de rémunération par classe proposé constituerait un moyen de dissuasion à l'étape de la demande et, conjugué avec les mesures existantes, permettrait de s'assurer que le Registre des marques de commerce reflète fidèlement l'emploi des marques de commerce sur le marché canadien. 

Les pays qui adhèrent à la Classification de Nice adoptent généralement l'une des deux approches par rapport au système de rémunération par classe de Nice, soit instaurer des frais pour chaque classe individuelle ou des frais initiaux pour trois classes et facturer ensuite chaque classe supplémentaire suivante. Les principaux partenaires d’échange du Canada, comme les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, le Mexique et les membres de l’Union européenne, adoptent cette première approche. Afin d'éviter l'excès et pour s'assurer que les entreprises (surtout les petites ou moyennes entreprises) paient uniquement les frais pour les classes dont elles ont vraiment besoin et, pour s'assurer que nos pratiques sont harmonisées à celles des administrations où nos clients sont les plus actifs, l'OPIC propose d'aller de l'avant en adoptant une approche selon laquelle des frais sont fracturés pour chaque class individuelle.

Les frais de demande proposés et les frais pour chaque classe supplémentaire de la Classification de Nice, au moment du dépôt et du renouvellement, ont été établis afin de tenir compte du coût de base de l'examen. Les frais proposés s'élèvent à 100 $ lors du dépôt d'une nouvelle demande et à 125 $ lors du renouvellement d'une marque de commerce pour chaque classe supplémentaire après une classe.

Conformément à l'article 45 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, le registraire peut demander de fournir une preuve d'emploi d'une marque de commerce sur le marché canadien pour les produits et les services indiqués dans l'enregistrement. Le défaut de fournir une telle preuve peut entraîner la modification (supprimer les produits et les services pour lesquels aucune preuve d'emploi n'a été fournie) de l'enregistrement de la marque de commerce ou sa radiation complète du registre.

Renouvellements

Lorsqu'il examine les modifications apportées aux frais individuels, comme c'est actuellement le cas, l'OPIC doit néanmoins tenir compte de la santé financière globale de la DMC et de la COMC et maintenir une neutralité financière, comme on l'explique plus haut. En raison de l'augmentation des coûts pour la mise en œuvre de la Classification de Nice, l'OPIC a décidé d'augmenter ses frais de renouvellement. À l'heure actuelle, les frais pour déposer un renouvellement s'élèvent à 350 $ si la demande de renouvellement est présentée et payée en ligne ou à 400 $ pour les demandes sur papier. D'après les comparaisons internationales, les frais de renouvellement sont généralement plus élevés que les frais de dépôt pour éviter que les titulaires ne renouvellent des marques de commerce qui ne sont plus employées, ou pour encourager les titulaires à ne renouveler que les marques de commerce associées aux classes de produits ou services qui sont encore employés. Ce barème tarifaire sert d'incitatif pour renouveler seulement les marques de commerce de valeur qui sont employées, ce qui permet en retour de s'assurer que le Registre des marques de commerce est à jour et qu'il représente fidèlement le marché canadien. Pour ces raisons, les frais de renouvellement proposés seraient de 400 $ lorsqu'une marque de commerce est renouvelée en ligne et de 500 $ lorsqu'elle est renouvelée par voie de demande sur papier, puisqu'il coûte plus cher de traiter les demandes sur support papier.

Nouveaux frais de marques de commerce proposés
Nouvelle demande (pour la première classe) Demande visant à étendre des produits et services à un enregistrement actuel (pour la première classe) Renouvellement (pour la première classe)
En ligne Papier Par classe supplémentaire Papier Par classe supplémentaire En ligne Papier Par classe supplémentaire
330 $ 430 $ 100 $ 430 $ 100 $ 400 $ 500 $ 125 $

Évaluation des impacts

On ne prévoit pas que les modifications proposées aux frais aient une incidence importante sur les requérants de marques de commerce. En vertu de cette proposition, le principal changement concerne la mise en œuvre de la Classification de Nice et les changements connexes au principe de rémunération par classe.

Actuellement, les requérants doivent payer 250 $ pour les demandes et 200 $ pour l'enregistrement, pour un total de 450 $. Une analyse des demandes de marques de commerce au cours des cinq dernières années démontre que :

Ces données indiquent que selon la nouvelle proposition, 67 % des requérants (c.-à-d. ceux qui comprennent 1 ou 2 classes de la Classification de Nice) paieraient 330 $ et 430 $ respectivement, plutôt que les frais actuels de 450 $.

De plus, la modification proposée aux frais aurait une incidence sur le renouvellement des marques de commerce. Sous le régime actuel, les titulaires de marques de commerce doivent payer un frais de renouvellement de 350 $ pour les demandes en ligne, ce qui offre une protection supplémentaire de 15 ans. Dans le cadre du nouveau régime, le frais de renouvellement s'élèverait à 400 $ pour les demandes en ligne pour 1 classe, et à 525 $ pour 2 classes, plutôt que 350 $. Ces frais offriraient une protection de 10 ans, une exigence du Traité de Singapour. L'augmentation des frais de renouvellement dissuade le renouvellement de marques de commerce de moindre valeur, et fait en sorte que les titulaires de marques de commerce renouvellent uniquement les marques de valeur qui sont actuellement utilisées dans le marché canadien. Au fil du temps, ceci permettra de réduire l'encombrement et d'améliorer la qualité de l'information dans le Registre des marques de commerce.

En conséquence, on ne prévoit pas que la nouvelle structure ait un impact significatif sur les titulaires de marques de commerce. 

Date de modification :