Nice Classification

Publication Date: 2015-09-28

This practice notice comes into effect on September 28th, 2015, at which time the Registrar of Trade-marks will accept goods and services grouped and classed according to the Nice Classification.

As the proposed legislative changes relating to the classification of goods and services according to the Nice Agreement contained in Bill C-31 are not yet in force, the provision of Nice classes is voluntary at this time.

Where the Trademarks Office does not agree with the classification provided by the applicant and where the trademark has not yet been advertised pursuant to section 37 of the Trade-marks Act, the Registrar shall cause the application to be advertised in the Journal without the Nice Classification if no other requirements and/or objections are outstanding.

The Office will not grant extensions of time to allow the applicant to amend the application to include Nice classes.

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

Date modified:

Classification de Nice

Date de publication : 2015-09-28

Le présent énoncé de pratique entre en vigueur à compter du 28 septembre 2015, moment à partir duquel le registraire des marques de commerce accepte des produits et services groupés et classés selon la classification de Nice.

Puisque les modifications législatives proposées dans le projet de loi C-31, en ce qui a trait à la classification des produits et services selon l'Arrangement de Nice, ne sont pas encore en vigueur, veuillez noter que le dépôt des classes de Nice se fait sur une base volontaire.

Si le Bureau des marques de commerce est en désaccord avec la classification de Nice fournie par le demandeur et la marque de commerce n'a pas encore été annoncée conformément à l'article 37 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, le registraire fera annoncer la demande dans le Journal sans la classification de Nice, dans la mesure où toutes les exigences et objections auront été surmontées.

Le Bureau n'accordera pas de prolongation de délai pour permettre aux requérants de modifier leur demande pour y inclure des classes de Nice.

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser les pratiques actuelles du Bureau des marques de commerce et son interprétation des lois pertinentes. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

Date de modification :