Annual Report 2014–2015
Audited Financial Statements and Additional Financial Information

Audited financial statements

CIPO continues to implement its financial strategy of investing in key areas that will enable the organization to meet the objectives set out in the 2012-2017 Business Strategy, while allocating the necessary resources for operations to ensure customer service standards are met. This includes ramping up investments to modernize IT infrastructure and legislative frameworks, as well as providing resources to reduce turnaround times (TAT). While the organization continues to benefit from a stable revenue base, CIPO management ensures that its resource capacity is growing effectively and sustainably.

CIPO's operating results for the past year were favourable, with the organization generating a net surplus of $8.7M. This is an improvement from the previous year, due mainly to an increase in revenues. These gains relate to increased production, with the organization continuing to reduce its outstanding inventory of requests for examination, as well as to increased revenues from patent maintenance fees. Expenses were flat to the previous year, with increases in spending on IT projects offset by lower amortization and accommodations costs. The centralization of IT employees within the department resulted in a decrease of costs for salaries and benefits and an increase of spending on professional services, but did not represent a significant change to overall expenses.

As CIPO continues to build its capacity and drive the necessary changes, it remains well positioned to finance the key activities that will enable successful delivery of the strategic objectives for the benefit of existing customers and future innovators.

Revenue by products and services
% 2014-2015
Patents 78.0% 119,642,039
Trademarks 18.8% 28,894,697
Copyright and industrial designs 2.9% 4,516,094
Information 0.3% 407,027
Total 153,459,858
Operating expenditures by category
% 2014-2015
Salaries and benefits 66.2% 95,323,994
Professional services 23.9% 34,405,511
Amortization 0.6% 838,804
Accommodation 5.1% 7,399,211
Other 4.2% 5,977,593
Total 143,945,114
Expenditures by branch grouping
% 2014-2015
Product lines 67.7% 97,409,052
Direct support 20.2% 29,038,453
Indirect support 12.2% 17,497,609
Total 143,945,114
Patent revenues
% 2014-2015
Application 11.8% 14,064,240
Examination 20.5% 24,577,129
Registration/grant 5.8% 6,942,784
Assignment 3.3% 3,911,416
Maintenance/renewal fees 52.3% 62,568,124
Other revenues 2.7% 3,241,315
ISA/IPEA 3.6% 4,337,032
Total 119,642,040
Trademark revenues
% 2014-2015
Application 7.5% 2,169,824
Examination 50.1% 14,475,096
Registration/grant 8.9% 2,571,128
Assignment 4.3% 1,230,326
Maintenance/renewal fees 14.0% 4,043,450
Other revenues 15.2% 4,404,873
Total 28,894,697
Copyright and industrial design revenues
% 2014-2015
Application 8.6% 389,613
Registration/grant 60.6% 2,737,680
Assignment 4.7% 213,275
Maintenance/renewal fees 23.0% 1,040,700
Other revenues 3.0% 134,826
Total 4,516,094
Date modified:

Rapport annuel 2014–2015
États financiers vérifiés et renseignements financiers supplémentaires

États financiers vérifiés

L'OPIC continue de mettre en œuvre sa stratégie financière qui consiste à investir dans des domaines clés qui permettront à l'organisme d'atteindre les objectifs fixés dans la Stratégie d'affaires 2012-2017, tout en allouant les ressources nécessaires au fonctionnement pour que les normes de service à la clientèle soient atteintes. Ceci comprend l'accroissement des investissements pour moderniser l'infrastructure de TI et les cadres législatifs, en plus de la prestation de ressources pour réduire les délais d'exécution. Bien que l'organisme continue de bénéficier d'une base de revenus stable, l'équipe de gestion de l'OPIC s'assure que sa capacité en matière de ressources connait une croissance efficace et durable.

Les résultats des activités de l'OPIC au cours du dernier exercice sont favorables. L'organisme a généré un surplus net de 8,7 millions de dollars, ce qui constitue une amélioration par rapport à l'exercice précédent, attribuable principalement à une hausse des revenus. Les gains sont liés à une production améliorée; l'organisme continue de réduire l'arriéré des demandes en attentes d'examen, tout en augmentant les revenus provenant des frais de maintien en état des brevets. Les dépenses sont restées stables par rapport à l'exercice précédent, en raison d'une hausse des dépenses pour des projets de TI contrebalancée par une baisse des coûts associés à l'amortissement et aux locaux. La centralisation des employés de TI au sein du Ministère a créé une baisse des coûts associés aux salaires et avantages sociaux et une hausse des dépenses pour les services professionnels. Cependant, ceci ne représente pas de changement important aux dépenses totales.

Au fur et à mesure que l'OPIC continue de bâtir sa capacité et d'apporter les changements nécessaires, il reste bien placé pour financer les activités clés qui permettront d'atteindre avec succès les objectifs stratégiques, au profit des clients actuels et des futurs innovateurs.

Revenus par produits et services
% 2014-2015
Brevets 78,0% 119 642 039
Marques de commerce 18,8% 28 894 697
Droit d’auteur et dessins industriels 2,9% 4 516 094
Information 0,3% 407 027
Total 153 459 858
Dépenses de fonctionnement, par catégorie
% 2014-2015
Salaires et avantages sociaux 66,2% 95 323 994
Services professionnel 23,9% 34 405 511
Amortissement 0,6% 838 804
Locaux 5,1% 7 399 211
Autres 4,2% 5 977 593
Total 143 945 114
Dépenses, par regroupement de directions
% 2014-2015
Secteurs d'activité 67,7% 97 409 052
Soutien direct 20,2% 29 038 453
Soutien indirect 12,2% 17 497 609
Total 143 945 114
Revenus – Brevets
% 2014-2015
Demandes 11,8% 14 064 240
Examens 20,5% 24 577 129
Enregistrements / Délivrances 5,8% 6 942 784
Cessions 3,3% 3 911 416
Frais de maintien en état / Renouvellements 52,3% 62 568 124
Autre revenus 2,7% 3 241 315
ACRI / ACEPI 3,6% 4 337 032
Total 119 642 040
Revenus – Marques de commerce
% 2014-2015
Demandes 7,5% 2 169 824
Examens 50,1% 14 475 096
Enregistrements / Délivrances 8,9% 2 571 128
Cessions 4,3% 1 230 326
Frais de maintien en état / Renouvellements 14,0% 4 043 450
Autre revenus 15,2% 4 404 873
Total 28 894 697
Revenus – Droit d'auteur et dessins industriels
% 2014-2015
Demandes 8,6% 389 613
Enregistrements / Délivrances 60,6% 2 737 680
Cessions 4,7% 213 275
Frais de maintien en état / Renouvellements 23,0% 1 040 700
Autres revenus 3,0% 134 826
Total 4 516 094
Date de modification :