Notice on delays in meeting PCT time limits due to a general unavailability of electronic communication services

Effective July 1, 2016, amended Rule 82quater.1(a) of the PCT Regulations will provide for an Office to excuse delays in meeting time limits in certain situations of force majeure to include a general unavailability of electronic communication services. This amendment will help mitigate potential damage that may be caused to the rights of the applicant or third parties if problems with electronic communication services prevent an action from being taken within a certain period.

The amendment of Rule 82quater shall apply to any international application whose international filing date is on or after July 1, 2016 and shall also apply to international applications whose international filing date is before July 1, 2016, where the event referred to in Rule 82quater.1(a), as amended, occurs on or after July 1, 2016.

The Assembly adopted the following Understanding concerning the provisions regarding the excuse of a delay in meeting a time limit due to a general unavailability of electronic communication services in accordance with the amended Rule 82quater:

“In adopting the amendments to Rule 82quater.1, the Assembly noted that the receiving Office, the International Searching Authority, the Authority specified for supplementary search, the International Preliminary Examining Authority or the International Bureau should, in considering a request under Rule 82quater.1 to excuse a delay in meeting a time limit that has not been met due to a general unavailability of electronic communication services, interpret general unavailability of electronic communications to apply to outages that affect widespread geographical areas or many individuals, as distinct from localized problems associated with a particular building or single user.”

When considering a request under Rule 82quater.1 to excuse a delay in meeting a time limit that has not been met due to a general unavailability of electronic communication services CIPO will be guided by this Understanding.

Date modified:

Avis concernant les retards dans l’observation de délais selon la procédure PCT en raison d’une indisponibilité générale des services de communication électronique

À compter du 1er juillet 2016, la règle 82quater.1(a) du règlement d'exécution du PCT permettra à un office d'excuser des retards dans l'observation de délais dans certains cas de force majeure, notamment une indisponibilité générale des services de communication électronique. Cette modification contribuera à atténuer les préjudices éventuels touchant les droits du demandeur ou de tiers si des problèmes liés aux services de communication électronique empêchent une mesure d'être prise dans un délai déterminé.

La modification de la règle 82quater s'appliquera à toute demande internationale déposée au niveau international le 1er juillet 2016 ou après cette date, de même qu'aux demandes internationales dont la date de dépôt international est antérieure au 1er juillet 2016, lorsque l'événement visé à la règle 82quater.1(a) modifiée a lieu le 1er juillet 2016 ou après cette date.

L'assemblée a adopté la déclaration interprétative ci‑après concernant les dispositions visant à excuser un retard dans l'observation d'un délai en raison d'une indisponibilité générale des services de communication électronique conformément à la règle 82quater.1 modifiée :

« Lorsqu'elle a adopté les modifications de la règle 82quater.1, l'assemblée a noté que l'office récepteur, l'administration chargée de la recherche internationale, l'administration indiquée pour la recherche supplémentaire, l'administration chargée de l'examen préliminaire international ou le Bureau international devait, pour se prononcer sur une demande au titre de la règle 82quater.1 visant à obtenir l'excuse d'un retard dans l'observation d'un délai en raison d'une indisponibilité générale des services de communication électronique, interpréter l'indisponibilité générale des services de communication électronique comme s'appliquant aux interruptions de service qui affectent de vastes étendues géographiques ou de nombreuses personnes, par opposition aux problèmes localisés concernant un bâtiment particulier ou un seul utilisateur. »

L'OPIC s'appuiera sur cette déclaration interprétative pour étudier une demande présentée en vertu de la règle 82quater.1 et visant à obtenir l'excuse d'un retard dans l'observation d'un délai en raison d'une indisponibilité générale des services de communication électronique.

Date de modification :