Place of Origin — Paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Trade-marks Act

Publication Date: 2016-11-09

This notice is intended to clarify the Trademarks Office practice with respect to applying the provisions relating to place of origin in paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Trade-marks Act (hereinafter referred to as the "Act") to geographical names.

Clearly Descriptive

In accordance with MC Imports Inc. v. AFOD Ltd., 2016 FCA 60, a trademark is clearly descriptive of the place of origin if the trademark, whether depicted, written or sounded, is a geographic name and the associated goods or services originate from the location of the geographic name.

Deceptively Misdescriptive

A trademark is misdescriptive if the trademark is a geographic name and the associated goods or services do not originate from the location of the geographic name. If a trademark is misdescriptive, further analysis is required to determine if it is deceptive.

In assessing whether a trademark is deceptively misdescriptive, it must be determined whether the ordinary consumer would be misled into the belief that the associated goods or services had their origin in the location of the geographic name in the trademark.

Geographic Name

A trademark will be determined to be a geographic name if research shows that the trademark has no meaning other than as a geographic name. In addition, a trademark will be determined to be a geographical name if the trademark, despite having multiple meanings, has a primary or predominant meaning as a geographic name. The primary or predominant meaning is to be determined from the perspective of the ordinary Canadian consumer of the associated goods or services.

Origin of Goods or Services

If a trademark is determined to be a geographic name, the actual place of origin of the associated goods or services will be ascertained by way of confirmation provided by the applicant. In determining the place of origin of the associated goods or services the address of an applicant is irrelevant.

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice but is not binding on the Office. In the event of any inconsistency between the Trademarks Examination Manual and this practice notice, the notice is to be followed. In the event of any inconsistency between this practice notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

Date modified:

Lieu d'origine — Alinéa 12(1)b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce

Date de la publication : 2016-11-09

Le présent énoncé a pour but de préciser la pratique du Bureau des marques de commerce en ce qui concerne l'application des dispositions liées au lieu d'origine, figurant à l'alinéa 12(1)b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (la Loi) aux noms géographiques.

Description claire

Conformément à la décision dans l'affaire MC Imports Inc. c. AFOD Ltd., 2016 CAF 60, une marque de commerce décrit clairement le lieu d'origine de la marque de commerce si, qu'elle soit sous forme graphique, écrite ou sonore, elle est un nom géographique et si les produits ou services qui y sont associés proviennent du lieu correspondant au nom géographique.

Description fausse et trompeuse

Une marque de commerce est fausse si elle désigne un nom géographique et que les produits ou services connexes ne proviennent pas du lieu correspondant à ce nom géographique. Si la marque de commerce est fausse, une analyse supplémentaire est requise pour déterminer si elle est trompeuse.

Pour évaluer si une marque est fausse et trompeuse, il faut déterminer si le consommateur ordinaire serait induit en erreur dans la croyance que les produits ou services qui y sont associés proviennent du lieu correspondant au nom géographique figurant dans la marque de commerce.

Nom géographique

On déterminera qu'une marque de commerce est un nom géographique si la recherche indique qu'elle n'a pas d'autre signification que le nom géographique. En outre, on déterminera qu'une marque de commerce est un nom géographique si la marque de commerce, bien qu'elle possède différentes significations, a pour signification principale ou prédominante un nom géographique. La signification principale ou prédominante doit être déterminée à partir du point de vue du consommateur canadien ordinaire des produits ou services associés.

Origine des produits ou services

Si l'on détermine qu'une marque de commerce est un nom géographique, le lieu d'origine réel des produits ou services associés sera vérifié suite à une confirmation fournie par le requérant. L'adresse du requérant n'est pas pertinente pour déterminer le lieu d'origine des produits ou services associés.

Veuillez noter que le texte de l'énoncé de pratique ci-haut est sujet à révision pour fins de traduction dès que la version française de la décision dans l'affaire MC Imports Inc. c. AFOD Ltd., 2016 CAF 60 sera disponible.

L'énoncé de pratique suivant est fourni à titre indicatif seulement. Il représente la pratique du Bureau des marques de commerce, mais ne lie pas ce dernier. S'il y a incohérence entre l'énoncé de pratique suivant et le Manuel d'examen des marques de commerce, cet énoncé de pratique doit être suivi. Cependant, s'il y a incohérence entre l'énoncé de pratique et les lois applicables, la législation doit être suivie.

Date de modification :