Organizational structure

Johanne Bélisle

Commissioner of Patents, Registrar of Trade-marks and Chief Executive Officer
Johanne Bélisle

Johanne Bélisle was appointed Commissioner of Patents, Registrar of Trade-marks and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), effective .

In her role, she provides strategic direction and leadership to the organization and ensures the provision of world-class intellectual property (IP) services by granting IP rights and disseminating IP information. She also represents CIPO and Canada's interests both nationally and internationally.

Previously, Johanne was Assistant Deputy Minister, Quebec Region, at Service Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada) since April 2013. From 2011 to 2013, Johanne was Assistant Deputy Minister of Human Resources at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. From 2007 to 2011, she was Assistant Deputy Minister at Public Works and Government Services Canada, where she led the Corporate Services, Policy and Communications, and Acquisitions teams.

Johanne participated in the Accelerated Executive Development Program (AEXDP) from 1997 to 2003 and has held senior management positions at Social Development Canada, Human Resources and Skills Development Canada, Canadian Heritage and the Department of Finance Canada.

Johanne holds a master's degree in business administration from the University of Ottawa, a certificate in public relations from Université Laval and a bachelor's degree in journalism (Honours) from Carleton University.

Originally from Montreal, Johanne has three children and two grandchildren.

Patent Branch
Director General
Virginie Ethier

Trademarks Branch
Director General
Mesmin Pierre

Copyright and Industrial Design Branch
Director
Todd Hunter

Corporate Strategies and Services
Director General
Konstantinos Georgaras

Business Services Branch
Director General
Darlene Carreau

Programs Branch
Director General
Martin Cloutier

Patent Appeal Board
(Acting) Chair
Suzie Beaulieu

Trademarks Opposition Board
Chairperson
Annie Crousset

For general information on IP, please contact the Client Service Centre.

Date modified:

Structure organisationnelle

Johanne Bélisle

Commissaire aux brevets, registraire des marques de commerce et présidente
Johanne Bélisle

Johanne Bélisle a été nommée commissaire aux brevets, registraire des marques de commerce et présidente de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) le 8 septembre 2015.

À ce titre, elle détermine les orientations stratégiques de l'organisme et en assure la direction, et elle garantit la prestation de services de propriété intellectuelle (PI) de calibre mondial en accordant des droits de PI et en diffusant de l'information sur la PI. Elle défend également les intérêts de l'OPIC et du Canada à l'échelle nationale et internationale.

Johanne occupait auparavant le poste de sous-ministre adjointe, région du Québec, à Service Canada (Emploi et Développement social Canada) depuis avril 2013. De 2011 à 2013, Johanne a été sous-ministre adjointe, Ressources humaines, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada. De 2007 à 2011, elle a été sous-ministre adjointe à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, où elle était responsable des équipes des Services ministériels, des Politiques et communications, et des Approvisionnements.

Johanne a participé au Programme de perfectionnement accéléré des cadres supérieurs (PPACS) de 1997 à 2003 et a occupé des postes de haute direction à Développement social Canada, à Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada, au Patrimoine canadien et au ministère des Finances Canada.

Johanne détient une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université d'Ottawa, un certificat en relations publiques de l'Université Laval et un baccalauréat avec spécialisation en journalisme de l'Université Carleton. 

Originaire de Montréal, Johanne a trois enfants et deux petits-enfants.

Direction des brevets
Directrice générale
Virginie Ethier

Direction des marques de commerce
Directeur général
Mesmin Pierre

Direction du droit d'auteur et des dessins industriels
Directeur
Todd Hunter

Direction des stratégies et services organisationnels
Directeur général
Konstantinos Georgaras

Direction des services aux entreprises
Directrice générale
Darlene Carreau

Direction des programmes
Directeur général
Martin Cloutier

Commission d'appel des brevets
Présidente (Intérimaire)
Suzie Beaulieu

Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce
Présidente
Annie Crousset

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la PI, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de services à la clientèle.

Date de modification :