Notice regarding Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) national phase applications – evidence for 58(5) requisitions

Where any applicant who enters the PCT national phase in Canada differs from those named in the international application at WIPO, subsection 58(5) of the Patent Rules requires the Commissioner to requisition evidence that the national phase applicant(s) are the legal representative(s) of those named on the international application.

The Patent Office takes the position that acceptable forms of evidence provided in response to a requisition under subsection 58(5) of the Patent Rules include a PCT/IB/306 form, an assignment, or a change of name document.

As of May 1, 2017, the Patent Office will not accept a copy of a request made to the International Bureau under section 92bis.1 of the Regulations under the Patent Cooperation Treaty as acceptable evidence in response to a requisition under subsection 58(5) of the Patent Rules.

If you have any questions, we invite you to communicate with Andrée Patry, Manager – Operations Sector, at 819-635-3557, or at andree.patry@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Avis concernant les demandes PCT en phase nationale — preuve exigée en vertu du paragraphe 58(5)

Selon le paragraphe 58(5) des Règles sur les brevets, lorsqu'un ou des demandeurs, entrant en phase nationale du PCT au Canada, diffèrent du ou des demandeurs désignés dans la demande internationale déposée à l'OMPI, le commissaire doit exiger la preuve que le ou les demandeurs en phase nationale sont le ou les représentants légaux du ou des demandeurs désignés dans la demande internationale.

Les documents que le Bureau des brevets considère comme constituant une preuve acceptable en réponse à une demande du commissaire en vertu du paragraphe 58(5) des Règles sur les brevets comprennent un formulaire PCT/IB/306, un acte de cession ou un document attestant d'un changement de nom.

À compter du 1er mai 2017, une copie d'une requête faite au Bureau international au titre de la règle 92bis.1 du Règlement d'exécution du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets ne sera plus considérée par le Bureau des brevets comme une preuve acceptable en réponse à une demande du commissaire en vertu du paragraphe 58(5) des Règles sur les brevets.

Pour toute question, veuillez communiquer avec Andrée Patry, gestionnaire - Secteur des opérations, au 819-635-3557 ou à l'adresse andree.patry@canada.ca.

Date de modification :