Public consultations on regulatory amendments coming soon

In the coming weeks, we will be seeking feedback from interested businesses, individuals, groups and organizations, as part of our public consultations on the proposed regulatory amendments to the Industrial Design Regulations, the Trade-marks Regulations and the Patent Rules.

Consultations will occur from:

In a world where intellectual property (IP) plays an increasingly significant role in the global success of businesses, it is important for Canada to establish a robust and modern IP regime harmonized with international standards to help Canadian businesses and innovators grow and be competitive in the global marketplace.

In that vein, we have been steadily making progress towards modernizing Canada's IP framework to join five international IP treaties administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO):

We are committed to supporting Canadian businesses and innovators, and helping them realize the full potential of their IP. Joining these IP treaties will provide them with streamlined processes, reduced administrative burden and user-friendly options to protect their intellectual property at home and abroad.

These public consultations offer an opportunity to interested businesses, individuals, groups and organizations to give feedback and ask questions on the proposed amendments to ensure the appropriate regulations are in place to support Canada's accession to these treaties.

More details on the consultations will be made available on our website starting June 19, 2017.

Date modified:

Consultations publiques sur les modifications réglementaires attendues sous peu

Au cours des prochaines semaines, nous solliciterons la rétroaction des entreprises, particuliers, groupes ou organisations qui s'intéressent à la propriété intellectuelle (PI), dans le cadre de ces consultations publiques sur les modifications proposées au Règlement sur les dessins industriels, au Règlement sur les marques de commerce et aux Règles sur les brevets.

Les consultations se dérouleront :

Dans un monde où la PI joue un rôle de plus en plus important en ce qui concerne le succès des entreprises sur le marché mondial, il est important que le Canada établisse un régime de PI à la fois robuste et moderne, conforme aux normes internationales, pour aider les entreprises et les innovateurs canadiens à prendre de l'essor et à être concurrentiels sur le marché mondial.

À ce titre, nos efforts pour moderniser le cadre de PI du Canada et adhérer à cinq traités internationaux sur la PI portent leurs fruits. Les cinq traités, qui sont administrés par l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI), sont :

Nous sommes résolus à appuyer les entreprises et innovateurs canadiens et à les aider à réaliser le plein potentiel de leur PI. L'adhésion à ses traités sur la PI leur fournira des processus simplifiés, réduira leur fardeau administratif et leur offrira des options conviviales pour protéger leur PI tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger.

Ces consultations publiques offrent aux entreprises, particuliers, groupes ou organisations qui s'intéressent à la PI une possibilité de donner leur rétroaction et de poser des questions sur les modifications proposées. L'objectif est de nous assurer d'adopter des règlements pertinents qui appuieront l'adhésion du Canada aux cinq traités internationaux sur la PI.

De plus amples renseignements sur les consultations seront affichés sur le site Web de l'OPIC à compter de la semaine du 19 juin 2017.

Date de modification :