Joining the Hague Agreement and Modernizing Canada's Industrial Design Regime

On November 5, 2018, Canada acceded to the Hague Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Industrial Designs (Hague System) and implemented changes to significantly modernize Canada's industrial design regime.

The Hague System provides a mechanism for acquiring, maintaining and managing design rights in multiple countries through a single application filed with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

On this page, you will find the following sections:

Resources for applicants

The WIPO provides excellent resources for prospective applicants, including the following:

Benefits for businesses

Joining the Hague Agreement means Canadian businesses and innovators will have access to an efficient and effective means of protecting their industrial designs around the world. Moreover, a modernized industrial design regime will lower the cost and increase the ease of doing business for companies looking to protect their industrial designs in Canada.

The Hague System means key benefits for businesses:

Modernizing Canada's industrial design regime also has key benefits for businesses:

To accede to the Hague Agreement, significant changes were made to Canada’s industrial design regime. The Industrial Design Act (the Act) was amended in 2014, and new Industrial Design Regulations (the Regulations) were finalized in the Canada Gazette, Part II, in 2018. The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) also revamped the Industrial Design Office Practice Manual (IDOP) and significantly improved e-services for clients.

Hague System explained

The Hague System allows users to save time and money by providing a simpler, faster and more effective way to apply for industrial design protection in multiple markets, as a single international application replaces a whole series of applications that would otherwise have been sent to different national (or regional) offices.

There are 69 contracting parties to the Hague Agreement, including Canada's major trading partners, such as the United States, the European Union, Japan and South Korea. A complete list of contracting parties is available on the WIPO website.

Changes to the Industrial Design Act

The Act was amended in 2014 to enable Canada to accede to the Hague Agreement and to modernize Canada's industrial design regime. This was the first substantive update of the Act since 2001. Notable amendments include the following:

Increased term of protection

The maximum term of exclusive right is increased from 10 years to 15 years.

The Register of Industrial Designs

The amended Act clarifies that a certified copy of an entry in the Register of Industrial Designs is admissible evidence in any court.

In addition, any error made in the Register of Industrial Designs may be corrected within six months of the entry if the error is obvious from documents that are in the Minister's possession. Previously, corrections were limited to clerical errors.

Codification of the "novelty test"

This provision codifies the Supreme Court test for "originality" of a design and uses the term "novelty" to describe a design, which is aligned with international terminology.

Applications

Applications are now made available to the public at registration or 30 months from the earliest priority date, whichever comes first.

For more details, consult the Act.

New Industrial Design Regulations

The new Regulations facilitate Canada's accession to the Hague System, carry out the amendments that were made to the Act and further modernize Canada's domestic industrial design regime. Highlights of changes in the Regulations include the following:

Electronic communications

Electronic communications will be deemed received 24/7, regardless of whether the office is open or closed to the public.

Filing date requirements

Filing date requirements have also been simplified to align with international standards. The title, description and complete mailing address are no longer required. To obtain a filing date, applicants need only provide the following:

Application

Application requirements have been simplified. For example, the following changes have been made:

A new provision allows a divisional application to be filed for any design disclosed in a previously filed application, including in environmental views.

Representation

An applicant no longer needs to provide signed authorization to appoint an agent. The previous requirement to have a representative for service, in the case of foreign applicants, has been removed.

International registrations and transitional provisions

The Regulations contain specific provisions that apply only to international registrations that designate Canada and that are received from the WIPO. Transitional provisions outline how the office will process an application received before the coming into force.

For more details, consult the new Regulations.

A New Industrial Design Office Practice Manual

To bring these changes into force, CIPO has revamped the IDOP, which sets out how CIPO operationalizes the above-noted legislative and regulatory changes. The new IDOP also includes various elements that support the modernization of Canada's industrial design regime and the delivery of improved services for clients.

CIPO has collaborated closely with stakeholders in the drafting and finalization of the revamped IDOP.

For more details, consult the new IDOP.

Enhanced e-services

CIPO has been working with clients to improve our online services. Updates to the e-services interface are being delivered in several stages.

The first release, delivered on November 5, 2018, includes the launch of an improved e-filing interface with new functionalities. This includes the capability to submit images in colour and to allow for a greater number of file formats, including PDF, JPEG, TIFF and GIF. In addition, we have simplified the filing process by streamlining sections of the e-filing application.

Additional enhancements will follow later in 2019 and will include a new function for the electronic submission of amendments, along with a platform for electronic correspondence between CIPO and its clients.

Learn more about the changes to Canada’s industrial design regime

Hague System: information and tools

Date modified:

Adhésion à l'Arrangement de La Haye et modernisation du régime de dessins industriels du Canada

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Le 5 novembre 2018, le Canada a adhéré à l'Arrangement de La Haye concernant l'enregistrement international des dessins et des modèles industriels (le système de La Haye), et des modifications seront apportées pour moderniser considérablement le régime des dessins industriels.

Le système de La Haye offre un mécanisme pour faire l'acquisition, le maintien et la gestion des droits de dessins dans plusieurs pays au moyen d'une seule demande déposée auprès de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI).

Vous trouverez sur la présente page les sections suivantes :

Ressources pour les demandeurs

L'OMPI fournit d'excellentes ressources pour les futurs demandeurs, y compris les suivantes :

Avantages pour les entreprises

L'adhésion à l'Arrangement de La Haye signifie que les entreprises et les innovateurs canadiens auront accès à des moyens efficaces de protéger leurs dessins industriels partout dans le monde. De plus, un régime de dessins industriels modernisé réduira les coûts et facilitera la manière de faire des affaires pour les entreprises qui veulent protéger leurs dessins industriels au Canada.

Les avantages clés offerts par le système de La Haye pour les entreprises sont les suivants :

La modernisation du régime des dessins industriels du Canada procure également des avantages clés pour les entreprises :

Afin d'adhérer à l'Arrangement de La Haye, des modifications importantes ont été apportées au régime des dessins industriels du Canada. La Loi sur les dessins industriels (la Loi) a été modifiée en 2014 et le nouveau Règlement sur les dessins industriels (le Règlement) a été finalisé dans la Gazette du Canada, partie II en 2018. L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) a également révisé le Manuel des pratiques administratives en dessins industriels (PADI) et grandement amélioré les services en ligne pour ses clients.

Qu'est-ce que le système de La Haye

Le système de La Haye permet aux utilisateurs d'économiser temps et argent. En effet, il permet de faire une demande de protection de dessins industriels dans plusieurs marchés, de manière plus simple, plus rapide et plus efficace, étant donné qu'une seule demande internationale remplace une série de demandes qui, autrement, auraient été envoyées à différents offices nationaux (ou régionaux).

Il y a 69 parties contractantes à l'Arrangement de La Haye, incluant les principaux partenaires commerciaux du Canada, tels que les États-Unis, l'Union européenne, le Japon et la Corée du Sud. Une liste complète des parties contractantes est disponible sur le site Web de l'OMPI.

Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les dessins industriels

La Loi a été modifiée en 2014 pour permettre au Canada d'adhérer à l'Arrangement de La Haye et de moderniser le régime de dessins industriels du Canada. Il s'agissait de la première mise à jour importante depuis 2001. Les modifications importantes comprennent :

Une période de protection prolongée

La période de protection maximale pour les dessins industriels passe de 10 à 15 ans.

Le registre des dessins industriels

La Loi modifiée précise qu'une copie certifiée d'une inscription sur le registre des dessins industriels est une preuve admissible devant tout tribunal.

De plus, dans les six mois suivant une inscription sur le registre des dessins industriels, il est possible de corriger toute erreur qui ressort de façon évidente à la lecture des documents en la possession du ministre. Auparavant, seules les erreurs d'écriture pouvaient être corrigées.

La codification de l'« examen de nouveauté »

Cette disposition codifie le critère établi par la Cour suprême pour évaluer le critère d'« originalité » d'un dessin et utilise le terme « nouveauté » pour décrire un dessin, ce qui s'harmonise à la terminologie internationale.

Demandes

Les demandes sont maintenant rendues accessibles au public lors de l'enregistrement ou 30 mois suivant la date de priorité la plus ancienne, le premier des deux prévalant.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous référer à la Loi.

Le nouveau Règlement sur les dessins industriels

Le nouveau Règlement facilite l'adhésion du Canada au système de La Haye, donne suite aux modifications qui ont été apportées à la Loi et modernise davantage le régime national des dessins industriels. Parmi les modifications apportées au Règlement, mentionnons les suivantes :

Communications électroniques

Les communications électroniques seront réputées comme étant reçues en tout temps, peu importe si l'Office est ouvert ou non au public.

Exigences relatives à la date de dépôt

Les exigences relatives à la date de dépôt ont également été simplifiées afin de les harmoniser aux normes internationales. Le titre, la description et l'adresse postale complète ne sont plus nécessaires. Pour obtenir une date de dépôt, les demandeurs doivent seulement fournir :

Demandes

Les exigences relatives aux demandes ont été simplifiées. Par exemple, les modifications suivantes ont été apportées :

Une nouvelle disposition permet le dépôt de demandes supplémentaires pour tout dessin divulgué dans une demande déposée antérieurement, y compris dans une vue montrant l'environnement.

Représentation

Un demandeur n'a plus besoin de fournir une autorisation signée pour nommer un agent. Auparavant, il était obligatoire d'avoir un représentant pour signification lorsqu'il s'agissait de demandeurs étrangers, mais cette exigence a été supprimée.

Enregistrements internationaux et dispositions transitoires

Le Règlement comprend des dispositions spécifiques qui s'appliquent seulement aux enregistrements internationaux qui désignent le Canada et qui sont soumis par l'OMPI. Les dispositions transitoires expliquent comment l'Office traitera une demande avant l'entrée en vigueur.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous référer au nouveau Règlement.

Le nouveau Manuel de pratiques administratives en dessins industriels

Afin d'assurer l'entrée en vigueur de ces modifications, l'OPIC a révisé le PADI, lequel indique comment l'OPIC met en application les changements législatifs et réglementaires mentionnés ci-dessus. Le nouveau PADI comprend également une variété d'éléments qui appuient la modernisation du régime de dessins industriels du Canada et améliorent les services offerts aux clients.

L'OPIC a collaboré étroitement avec les intervenants pour l'ébauche et la mise au point du PADI révisé.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous référer au nouveau PADI.

Les services en ligne améliorés

L'OPIC a travaillé avec ses clients pour améliorer ses services en ligne. Les mises à jour apportées à l'interface des services en ligne seront offertes en plusieurs étapes.

Le premier lancement, effectué le 5 novembre 2018, comprend une interface de dépôt électronique améliorée avec de nouvelles fonctionnalités. Elle permettra de soumettre des images en couleur et acceptera un plus grand nombre de formats de fichier, y compris PDF, JPEG, TIFF et GIF. De plus, nous avons rendu le processus de dépôt plus convivial en simplifiant les sections de l'interface de dépôt électronique des demandes.

D'autres améliorations suivront plus tard en 2019 et incluront une nouvelle fonctionnalité pour la soumission électronique de modifications, ainsi qu'une plateforme pour les correspondances électroniques entre l'OPIC et ses clients.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les modifications apportées au régime des dessins industriels du Canada

Le système de La Haye : renseignements et outils

Date de modification :