Doing business abroad: Protecting your IP in China

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

View as PDF (PDF: 2.3 MB;12 pages)

Table of contents

Doing business abroad: Protecting your IP in China

Intellectual property (IP) is a valuable asset that can support your business expansion abroad. A Canadian patent, trademark or industrial design does not secure your rights outside of Canada. You should consider obtaining IP protection in the countries where you plan on doing business, including selling products over the Internet and/or manufacturing products overseas.

China is Canada's second largest trading partner and the economic ties between the countries continue to be strengthened and deepened. It is important to know how to recognize, register and enforce your IP rights in China. There are important differences between Canada and China in the protection and registration process for IP.

In China, you can apply for patent, copyright and trademark protection. If you wish to enter the Chinese market or are already doing business in China, it is recommended that you apply to protect your IP rights in China as soon as practically possible.

Where is IP registered?

The China National Intellectual Property Administration, PRC (CNIPA) administers the registration of trademarks as well as the grant of patents, whereas copyright registration is overseen by the Copyright Protection Center of China (CPCC), which falls under the National Copyright Administration of China (NCAC).

If you do not have a business entity in China, an agent or lawyer based in China must be used to file an IP application on your behalf. A Canadian IP professional may be able to coordinate work with an IP professional based in China. Documents for an IP application must be submitted in Chinese.

Trademarks

Patents

IP enforcement

There are several ways to enforce your rights against unauthorized use of your IP in China, including administrative actions, customs seizures and civil litigation. The state may also prosecute offenders under the criminal law. In order to determine the best course of action, you may wish to consult an IP professional.

Tips: Important notes

For additional help:

* The information provided above is meant as an educational resource only and should not be construed as legal advice.


To obtain a copy of this publication, or to receive it in an alternate format (Braille, large print, etc.), please fill out the Publication Request Form or contact:

ISED Citizen Services Centre
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0H5
Canada

Telephone (toll-free in Canada): 1‑800‑328‑6189
Telephone (international): 613‑954‑5031
TTY (for hearing impaired): 1‑866‑694‑8389
Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)
Email: ISED@Canada.ca

Permission to reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Department of Industry, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that the Department of Industry is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, or as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, the Department of Industry.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial purposes, please fill out the Application for Crown Copyright Clearance or contact the ISED Citizen Services Centre mentioned above.

Ⓒ Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Industry, 2020.

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Protéger votre PI en Chine.

Date modified:

Faire des affaires à l’étranger : protéger votre PI en Chine

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Afficher en PDF (PDF : 2.3 Mo; 12 pages)

Table des matières

Faire des affaires à l'étranger : Protéger votre PI en Chine

La propriété intellectuelle (PI) constitue un actif précieux qui peut favoriser l'expansion de votre entreprise à l'étranger. Un brevet, une marque de commerce ou un dessin industriel au Canada ne garantit pas vos droits à l'extérieur du Canada. Vous devriez envisager d'obtenir une protection de votre PI dans les pays où vous prévoyez exercer vos activités, notamment vendre des produits sur Internet ou fabriquer des produits à l'étranger.

La Chine est le deuxième partenaire commercial en importance du Canada et les liens économiques qui unissent les deux pays continuent d'être renforcés et approfondis. Il est important de savoir comment reconnaître, enregistrer et faire respecter vos droits de PI en Chine. Il existe d'importantes différences entre le Canada et la Chine quant au processus de protection et d'enregistrement de la PI.

En Chine, vous pouvez présenter une demande de protection au moyen d'un brevet, d'un droit d'auteur et d'une marque de commerce. Si vous souhaitez percer le marché chinois ou si vous faites déjà des affaires en Chine, il est recommandé de présenter une demande de protection de vos droits de PI en Chine dès que possible.

faut-il enregistrer la PI?

La China National Intellectual Property Administration, PRC (CNIPA) (anglais seulement) administre l'enregistrement des marques de commerce ainsi que l’obtention de brevets, tandis que l'enregistrement des droits d'auteur est administré par le Copyright Protection Center of China (anglais seulement) (CPCC) sous l'autorité de la National Copyright Administration of China (anglais seulement) (NCAC).

Si vous n'avez pas d'entité commerciale en Chine, vous devez demander à un agent ou à un avocat ayant un bureau en Chine de présenter une demande de PI en votre nom. Un professionnel de la PI canadien pourrait être en mesure de coordonner le travail avec un professionnel de la PI en Chine. Les documents nécessaires pour déposer une demande de PI doivent être soumis en chinois.

Marques de commerce

Brevets

Droit d'auteur

Faire respecter les droits de PI

Il existe plusieurs façons de faire respecter vos droits contre l'utilisation non autorisée de votre PI en Chine, y compris les mesures administratives, les saisies par les douanes et les procès civils. L'État peut aussi poursuivre les contrevenants en vertu du droit criminel. Afin de déterminer la meilleure marche à suivre, vous voudrez peut-être consulter un professionnel en matière de PI.

Conseils : Notes importantes

Pour obtenir de l'aide supplémentaire

* Les renseignements qui apparaissent ci-dessus sont fournis à titre d'information seulement et ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils juridiques.


Pour obtenir un exemplaire de cette publication ou un format substitut (Braille, gros caractères), veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande de publication ou communiquer avec :

Centre de services aux citoyens d'ISDE
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Édifice C.D.-Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5
Canada

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1‑800‑328‑6189
Téléphone (international) : 613‑954‑5031
ATS (pour les personnes malentendantes) : 1‑866‑694‑8389
Les heures de bureau sont de 8 h 30 à 17 h (heure de l'Est).
Courriel : ISDE@Canada.ca

Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission du ministère de l'Industrie, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, que le ministère de l'Industrie soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec le ministère de l'Industrie ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez demander l'affranchissement du droit d'auteur de la Couronne ou communiquer avec le Centre de services aux citoyens d'ISDE aux coordonnées ci-dessus.

Ⓒ Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Industrie, 2020.
N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Also available in English under the title Protecting your IP in China.

Date de modification :