CIPO strengthens relationship with Intellectual Property India and expands toolkit for protecting IP abroad

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) for cooperation on intellectual property (IP) with Intellectual Property India's parent department, the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion, Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

As Canada sharpens its focus on innovation and IP, this MoU will strengthen bilateral cooperation through a number of mutually beneficial activities, including raising the awareness and understanding of the IP environment in both countries. As well, information sessions and personnel training will enhance the quality of work performed by both IP offices, and the services they provide to their respective clients.

In support of its strategic priorities to advance innovation through active international collaboration, and build IP awareness and education, CIPO has also released a new guide for Canadian entrepreneurs looking to expand to India, titled “Protecting your IP in India”. CIPO has produced similar guides to assist businesses in protecting their IP in China, the United States, and the European Union.

Quick facts

Associated links

Date modified:

L’OPIC renforce sa relation avec Intellectual Property India et élargit sa trousse d’outils pour la protection de la PI à l’étranger

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) a signé un protocole d'entente sur la coopération en matière de propriété intellectuelle (PI) avec l'organisation d'attache d'Intellectual Property India, le Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion, qui fait partie du Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

Au moment où le Canada met davantage l'accent sur l'innovation et la PI, ce protocole d'entente renforcera la coopération bilatérale au moyen d'activités mutuellement avantageuses, y compris des activités visant à mieux faire connaître et à mieux faire comprendre l'environnement de la PI dans les deux pays. De plus, des séances d'information et la formation du personnel permettront de rehausser la qualité du travail effectué par les deux offices de la PI, ainsi que la qualité des services qu'ils offrent à leurs clients respectifs.

À l'appui de ses priorités stratégiques visant à promouvoir l'innovation par une collaboration active à l'échelle internationale et à augmenter l'éducation et la sensibilisation à la PI, l'OPIC a également publié un nouveau guide, Protéger votre PI en Inde, à l'intention des entrepreneurs canadiens qui souhaitent faire des affaires en Inde. L'OPIC a produit d'autres guides de ce genre pour aider les entreprises à protéger leur PI en Chine, aux États-Unis et dans l'Union européenne.

Faits en bref

Liens connexes

Date de modification :