Patent Quality

Follow:

ISO 9001:2015: Certification Maintained after another Successful ISO Surveillance Audit!

ISO certification number: ISO 9001:2015 / CGSB 171143

CIPO's Patent Branch was successful in its latest ISO surveillance audit in March 2019, thereby maintaining its ISO certification and further demonstrating its commitment to continually improving its Quality Management System (QMS). By maintaining this certification, CIPO's Patent Branch has demonstrated to an independent third party that we continue to have an operational and effective QMS that meets the requirements of this international standard. ISO 9001:2015 defines standard criteria for a QMS based on the principles of consistency in meeting customer requirements and continuous enhancement of quality.

This certification positions Canada as a global player by placing us amongst other certified intellectual property offices, such as the European Patent Office (EPO) and IP Australia. Maintaining this internationally recognized standard sends an important message to our clients and stakeholders of our commitment to the quality of the Canadian patent system. Further, adherence to ISO standards facilitates CIPO's strategic goal of delivering quality and timely IP rights.

Patent Quality Objectives

Our Quality Management System is built on a culture of excellence.

It aims to achieve 3 key objectives:

Patent Quality Policy

The Patent Branch is committed to ensuring a consistent client experience that delivers quality patent products and services in an efficient and timely manner, creating certainty in the marketplace and stimulating innovation.

The Quality Management System ensures:

Responsible management of the quality management system assures oversight, strategic direction and stewardship fostering a culture of excellence, inclusiveness, employee engagement and development.

Patent Examination Quality Standards

As part of the Quality Management System implementation initiative, standards are defined for both international and national examination of patent applications. Based on the needs and expectations of internal and external stakeholders as well as the patent regulations, these standards define quality and provide a level of performance that all employees are encouraged to achieve.

Date modified:

Qualité des brevets

Suivez-nous :

ISO 9001:2015 : Certification maintenue après un autre audit de suivi ISO réussi!

Numéro de certification ISO : ISO 9001:2015 / CGSB 171143

La Direction des brevets de l'OPIC a réussi son dernier audit de suivi ISO en mars 2019, ce qui lui a permis de maintenir sa certification ISO et de démontrer une fois de plus son engagement à améliorer continuellement son Système de management de la qualité (SMQ). En conservant cette certification, la Direction des brevets de l'OPIC a démontré à une tierce partie indépendante qu’elle a toujours un SMQ fonctionnel et efficace qui répond aux exigences de cette norme internationale. ISO 9001:2015 définit des critères normalisés pour un SMQ, fondés sur des principes d'uniformité dans la satisfaction des exigences des clients et l'amélioration continue de la qualité.

Cette certification fait du Canada un acteur de calibre mondial ayant sa place parmi les offices de la propriété intellectuelle certifiés, tels que l'Office européen des brevets (OEB) et l’office de la propriété intellectuelle de l’Australie (IP Australia). En maintenant cette norme internationalement reconnue, l'OPIC envoie un message important à ses clients et à ses intervenants quant à son engagement envers la qualité du régime des brevets du Canada. De plus, l'adhésion aux normes ISO facilite l'atteinte de l'objectif stratégique de l'OPIC visant à accorder des droits de PI de qualité en temps opportun.

Nos objectifs de qualité

Notre Système de gestion de la qualité est fondé sur une culture d'excellence. Il vise l'atteinte de trois objectifs clés :

Notre politique de qualité

La Direction des brevets s'engage à assurer une expérience client cohérente en offrant des produits et des services reliés aux brevets de qualité, de façon efficace en temps opportun, en créant de la certitude sur le marché et en stimulant l'innovation.

Le système de gestion de la qualité permet :

La gestion responsable du Système de gestion de la qualité garantit la surveillance, l'orientation stratégique et l'intendance en favorisant une culture d'excellence, d'inclusion, ainsi que d'engagement et de perfectionnement des employés.

Normes de qualité relatives à l'examen des brevets

Dans le cadre du projet de mise en œuvre du Système de gestion de la qualité (SGQ) de la Direction des brevets, des normes ont été établies relativement à l'examen des demandes de brevet nationales et internationales. Compte tenu de la réglementation sur les brevets ainsi que des besoins et des attentes des intervenants internes et externes, ces normes définissent la qualité et établissent un niveau de rendement que tous les employés sont encouragés à atteindre.

Date de modification :