Public Consultations on the New Industrial Design Office Practice Manual

Current status: Closed

Public consultation: Open from to

Previous public consultations on the related proposed Industrial Design Regulations

Pre-consultation: Opened on and closed on .

Canada Gazette, Part I: Opened on and closed on

Third-party information liability disclaimer

Some of the information on this web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) conducted public consultations on a new Industrial Design Office Practice Manual (IDOP) from May 30, 2018 to June 29, 2018.

The IDOP is an important tool for communicating CIPO's internal office practices and procedures to clients; it is the primary public source for information on how to file and prosecute an application for industrial design registration in Canada.

The new IDOP sets out how CIPO will operationalize the legislative and regulatory changes necessary for Canada to accede to the Hague Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Industrial Designs (the Hague Agreement).  It also includes various elements which support the modernization of Canada's industrial design regime and improve service for clients.

The Hague System provides businesses with access to an international system to file and manage industrial design applications in multiple countries through a single, streamlined process.

The Government amended the Industrial Design Act in 2014 and new Industrial Design Regulations have been published in the Canada Gazette, Part II.  The Government deposited the instrument of accession to the Hague Agreement with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) on July 16, 2018, indicating that the Hague Agreement will enter into force, in respect to Canada, on November 5, 2018.  

Purpose

The purpose of the public consultation was to seek feedback on the proposed changes to the IDOP which are necessary for Canada to accede to the Hague Agreement as well as to modernize Canada's industrial design regime.

Comments received during the public consultation

Please note that the comments are presented as they were submitted, in the language in which they were written.

May 30 to June 29, 2018

Next steps

Feedback received will be taken into account prior to finalizing the new IDOP. Finalizing the IDOP is an important step towards Canada's accession to the Hague Agreement and the modernization of Canada's domestic industrial design regime. The objective is to publish the revised IDOP in the coming months, with it coming into force on November 5, 2018.

Related information

Other related information:

Contact us

If you have any questions regarding these consultations or require further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our Client Service Centre.

Follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn for the latest developments.

We thank you for your time and interest.

Date modified:

Consultation publique sur le nouveau Manuel des pratiques administratives en dessins industriels

État actuel : Fermée

Consultation publique : du au

Consultation publique antérieure portant sur le Règlement sur les dessins industriels proposé

Consultation publique : Ouverte le et fermée le
Gazette du Canada, Partie I : Ouverte le et fermée le

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant les renseignements provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) a tenu une consultation publique sur le Manuel des pratiques administratives en dessins industriels (PADI) du 30 mai 2018 au 29 juin 2018.

Le PADI est un outil important pour communiquer au client les pratiques administratives et les procédures internes de l'OPIC; il est la principale source d'information publique sur la façon de déposer et de poursuivre une demande d'enregistrement d'un dessin industriel au Canada.

Le nouveau PADI démontre comment l'OPIC mettra en œuvre les changements réglementaires et législatifs nécessaires à l'adhésion du Canada à l'Arrangement de La Haye concernant l'enregistrement international des dessins et modèles industriels (l'Arrangement de La Haye). Il comprend également plusieurs éléments qui appuient la modernisation du régime de dessins industriels au Canada et améliorent les services offerts aux clients.

Le système de La Haye permet aux entreprises d'accéder à un système international de dépôt et de gestion des demandes de dessins industriels dans plusieurs pays, par l'entremise d'un processus unique et simplifié.

Le gouvernement a modifié la Loi sur les dessins industriels en 2014 et un nouveau Règlement sur les dessins industriels a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Le gouvernement a déposé l'instrument d'adhésion à l'Arrangement de La Haye avec l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle (OMPI) le 16 juillet 2018 et a annoncé que l'Arrangement de La Haye allait entrer en vigueur, à l'égard du Canada, le 5 novembre 2018.  

Le nouveau PADI a été élaboré en étroite collaboration avec les intervenants. Les commentaires reçus à ce jour ont donné lieu à un certain nombre de révisions, qui sont reflétées dans l'ébauche publiée dans le cadre de la consultation publique.

Objectif

L'objectif de cette consultation était de solliciter des commentaires sur les changements que nous proposions d'apporter au PADI. Ces changements sont nécessaires pour l'adhésion du Canada à l'Arrangement de La Haye et pour la modernisation du régime national de dessins industriels.

Commentaires reçus durant la consultation publique

Veuillez prendre note que les commentaires sont présentés comme ils ont été soumis, dans la langue utilisée par l'auteur.

Du 30 mai au 29 juin 2018

Prochaines étapes

La rétroaction reçue sera prise en compte avant de terminer le nouveau PADI. Mettre au point ce manuel est une étape importante pour l'adhésion du Canada à l'Arrangement de La Haye et pour la modernisation du régime national de dessins industriels. L'objectif est de publier le PADI actualisé au cours des prochains mois; il entrera en vigueur le 5 novembre 2018.

Information connexe

Communiquez avec nous

Si vous avez des questions concernant cette consultation ou si vous avez besoin d'aide, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec notre Centre de services à la clientèle.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter et LinkedIn pour connaître les plus récentes nouvelles sur les consultations.

Nous vous remercions de votre temps et de votre intérêt.

Date de modification :