Practice Notice on Special Characters

The Patent Office wishes to clarify its practice with regards to special characters and how they are entered in our database. Special characters are those beyond the standard 26 letter Roman alphabet, numerals 0 to 9 and the following characters: & (ampersand), ˚ (degree) and % (percentage). Characters beyond those listed above, such as letters with accents (é, è, ö, etc.) and most Greek characters are considered special characters for the purpose of this Practice Notice.

Due to technical limitations of our current database, some special characters cannot be entered in the database, nor can they be reliably reproduced in the Cover Page and the Canadian Patents Database.

Consequently all special characters appearing in names, titles or any other information that is transcribed into our database will be entered into our database according to the Special Character Conversion Table presented below. The converted characters will subsequently appear on the Cover Page, in bibliographic information in the Canadian Patents Database and in all correspondence originating from the Office.

Characters appearing in documents that are not transcribed into the database are not affected by this technical limitation as these documents are stored only as images in our database.

If you have any questions, we invite you to communicate with the Client Service Centre at ic.csc-rec-cipo-opic.ic@canada.ca or at 1-866-997-1936.

Special Characters Conversion Table – Part 1
Special Character Will be Entered as
æ, Æ A
ä, Ä A
â, Â A
á, Á A
à, À A
å, Å A
ß SS
ç, Ç C
é, É E
è, È E
ê,Ê E
ë, Ë E
ï, Ï I
î, Î I
í, Í I
ì, Ì I
ñ, Ñ N
œ, Œ O
ø, Ø O
ö, Ö O
ô, Ô O
ù, Ù U
ü, Ü U
û, Û U
ÿ, Ÿ Y
« » " "
Special Characters Conversion Table – Part 2
Special Character
(Greek Alphabet)
Will be Entered as
Α, α .ALPHA.
Β, β .BETA.
Γ, γ .GAMMA.
Δ, δ .DELTA.
Ε, ε .EPSILON.
Ζ, ζ .ZETA.
Η, η .ETA.
Θ, θ .THETA.
Ι, ι .IOTA.
Κ, κ .KAPPA.
Λ, λ .LAMDA.
Μ, μ .MU.
Ν, ν .NU.
Ξ, ξ .XI.
Ο, ο .OMICRON.
Π, π .PI.
Ρ, ρ .RHO.
Σ, σ, ς .SIGMA.
Τ, τ .TAU.
Υ, υ .UPSILON.
Φ, φ .PHI.
Χ, χ .CHI.
Ψ, ψ .PSI.
Ω, ω .OMEGA.
Date modified:

Énoncé de pratique sur les caractères spéciaux

Le Bureau des brevets souhaite fournir des clarifications sur sa pratique concernant les caractères spéciaux et la façon dont ils sont saisis dans notre base de données. Les caractères spéciaux sont ceux qui ne font pas partie des 26 lettres de l'alphabet romain, des chiffres 0 à 9 et des caractères suivants : & (perluète), ˚ (degré) et % (pourcentage). Les caractères autres que ceux qui sont énumérés ci-dessus, comme les lettres accentuées (é, è, ö, etc.) et la plupart des caractères grecs sont traités comme des caractères spéciaux aux fins du présent Énoncé de pratique.

En raison des limites techniques de notre base de données actuelle, certains caractères spéciaux ne peuvent y être saisis et ne peuvent pas être reproduits de façon fiable sur la page couverture et dans la Base de données sur les brevets canadiens.

Par conséquent, tous les caractères spéciaux figurant dans les noms, les titres ou toute autre information transcrite dans notre base de données seront saisis dans celle-ci suivant la Table de conversion des caractères spéciaux présentée ci-dessous. Les caractères convertis apparaîtront ensuite sur la page couverture, dans les données bibliographiques dans la Base de données sur les brevets canadiens et dans toute la correspondance provenant du Bureau.

Les caractères apparaissant dans les documents qui ne sont pas transcrits dans la base de données ne sont pas visés par cette limite technique, car ils sont stockés uniquement sous forme d'images dans notre base de données.

Si vous avez des questions, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec le Centre de services à la clientèle de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada à ic.csc-rec-cipo-opic.ic@canada.ca ou au 1-866-997-1936.

Table de conversion des caractères spéciaux – Partie 1
Caractère spécial Caractère saisi
æ, Æ A
ä, Ä A
â, Â A
á, Á A
à, À A
å, Å A
ß SS
ç, Ç C
é, É E
è, È E
ê,Ê E
ë, Ë E
ï, Ï I
î, Î I
í, Í I
ì, Ì I
ñ, Ñ N
œ, Œ O
ø, Ø O
ö, Ö O
ô, Ô O
ù, Ù U
ü, Ü U
û, Û U
ÿ, Ÿ Y
« » " "
Table de conversion des caractères spéciaux – Partie 2
Caractère spécial
(Alphabet grec)
Caractère saisi
Α, α .ALPHA.
Β, β .BETA.
Γ, γ .GAMMA.
Δ, δ .DELTA.
Ε, ε .EPSILON.
Ζ, ζ .ZETA.
Η, η .ETA.
Θ, θ .THETA.
Ι, ι .IOTA.
Κ, κ .KAPPA.
Λ, λ .LAMDA.
Μ, μ .MU.
Ν, ν .NU.
Ξ, ξ .XI.
Ο, ο .OMICRON.
Π, π .PI.
Ρ, ρ .RHO.
Σ, σ, ς .SIGMA.
Τ, τ .TAU.
Υ, υ .UPSILON.
Φ, φ .PHI.
Χ, χ .CHI.
Ψ, ψ .PSI.
Ω, ω .OMEGA.
Date de modification :