Cleantech and intellectual property

View as PDF (PDF: 631 KB; 1 page)

Permission to reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced, that CIPO is identified as the source institution, and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, nor as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, CIPO.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial redistribution, please email droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.


As the world is moving toward cleaner technologies, Canada continues to take on the role of a global leader in clean technology. The benefits to Canadians abound, including, for instance, helping us reach our climate change goals and creating more well-paying jobs across the country.

Canada recognized as a global clean innovator!

Canadian companies have been rewarded for their efforts and exceptional leadership in cleantech. In fact, 13 Canadian companies are featured on this year's Global Cleantech 100 list, bumping Canada up from the 7th to the 4th spot among cleantech innovators, as highlighted in The Global Cleantech Innovation Index 2017 (PDF).

Stay informed on cleantech and other innovation efforts by consulting the Innovation Canada website and Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO)'s IP for business page.

So how are Canadian intellectual property (IP) and clean technologies related, and how can they benefit your business?

Here are a few examples:

  1. CIPO becomes a WIPO GREEN partner!

    In 2017, CIPO became one of only two WIPO GREEN partners in all of Canada. WIPO GREEN is an interactive marketplace that promotes innovation and the diffusion of green technologies. The WIPO GREEN network facilitates commercial relationships and transactions by connecting green technology providers and seekers.

  2. We offer an expedited process for patent applications related to cleantech!

    CIPO currently provides an expedited process for patent applications relating to cleantech. Patents are an often-used form of IP in the industry that prevents others from making, using or selling your invention for up to 20 years in Canada.

    Our accelerated service is intended to assist in reducing the time it takes to patent cleantech inventions, enabling businesses to bring them to market more rapidly.

How do I apply for an expedited examination?

  1. Submit a written request to the patent office asking for an expedited examination.
  2. Submit a declaration stating that your application relates to clean technology and that commercializing it would help to resolve or mitigate environmental impacts or conserve the natural environment and resources (see subsection 28(1) of the Patent Rules).

Important considerations

For more information and resources on IP, please go to Canada.ca/IP-for-business.

Date modified:

Technologies propres et propriété intellectuelle

Afficher en PDF (PDF : 649 Ko; 1 page)

Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC), pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, que l'OPIC soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec l'OPIC ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, faire parvenir un courriel à droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.


Alors que le monde se dirige vers des technologies plus propres, le Canada continue de jouer le rôle de chef de file mondial dans le domaine des technologies propres. Les avantages pour les Canadiens sont nombreux. Par exemple, cela nous aide entre autres à atteindre nos objectifs en matière de changements climatiques et à créer plus d'emplois bien rémunérés à l'échelle du pays.

Le Canada est reconnu en tant qu'innovateur mondial dans le domaine des technologies propres!

Les entreprises canadiennes ont été récompensées pour leurs efforts et pour leur rôle exceptionnel de chefs de file dans le domaine des technologies propres. En fait, 13 entreprises canadiennes figurent sur la liste Global Cleantech 100 (disponible en anglais seulement) de cette année, ce qui fait passer le Canada du 7e au 4e rang parmi les innovateurs du domaine des technologies propres, comme le souligne The Global Cleantech Innovation Index 2017 (PDF | disponible en anglais seulement).

Demeurez au fait des technologies propres et des autres efforts en matière d'innovation en consultant le site Web Innovation Canada et la page PI pour les entreprises de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC).

Quel est donc le lien entre la propriété intellectuelle (PI) canadienne et les technologies propres, et comment votre entreprise peut-elle en tirer parti?

Voici quelques exemples :

  1. L'OPIC devient un partenaire de WIPO GREEN!

    En 2017, l'OPIC est devenu l'un des deux seuls partenaires de WIPO GREEN dans l'ensemble du Canada. WIPO GREEN consiste en un marché interactif qui encourage l'innovation et la diffusion des technologies vertes. Le réseau WIPO GREEN facilite les relations et les transactions commerciales en établissant le lien entre les fournisseurs de technologies vertes et les personnes qui sont à la recherche de telles technologies.

  2. Nous offrons un processus accéléré pour les demandes de brevet liées aux technologies propres!

    L'OPIC offre actuellement un processus accéléré pour les demandes de brevet liées aux technologies propres. Les brevets sont une forme de PI souvent utilisée dans l'industrie et ils permettent d'empêcher les autres de fabriquer, d'utiliser ou de vendre votre invention pendant une période maximale de 20 ans au Canada.

    Notre service accéléré a pour objectif de réduire le temps nécessaire pour breveter des inventions du domaine des technologies propres, et ainsi permettre aux entreprises de les commercialiser plus rapidement.

Comment puis-je demander un examen accéléré?

  1. Présentez une demande écrite d'examen accéléré auprès du Bureau des brevets.
  2. Présentez une déclaration indiquant que votre demande est liée aux technologies propres et que la commercialisation de votre invention contribuerait à résoudre ou à atténuer les répercussions sur l'environnement ou à conserver les ressources et l'environnement naturels (voir le paragraphe 28(1) des Règles sur les brevets).

Points importants

Pour plus d'information et pour des ressources sur la PI, veuillez consulter Canada.ca/PI-pour-entreprises.

Date de modification :