Alternative dispute resolution

Intellectual property (IP) rights are a strategic component to a business's success, as these rights can be used to prevent competitors from illegally using the business' IP assets. However, uncertainties and conflict can arise when it comes to IP used in the course of business. With the progression in the importance of IP, the number of intellectual property disputes have also risen. When faced with such situations, parties can either follow traditional routes such as litigating the matter in the courtroom or the specialized tribunals, such as the Trademarks Opposition Board; or they can use the opportunity to design their own outcome through the often-overlooked alternative dispute resolution (ADR) processes.

ADR commonly refers to other forms of solving disputes between parties, such as arbitration, mediation and negotiation. ADR methods are generally consensual in nature and enable the parties to tailor the outcome and the dispute resolution process to the parties' needs. Additional advantages of pursuing ADR methods include speedier resolution, cost effectiveness, confidentiality, flexibility of the dispute process, and the possibility to maintain pre-existing business relationships. In situations where a dispute spans multiple jurisdictions, ADR methods may also make it possible to resolve the matter for all jurisdictions with a single process.

Such advantages prompt many organizations to make ADR their preferred approach over traditional litigation. However, since ADR methods require consent from both parties, businesses often enter into agreements during contractual negotiations that mandate resolution through ADR methods. Such contractual agreements give the parties the comfort of certainty of the forum for dispute resolution, which allows parties greater control over their legal expenses and potential business disruptions.

Even if the parties are involved in a legal dispute, they have the option to pursue ADR methods in a parallel process, upon consent by all parties, to resolve their differences even though litigation may still be pending.

A note on traditional litigation

Traditional means of resolving civil disputes, such as judicial or administrative proceedings are adversarial in nature, since a judge decides the outcome. The litigation can be a long and drawn-out process requiring both parties to spend significant resources of time and money to determine who was right or who was wrong.

For intellectual property disputes, lengthy legal proceedings can be particularly disruptive to business operations because IP rights can be time sensitive. If the subject matter is a rapidly evolving technology, such as computer software or microelectronics, the judicial proceeding may last longer than the actual lifecycle of the product.

Pros

  • There are clear procedural rules
  • Evidence is disclosed

Cons

  • Costs are high (for example court fees, lawyer fees and expert fees)
  • The process is long (it may take several years before a decision is rendered)
  • The public and adversarial nature of the process may damage business relationships

ADR Methods

Negotiation

Negotiation is often the first approach taken to resolving an IP dispute. The parties hold discussions in the hope of reaching a mutually satisfactory agreement. Negotiation allows parties to participate directly in decisions that affect them. By being directly involved parties, are effectively able to address their own needs and the needs of the opposing party. A negotiated agreement can become a contract and be enforceable by the courts.

Pros

  • The process is confidential
  • Interest-based negotiation helps maintain business relationships
  • The dispute is resolved by mutual agreement rather than an imposed decision

Cons

  • The process lacks impartiality (the parties lead the decision-making process without the assistance of an impartial third party)

Mediation

Mediation is generally a voluntary process where an impartial third party, called a mediator, assists the parties in their efforts to reach a voluntary resolution. The mediator's role is to re-establish or facilitate communication between the parties, highlight the parties' needs and interests, and help overcome impasses. Unlike a judge, the mediator does not decide who is right or wrong, but instead provides his insights and helps them to arrive at possible solutions through their input and collaboration.

Since the mediator is not appointed by the court, the parties can consent to selecting a mediator who is knowledgeable in the subject matter. In some IP disputes a traditional judge without a technical background may have trouble understanding complicated subject matter, such as the nuances of sophisticated computer programs or the inner workings of human biology. Parties to such a dispute may prefer to use a mediator with a specific background to settle the dispute as the mediator's experience may assist in helping the parties arrive at a satisfactory resolution to their dispute. This may also avoid the necessity of spending significant amount of resources on using subject matter experts as witnesses to provide evidence related to the relevant technology. Mediation also offers the possibility of outcomes that incorporate innovative remedies, such as cross-licenses, or royalty rates, which may not be available in public courts.

Either party may initiate mediation by communicating an interest in using the process, even if litigation has commenced. When engaging in contractual relationships, consider inserting contractual clauses that address mandatory mediation.

Pros

  • The decision is made jointly by the parties rather than imposed by a third party.
  • The process is confidential.
  • Mediation is quicker and more flexible.
  • Mediator can assist the parties in reaching creative and custom solutions
  • It helps maintain business relationships and minimize business disruptions.
  • The parties reserve the right of proceeding with litigation if an agreement is not reached.

Cons

  • Mediation does not send a message and cannot act as a deterrent, given that it is confidential

Arbitration

Arbitration is similar to traditional litigation where an impartial "judge", called an arbitrator, hears both parties and their witnesses in the manner of a trial and renders a binding decision based on the evidence and law. Despite the similarities to traditional litigation, private arbitrations can be relatively quicker and cheaper at resolving disputes because unlike public courts, the process is decided by both parties to generally work with their interests. The resolution process timelines and other details (i.e., which laws to use, how much evidence should be produced) can be adjusted to suit the needs and schedule of both parties. Parties may elect to go directly to arbitration or attempt to resolve the situation through mediation first.

Intellectual property disputes often involve proprietary information (i.e., trade secrets or patented inventions) and the confidentiality of this information is easier to maintain in private arbitration rather than in public courts.

Private arbitration must be mutually agreed upon by all parties, whereas in traditional litigation one party can force the other party to litigate the matter in courtrooms by electing to file an application in the public courts. In order to overcome this dilemma, many businesses often enter into arbitration agreements during contractual negotiations that require the parties to engage in private arbitration rather than a public proceeding. During arbitration, the presence of legal counsel is optional, although most sophisticated intellectual property arbitrations still use legal representatives. Barring exceptions, arbitration costs are shared equally between the parties. The Arbitration clause can also stipulate specifics such as the rules of the arbitration, the language and the venue where it will be held.

Pros

  • Both parties agree on the choice of arbitrator, costs, and location and jurisdiction of the decision
  • Using arbitration makes it possible to select arbitrators based on their IP expertise
  • The process is private and fast
  • The process is confidential
  • The process is flexible (less formal than litigation)
  • Arbitration usually costs less than a trial
  • The decision is legally binding

Cons

  • Options for appeal are limited
  • Arbitrators do not have to comply with strict legal rules, which can possibly lead to inconsistent results.

Other ADR methods

There are also other types of ADR or hybrid approaches that combine different methods, including mediation-arbitration (commonly called "med-arb"), where the parties allow the mediator to act as an arbitrator in the event of an impasse. There are other methods of dispute resolution and the use of a specific method will depend on the nature of a particular dispute.

If you want to know more about the advantages of using ADR to resolve your dispute, below is a list of organizations that specialize in ADR and offer related resources.

Canadian resources

International resources

Date modified:

Le règlement alternatif des différends

Les droits de propriété intellectuelle (PI) sont une composante stratégique de la réussite d'une entreprise, car ces droits peuvent être utilisés pour empêcher les concurrents d'utiliser illégalement les actifs de PI de l'entreprise. Toutefois, des incertitudes et des conflits peuvent survenir relativement à la PI utilisée dans le cadre des affaires. Compte tenu de l'importance croissante de la PI, le nombre de différends en matière de propriété intellectuelle a également augmenté. Lorsqu'elles sont confrontées à de telles situations, les parties peuvent soit suivre des voies traditionnelles comme le règlement du litige par un juge ou un tribunal spécialisé, comme la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce, soit profiter de l'occasion pour concevoir leur propre résultat au moyen des modes de règlement alternatif des différends (RAD), qui sont souvent négligés.

Le RAD désigne couramment d'autres formes de règlement de différends entre les parties, comme l'arbitrage, la médiation et la négociation. Les méthodes de RAD sont généralement consensuelles et permettent aux parties d'adapter le résultat et le processus de règlement des différends à leurs besoins. Parmi les autres avantages du recours au RAD, mentionnons un règlement accéléré, l'économie, la confidentialité, la souplesse du processus de règlement des différends et la possibilité de maintenir des relations d'affaires préexistantes. Dans les situations où un différend s'étend à plusieurs territoires, les méthodes de RAD peuvent également permettre de régler la question pour toutes les administrations au moyen d'un seul processus.

De tels avantages incitent de nombreuses organisations à faire du RAD leur approche préférée par rapport aux procédures judiciaires traditionnelles. Toutefois, comme les méthodes de RAD nécessitent le consentement des deux parties, les entreprises concluent souvent des ententes qui exigent la résolution par l'intermédiaire de méthodes de RAD pendant les négociations contractuelles. Ces ententes contractuelles procurent aux parties le confort de la certitude quant à la tribune de règlement des différends, ce qui leur permet d'avoir plus de contrôle sur leurs frais juridiques et éventuelles perturbations des activités.

Même si les parties se livrent une bataille juridique, elles ont la possibilité de recourir à des méthodes de RAD dans le cadre d'un processus parallèle, suivant le consentement de toutes les parties, pour régler leurs différends, même s'il y a encore menace de litige.

Des procédures judiciaires traditionnelles

Les moyens traditionnels de régler les différends civils, comme les procédures judiciaires ou administratives, sont de nature accusatoire puisqu'un juge décide du résultat. Le litige peut s'avérer un processus long et ardu qui oblige les deux parties à consacrer des ressources importantes pour déterminer qui avait raison ou qui avait tort.

En ce qui concerne les différends relatifs à la propriété intellectuelle, les longues procédures judiciaires peuvent particulièrement perturber les opérations commerciales, car les droits de PI peuvent être assujettis à des délais serrés. Si l'objet est une technologie qui évolue rapidement, comme les logiciels ou la microélectronique, la procédure judiciaire peut durer plus longtemps que le cycle de vie réel du produit.

Avantages

  • Il existe des règles procédurales claires.
  • La preuve est divulguée.

Inconvénients

  • Les coûts sont élevés (frais judiciaires, honoraires d'avocat, honoraires d'experts, etc.).
  • Le processus est long (il peut s'écouler plusieurs années avant qu'une décision ne soit rendue).
  • La nature publique et accusatoire du processus peut nuire aux relations d'affaires.

Méthodes de RAD

Négociation

La négociation est souvent la première approche adoptée pour régler un différend en matière de PI. Les parties au différend discutent dans l'espoir de parvenir à un accord mutuellement satisfaisant. La négociation permet aux parties de participer directement aux décisions qui les touchent. En intervenant directement, les parties sont en mesure de répondre à leurs propres besoins et à ceux de la partie adverse. Un accord négocié peut devenir un contrat et être exécutoire par l'entremise des tribunaux.

Avantages

  • Le processus est confidentiel.
  • La négociation fondée sur les intérêts contribue à maintenir les relations d'affaires.
  • Le différend est réglé d'un commun accord plutôt qu'en vertu d'une décision imposée.

Inconvénients

  • Le processus manque d'impartialité (les parties dirigent le processus décisionnel sans l'aide d'un tiers impartial).

Médiation

La médiation est généralement un processus volontaire dans le cadre duquel un tiers impartial, appelé médiateur, tente d'aider les parties à parvenir à un règlement volontaire. Le rôle du médiateur consiste à rétablir ou à faciliter la communication entre les parties, à souligner les besoins et les intérêts des parties, et à dénouer les impasses. Contrairement à un juge, le médiateur ne décide pas qui a raison ou qui a tort; il donne plutôt son point de vue, recommande des solutions et encourage la collaboration vers une solution raisonnable.

Comme le médiateur n'est pas nommé par le tribunal, les parties peuvent consentir au choix d'un médiateur qui connaît bien le sujet. Dans certains différends en matière de PI, un juge traditionnel qui n'a pas d'antécédents techniques peut avoir de la difficulté à comprendre un sujet complexe, comme les nuances de programmes informatiques sophistiqués ou les rouages internes de la biologie humaine. Les parties à un tel différend peuvent préférer avoir recours à un médiateur ayant des antécédents précis pour régler le différend puisque l'expérience du médiateur peut aider les parties à résoudre de façon satisfaisante leur différend. Ceci peut aussi éviter l'obligation de consacrer des ressources considérables aux services d'experts en la matière comme témoins pour fournir des éléments de preuve relatifs à la technologie pertinente. La médiation présente la possibilité de résultats qui intègrent des solutions innovatrices, comme des licences réciproques ou des taux de redevances, qui ne peuvent être offerts par les tribunaux publics.

L'une ou l'autre des parties peut amorcer la médiation en communiquant son intérêt à utiliser le processus, même si les procédures judiciaires ont commencé. Lorsque vous entretenez des relations contractuelles, songez à insérer des clauses sur la médiation obligatoire.

Avantages

  • La décision est prise conjointement par les parties en cause plutôt qu'imposée par un tiers.
  • Le processus est confidentiel.
  • La médiation est plus rapide et plus souple.
  • Le médiateur peut recommander des solutions créatives et personnalisées.
  • Il aide à entretenir des relations d'affaires et à réduire au minimum les perturbations des activités.
  • Les parties se réservent le droit d'intenter des procédures judiciaires si une entente n'est pas conclue.

Inconvénients

  • La médiation n'envoie pas de message et ne peut être dissuasive puisqu'elle est confidentielle.

Arbitrage

L'arbitrage s'apparente à des procédures judiciaires traditionnelles puisqu'un « juge » impartial, appelé arbitre, entend les deux parties et leurs témoins dans le cadre d'un procès et rend une décision exécutoire fondée sur la preuve et le droit. Malgré les similitudes avec les procédures judiciaires traditionnelles, l'arbitrage privé est une façon relativement plus rapide et moins coûteuse de régler les différends parce que, contrairement aux tribunaux publics, les deux parties décident de travailler sur la base de leurs intérêts. Les délais du processus de résolution et d'autres détails (c.-à-d. les lois à utiliser, la quantité de preuves à produire) peuvent être ajustés en fonction des besoins et du calendrier des deux parties. L'arbitrage est un processus plus formel et plus compliqué que la médiation, et les parties peuvent opter directement pour l'arbitrage ou tenter d'abord de régler la situation par la médiation.

Les différends relatifs à la PI concernent souvent des renseignements exclusifs (c.-à-d. des secrets commerciaux ou des inventions brevetées) et la confidentialité de ces renseignements est plus facile à maintenir dans le cadre de l'arbitrage privé que devant les tribunaux publics. L'arbitrage privé doit faire l'objet d'un accord mutuel entre toutes les parties, alors qu'en situation de procédures judiciaires traditionnelles, l'une des parties peut contraindre l'autre à plaider l'affaire devant un magistrat en choisissant de soumettre une requête à un tribunal public. Pour surmonter ce dilemme, de nombreuses entreprises concluent souvent, durant les négociations contractuelles, des accords d'arbitrage qui obligent les parties à recourir à l'arbitrage privé plutôt qu'à une procédure publique. Au cours de l'arbitrage, la présence d'un avocat est facultative, bien que la plupart des arbitrages complexes en matière de propriété intellectuelle fassent encore appel à des représentants juridiques. Sauf exception, les frais d'arbitrage sont partagés également entre les parties.

La clause sur l'arbitrage peut aussi stipuler des éléments spécifiques comme les règles de l'arbitrage, la langue et l'endroit où l'arbitrage aura lieu.

Avantages

  • Les deux parties s'entendent sur le choix de l'arbitre, les dépens, le lieu et la compétence de la décision.
  • Le recours à l'arbitrage permet de choisir des arbitres en fonction de leur expertise en PI.
  • Le processus est privé et rapide.
  • Le processus est confidentiel.
  • Le processus est souple (moins formel que les procédures judiciaires).
  • L'arbitrage coûte habituellement moins cher qu'un procès.
  • La décision est exécutoire.

Inconvénients

  • Les options d'appel sont limitées.
  • Les arbitres ne sont pas tenus de se conformer à de strictes règles juridiques, ce qui peut entraîner des résultats incohérents.

Autres méthodes de RAD

Il existe également d'autres types de modes de RAD et d'approches hybrides qui combinent différentes méthodes, dont la médiation-arbitrage, où les parties permettent au médiateur d'agir à titre d'arbitre en cas d'impasse. À cela s'ajoutent d'autres méthodes de règlement des différends et l'utilisation d'une méthode spécifique dépendra de la nature du différend en question.

Pour en savoir plus sur les avantages du recours au RAD pour régler votre différend, voici une liste d'organisations qui se spécialisent dans le RAD et qui offrent des ressources connexes.

Ressources canadiennes

Ressources internationales

Date de modification :