Standard character trademarks

Publication Date: June 17, 2019

This notice is intended to clarify the practice of the Trademarks Office with respect to applying the provisions of section 31 of the Trademarks Act (the "Act") for standard character trademarks.

A standard character trademark contains a combination of prescribed letters, numbers and symbols without any claim to a particular font, size or colour.

The Office has created a standard character set that lists the letters, numerals, punctuation marks, diacritics and typographical symbols that may be used when filing a standard character trademark. The standard character set is reproduced below.

An application for a standard character trademark must include:

If an applicant requests registration of a trademark that appears to be in standard characters but (i) does not include or reference a standard character statement, or (ii) contains characters not in the standard character set, the trademark will be treated as a non-standard character trademark. In such cases, the trademark will be scanned and represented as filed.

Pursuant to paragraph 35(2)(e) of the Trademarks Regulations, an application cannot be amended to add or remove a statement in paragraph 31(b) of the Act, namely that the trademark consists of standard characters, unless the application has not been advertised and the trademark remains substantially the same.

Under the transitional provisions of the amended Regulations, an application filed before, but not yet advertised on June 17, 2019 may be amended at any time prior to registration to add a statement that the applicant wishes the trademark to be registered in standard characters, but only if the trademark remains substantially the same.

Standard Characters

Date modified:

Ébauche — Énoncé de pratique concernant les marques de commerce en caractères standard

Date de publication : 201X-XX-XX

Le présent énoncé a pour but de clarifier la pratique du Bureau des marques de commerce en ce qui concerne l'application des dispositions de l'article 31 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (la « Loi ») concernant les marques de commerce en caractères standard.

Une marque de commerce en caractères standard comprend une combinaison de lettres, de chiffres et de symboles prescrits, sans revendication à l'égard d'une police, d'une taille ou d'une couleur en particulier.

Le Bureau a créé un ensemble de caractères standard regroupant les lettres, les chiffres, les signes de ponctuation et les signes diacritiques et typographiques qui peuvent être utilisés lors de la production d’une demande de marque de commerce en caractères standard. L'ensemble de caractères standard peut être consulté ci-dessous.

Une demande d'enregistrement à l'égard d'une marque de commerce en caractères standard doit renfermer ce qui suit :

Si un requérant demande l'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce qui semble être en caractères standard, mais i) que la demande ne renferme pas une déclaration portant que la marque de commerce est en caractères standard et ne fait pas référence à une telle déclaration , ou ii) que la marque de commerce contient des caractères qui ne font pas partie de l'ensemble de caractères standard, la marque de commerce sera traitée comme une marque de commerce en caractères non standard. Dans un tel cas, la marque de commerce sera numérisée et représentée telle qu'elle a été produite.

Conformément à l'alinéa 35(2)e) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, une demande ne peut pas être modifiée pour ajouter ou supprimer la déclaration prévue à l'alinéa 31b) de la Loi, à savoir que les marque de commerce est constituée de caractères standard, sauf si la demande n'a pas encore été annoncée et que la marque de commerce demeure sensiblement la même.

Caractères standard

Date de modification :