Language selection

Search

Extensions of time due to force majeure for priority and renewal

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Publication date: June 17, 2019

Amendment date: October 28, 2020

This notice is intended to clarify the practice of the Trademarks Office with respect to extensions of time due to force majeure.

Subsections 34(5) and 46(5) of the Trademarks Act (the Act) permit an applicant to apply for an extension of time to file an application for registration having a claim to priority

34(5) An applicant is not permitted to apply under section 47 for an extension of the six-month period referred to in paragraph (1)(a) until that period has ended, and the Registrar is not permitted to extend the period by more than seven days

or to renew a registered trademark

46(5) A registered owner is not permitted to apply under section 47 for an extension of the prescribed period until that period has expired, and the Registrar is not permitted to extend the period by more than seven days.

An applicant may apply for an extension of time to file an application referred to in paragraph 34(1)(a) of the Act or renew a registration under section 46 of the Act, after the time limit has passed. In accordance with section 14 of the Trademarks Regulations and subsection 47(2) of the Act, the applicant must pay the prescribed fee for an extension of time (to find out the exact amount of the fee, please consult the list of fees for trademarks) and explain the reason(s) why they could not do the act within the prescribed period. Evidence that the event has occurred is not required so long as the event is clearly described in the request.

If the Registrar grants the extension of time, the period may only be extended by a maximum of seven days.

A request for an extension of time due to force majeure may be submitted by mail or fax using the contact information outlined below, or through the General Correspondence online service for trademarks.

Request for extension of time on force majeure
c/o Deputy Director, Examination Division
Trademarks Office
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
50 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0C9

Fax to 819-953-2476.

The inclusion of these relief measures is derived from Article 14 of the Singapore Agreement on the Law of Trademarks and Rule 9(3) of its Regulations.

While not explicitly stated as such, subsections 34(5) and 46(5) provide relief measures for applicants to extend time limits due to a "force majeure" event.  Force majeure (often called "act of God") is a legal concept that allows a party to suspend its obligations when certain circumstances beyond its control arise, making performance of its obligations impossible. The Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) defined an "act of God," at least as it pertains to contract law, in Atlantic Paper Stock Ltd. v. St. Anne-Nack, [1976] 1 SCR 580 at 583 (hereinafter, "Atlantic") as an "event, beyond control of either party, [that] makes performance impossible." The SCC described the uncontrollable character of the event as being something "unexpected" and "beyond reasonable human foresight and skill." In addition to the unexpected character of an event, the SCC stated in Atlantic that the event must also "strike at the root" of the reason why the obligation cannot be met. When considering the occurrence of a force majeure event, courts are not interested in the occurrence of the event per se, but the specific effect of the event on the obligations of the parties. In addition to "acts of God," force majeure events can also include political or medical events.

Examples of force majeure events include, but are not limited to:

Date modified:

Prolongations de délai en cas de force majeure pour une priorité et un renouvellement

Date de publication : 17 juin 2019

Le présent énoncé a pour but de clarifier la pratique du Bureau des marques de commerce en ce qui concerne les prolongations de délai en cas de force majeure.

Les paragraphes 34(5) et 46(5) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (la « Loi ») permettent à un requérant de prolonger le délai alloué pour produire une demande d'enregistrement avec une priorité:

34(5) Le requérant ne peut demander la prolongation, au titre de l'article 47, de la période de six mois prévue à l'alinéa (1)a) qu'après l'expiration de celle-ci. Le registraire ne peut la prolonger que d'au plus sept jours.

ou pour renouveler l'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce :

46(5) Le propriétaire inscrit de la marque de commerce ne peut demander la prolongation, au titre de l'article 47, du délai prescrit qu'après l'expiration de celui-ci. Le registraire ne peut le prolonger que d'au plus sept jours.

Un requérant peut demander une prolongation de délai pour produire une demande visée à l'alinéa 34 (1)a) de la Loi ou pour renouveler un enregistrement en vertu du l'article 46 une fois le délai expiré (par conséquent, seule une demande au titre du paragraphe 47(2) de la Loi est applicable). Le requérant doit payer le droit prescrit (voir l'article 14 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce (le « Règlement » et l'article 1 du Tarif des droits) et fournir la ou les raisons pour lesquelles il n'a pas pu accomplir l'acte à l'intérieur du délai prescrit. La preuve que l'événement s'est produit n'est pas requise pour autant que l'événement a été clairement décrit dans la demande.

Si le registraire accorde la prolongation demandée, le délai peut seulement être prolongé d'au plus sept jours.

Les demandes concernant ces types de prolongations de délai doivent être adressées de la façon suivante et être postées ou envoyées par télécopieur :

Demande de prolongation de délai en cas de force majeure
a/s Directeur(trice) adjoint(e), Division des examens
Bureau des marques de commerce
Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
50, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0C9

Télécopieur : 819-953-2476

L'inclusion de ces mesures de sursis découle de l'article 14 du Traité de Singapour sur le droit des marques et de la règle 9(3) de son Règlement.

Bien que cela ne soit pas expressément indiqué, les paragraphes 34(5) et 46(5) prévoient des mesures de sursis permettant aux requérants d'obtenir une prolongation de délai en cas de force majeure. Le cas de force majeure est un concept juridique qui permet de dispenser temporairement une partie de ses obligations lorsque certaines circonstances indépendantes de sa volonté se présentent et rendent impossible l'exécution de ses obligations. Dans Atlantic Paper Stock Ltd. c. St. Anne-Nack, [1976] 1 RCS 580 à la p. 583 (ci-après « Atlantic »), la Cour suprême du Canada (CSC) a défini le « cas de force majeure », du moins dans le contexte du droit contractuel, comme un [Traduction] « événement [...] sur lequel les parties n'ont aucun contrôle et qui rend l'exécution [...] impossible ». La CSC décrit le caractère incontrôlable de l'événement comme étant [Traduction] « inattendu et humainement imprévisible et incontrôlable ». Outre le caractère inattendu de l'événement, la CSC a indiqué dans Atlantic que l'événement doit également [Traduction] « attaquer la racine même » de la raison pour laquelle l'obligation ne peut être remplie. Lorsqu'ils se penchent sur la présence d'un événement relevant de la force majeure, les tribunaux ne s'intéressent pas à la présence de l'événement en soi, mais à l'effet spécifique de cet événement sur les obligations des parties. En plus des « actes de la nature », les cas de force majeure peuvent inclure les événements d'ordre politique ou médical.

Les exemples de cas de force majeur inclus, mais sans s'y limiter :

Date de modification :