Hiring an intellectual property professional

View as PDF (PDF: 458 KB; 2 pages)

Intellectual property (IP) represents some of the most important and valuable business assets that can impact competition, financing and international growth. While IP can seem like a complex subject, there are many resources at your disposal to help you.

An IP professional, such as a patent agent, a trademark agent or an IP lawyer, can help you identify and file your IP, assist with the development of a strategy, and help you budget to protect and enforce your IP in Canada and around the world. They can also advise on proper use of IP to maintain rights, marking, licensing, assignment and other strategies to maximize the value of your IP.

Choose your IP professional

Questions you may wish to ask:

Prior to consulting with an IP professional

Understand the different types of IP to help you prepare for the first consultation. Get a handle on the fundamentals of IP by visiting CIPO's website. You can also contact our Client Service Centre to speak with an information officer or one of our IP advisors.

Do a quick search of your inventions, trademarks and creations in the countries of interest to you to give you a preliminary view of rights owned by others that might affect the protection of your IP. Search the web, the online Canadian patents, trademarks, industrial designs or copyrights databases and databases from other countries and regions.

Consider in which countries your IP rights should be protected. Your business strategy might take you beyond Canada. Consult our Doing business abroad guides to help you learn about protecting your IP in foreign markets.

Cost will vary depending on your needs and the nature and complexity of the work required.

The following is for information purposes only:

Approximate cost range for CanadaFootnote 1
CIPO fees (administrative fees) IP agent feesFootnote 3
Filing Examination Registration Maintenance/Renewal
Trademark $250 - $200 $350 $500 - $2,000
Patent $400Footnote 2 $800Footnote 2 $300Footnote 2 $100 - $4,800Footnote 2 $5000 - $25,000
Industrial design - $400 - $350 $500 - $2,000
Copyright $50 - - - $0 - $500

Ask your trademark or patent agent for detailed estimates on professional fees and disbursements, government fees, and likely timing of expenses to help you budget accordingly.

Also, you may consider discussing payment schedules or arrangements. The IP agent fees cover services such as searching, drafting, preparing and filing of your application, refining and resubmitting the application, and preparing and filing of formal documentation.

To find out more about registered Canadian IP agents, please visit
Find an intellectual property agent
or contact our Client Service Centre at 1-866-997-1936.

Date modified:

Embaucher un spécialiste de la propriété intellectuelle

Afficher en PDF (PDF: 458 KB; 2 pages)

La propriété intellectuelle (PI) représente certains des actifs commerciaux les plus importants et les plus précieux qui peuvent influer sur la concurrence, le financement et la croissance internationale. Bien que la PI puisse sembler complexe, de nombreuses ressources sont à votre disposition pour vous aider.

Un spécialiste de la PI, comme un agent de brevets, un agent de marques de commerce ou un avocat spécialisé en PI, peut vous aider à définir votre PI et déposer une demande, ainsi qu'à élaborer une stratégie et à établir un budget pour protéger et faire respecter votre PI au Canada et partout dans le monde. Il peut également fournir des conseils sur l'utilisation appropriée de la PI pour maintenir les droits, les exigences de marquages, les licences, les cessions et d'autres stratégies afin de maximiser la valeur de votre PI.

Choisir votre spécialiste de la PI

Questions que vous pourriez poser :

Avant de consulter un spécialiste de la PI

Assurez-vous de comprendre les différents types de PI pour vous aider à vous préparer à la première réunion. Prenez connaissance des notions de base de la PI en visitant le site Web de l'OPIC. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec notre Centre de services à la clientèle pour parler à un agent d'information ou à l'un de nos conseillers en PI.

Effectuez une recherche rapide sur vos inventions, vos marques de commerce et vos créations dans les pays qui vous intéressent afin d'obtenir un aperçu préliminaire des droits d'autres personnes qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur la protection de votre PI. Consultez les bases de données en ligne sur les brevets, marques de commerce, dessins industriels ou droits d'auteur du Canada, d'autres pays et régions, ainsi que le Web en général.

Déterminez dans quels pays vos droits de PI devraient être protégés. Votre stratégie d'affaires pourrait vous amener au-delà du Canada. Consultez nos guides Faire des affaires à l'étranger afin de vous familiariser avec la protection de votre PI sur les marchés étrangers.

Le coût variera en fonction de vos besoins et de la nature et la complexité du travail requis.

Les renseignements ci-dessous sont fournis à titre informatif uniquement :

Fourchette de coûts approximative pour le CanadaNote de bas de page 1
Frais de l'OPIC (frais administratifs) Frais des agents de PINote de bas de page 3
Dépôt Examen Enregistrement Maintien /
Renouvellement
Marque de commerce 250 $ - 200 $ 350 $ 500 $ - 2 000 $
Brevet 400 $Note de bas de page 2 800 $Note de bas de page 2 300 $Note de bas de page 2 100 $ - 4 800 $Note de bas de page 2 5000 $ - 25 000 $
Dessin industriel - 400 $ - 350 $ 500 $ - 2 000 $
Droit d'auteur 50 $ - - - 0 $ - 500 $

Demandez à votre agent de marques de commerce ou de brevets des estimations détaillées des frais et débours professionnels et des frais gouvernementaux, ainsi qu'un calendrier estimatif des dépenses pour vous aider à établir votre budget en conséquence.

Vous pourriez également envisager de discuter des calendriers ou des modalités de paiement. Les frais d'agent de PI couvrent des services tels que la recherche, la rédaction, la préparation et le dépôt de votre demande, l'amélioration et la présentation à nouveau de la demande, ainsi que la préparation et le dépôt de documents officiels.

Pour en savoir plus sur les agents de PI canadiens inscrits, veuillez visiter le
Trouver un agent de propriété intellectuelle
ou communiquer avec notre Centre de services à la clientèle au 1-866-997-1936.

Date de modification :