Canada’s participation in WIPO’s Digital Access Service: A simple and e-enabled exchange of priority documents

– Gatineau – Canadian Intellectual Property Office

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is pleased to announce its participation in the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)'s Digital Access Service (DAS) for industrial design applications as of .

Joining the DAS supports CIPO's Five-Year Business Strategy and its service strategy to offer a modern, client-centric service experience through e-enabled services.

The DAS is an electronic digital library service, administered by WIPO, to facilitate the secure exchange of priority documents between intellectual property offices (IPOs). Previously, applicants had to request certified paper copies of documents from an initial IPO and then file those documents with other IPOs. DAS simplifies this process by providing an electronic system whereby applicants may request that the initial IPO make priority documents available on the system. The applicant may then request that other IPOs retrieve those documents via the service for applications filed subsequently.

The DAS will make it easier for applicants who have a priority claim in participating jurisdictions, such as the United States, China, India, Korea and Spain, to file their priority documents with CIPO. Joining DAS will also benefit Canadian applicants who choose to file in Canada first by allowing them to make a copy of their application available through the service to support their filings in other countries.

This new service is currently available only for industrial design applications, with the aim of expanding it to patent applications after Canada accedes to the Patent Law Treaty.

To learn more about how CIPO operationalizes the DAS for industrial design applications, please consult the Industrial Design Office Practice Manual sections 6.02.02 and 8.07.08.01.

For more information about the WIPO DAS, please visit WIPO's website.

Associated links

Contact

Todd Hunter
Director, Copyright and Industrial Design Branch
Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Telephone: 819-934-5630
Email: todd.hunter@canada.ca

Date modified:

Participation du Canada au Service d’accès numérique de l’OMPI : pour un échange électronique simple de documents de priorité

– Gatineau – Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) est heureux d'annoncer sa participation au Service d'accès numérique (DAS) de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI) pour les demandes concernant les dessins industriels à compter du .

En se joignant au DAS, l'OPIC vient appuyer sa Stratégie d'affaires quinquennale et sa stratégie de services qui visent à offrir une expérience de service moderne et axée sur le client au moyen de services offerts par voie numérique.

Le DAS est un service de bibliothèque numérique en ligne, administré par l'OMPI, qui vise à faciliter l'échange sûr de documents de priorité entre les offices de propriété intellectuelle (OPI). Auparavant, un participant devait demander des copies papier certifiées de documents d'un premier OPI, puis les déposer auprès d'autres OPI. Le DAS simplifie ce processus en fournissant un système électronique où le participant peut demander que le premier OPI rende les documents de priorité accessibles dans le système. Le participant peut ensuite demander aux autres OPI d'aller récupérer ces documents au moyen du service pour les demandes qui seront déposées ultérieurement.

Grâce au DAS, les demandeurs qui possèdent une revendication de priorité dans les pays participants, comme les États-Unis, la Chine, l'Inde, la Corée et l'Espagne, pourront plus facilement déposer leurs documents de priorité auprès d'autres offices. Le DAS profitera aussi aux demandeurs canadiens qui choisissent de déposer leur demande au Canada en premier. Ils pourront rendre accessible une copie de leur demande au moyen du système et, ainsi, appuyer leurs dépôts dans d'autres pays.

À l'heure actuelle, ce nouveau service est accessible pour les demandes concernant les dessins industriels uniquement. L'objectif est de l'étendre aux brevets après que le Canada aura adhéré au Traité sur le droit des brevets.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont l'OPIC met en œuvre le DAS pour les demandes concernant les dessins industriels, veuillez consulter les articles 6.02.02 et 8.07.08.01 du Manuel des pratiques administratives en dessins industriels.

Pour en savoir plus sur le DAS de l'OMPI, veuillez visiter le site Web de l'OMPI.

Liens connexes

Personne-ressource

Todd Hunter
Directeur, Direction du droit d'auteur et des dessins industriels
Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Téléphone : 819-934-5630
Courriel : todd.hunter@canada.ca

Date de modification :