Language selection

Search

Electronic evidence in opposition and section 45 proceedings

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Publication Date:

Amendment Date:

This practice notice intends to clarify the practice of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) with respect to the submission and service of evidence in electronic form and by electronic means.

Relevant legislation and practice notices

This practice notice refers to the following legislation and practice notices:

On this page

I. Introduction

According to section 64(1) of the Act, any document can be provided to the Registrar of Trademarks (the Registrar) in any electronic form and by any electronic means specified by the Registrar. This includes evidence. This practice notice provides information on the electronic mean of transmission, mediums and file formats accepted by the Registrar for submitting evidence electronically in opposition, objection and section 45 proceedings before the Trademarks Opposition Board (TMOB). It also provides guidance on how this evidence can be served electronically on the other party.

II. Electronic submission of evidence

II.1 Acceptable electronic mean of transmission

The Registrar only accepts one electronic mean of transmission for evidence in the context of opposition, objection and section 45 proceedings, and that is through TMOB's E-services. Files submitted through these services may not exceed 100 MB. Files larger than 100 MB must be broken down into smaller files and submitted individually. An account is required to use these services.

II.2 Acceptable electronic mediums

The Registrar accepts evidence submitted on CDs, DVDs or USB Keys.

Only in cases where a file is larger than the maximum allowed by the TMOB's E-services (100 MB), and cannot be broken down into smaller files, a CD, DVD or USB Key should be submitted to the Registrar.

A party who is submitting part of their evidence through the electronic system and part through a CD, DVD or USB Key submitted to the Registrar, should identify in each case that partial evidence is being filed electronically and partial evidence is being filed by way of physical delivery to the Registrar.

II.3 Acceptable electronic file formats

The following table lists the file formats accepted by the Registrar for the electronic submission of evidence:

Acceptable electronic file formats
Type of File Acceptable Electronic File Format Notes
Document PDF Where possible, files should be searchable.
Image JPEG, TIFF, PNG or GIF HI-Def where possible. GIF files must be still images.
Sound Recording MP3 --
Motion MP4 --

top of page

II.4 Naming electronically-submitted evidence

The maximum number of characters for file names is 150 characters.

II.4.a Affidavits and statutory declarations

File names for affidavits and statutory declarations should be named according to the following naming convention:

Application number, full name of affiant or declarant, date sworn.
Example: 1294543_JohnDoe_affiant_2019-03-13.pdf

File names for exhibits should follow the same convention, but also include the exhibit number.
Example: 1294543_JohnDoe_affiant_2019-03-13_exhibit A-3.bmp

II.4.b Other supporting documents

There is no restriction on the naming of other types of documents supporting the evidence filed (e.g. exhibits), as long as the file name contains the trademark application number and a description of the file content.

Example: 1294543_exhibitA_TMA222222_TMA333333_TMA444444.pdf

II.5 Effective date of submission

Evidence submitted to the Registrar electronically is deemed to have been submitted on the date and local time on which it is received by the Registrar in Gatineau, QC [section 10(4) of the Regulations]. For example, a document sent from Vancouver at 11:00pm (Pacific Time) on March 31 that arrives at the Registrar's Office in Gatineau at 2:00am (Eastern Time) on April 1 is deemed to have been received on April 1.

II.6 Paper copies of evidence

Parties are asked not to submit paper copies of evidence that has already been sent electronically. If a prior submitted document/file contains an error, the party can submit a corrected version, unless the deadline to file evidence has passed, in which case the party can submit only after requesting and obtaining a retroactive extension of time or a granting of leave.

II.7 Other information

II.7.a Facsimile

The use of fax as an electronic mean of transmission for evidence presents issues such as the often-poor quality of transmission, the risk of incomplete transmission, the voluminous nature of the documents, etc., resulting in delays. Therefore, evidence submitted by facsimile in respect of an opposition, objection or section 45 proceeding will not be accepted.

II.7.b Retention of affidavits and statutory declarations

Parties must retain the original of all affidavits, statutory declarations or any other supporting documents submitted electronically for one year after the expiry of all appeal periods (or, if an appeal is taken, until a final decision is given on that appeal) [section 13(1) of the Regulations].

If there is a concern with the quality, legibility, or authenticity of the electronic copy of the document, the Registrar may ask for a copy of the original [section 13(2) of the Regulations].

II.7.c Page numbering

Page numbering must be clearly marked on each document. Documents submitted with "tabs" to facilitate organization (for example, exhibits) should apply a single, continuous, and legible numbering scheme either:

  1. throughout the entire document; or
  2. in the "lead" document, along with a separate pagination scheme preceded by a letter or digit for each related document (e.g., A-1 to A-7, B-1 to B 10, etc.), accompanied by an index.

In cases where the document is scanned from a paper copy, the Registrar will accept a document that has bookmarked the exhibits.

II.7.d The electronic file submitted will be the evidence

Files submitted electronically to the Registrar should be "uneditable". That is, it should not be possible to manipulate or alter the files. Note that the exact file transmitted through TMOB's E-services will be the one the Registrar considers as evidence. Ensure that the file you are submitting is exactly as you would like it to be.

III. Electronic service of evidence

Service of evidence in the context of opposition, objection or section 45 proceedings can be effected in any manner that is agreed to by the parties, including by electronic means such as TMOB's E-services [sections 46(1)(e) and 71(1)(e) of the Regulations]. This option is available regardless of whether the party being served has an address in Canada.

III.1 Consent

The service of evidence can be effected electronically, so long as the party being served has provided their consent [sections 46(1)(e) and 71(1)(e) of the Regulations].

III.2 Acceptable electronic means

Any electronic means will be accepted so long as the party being served has consented.

III.3 Effective date of service

Documents served electronically are deemed to have been served the day the document is transmitted [sections 46(6) and 71(6) of the Regulations]. The day of transmission is determined by the day of the party sending the transmission. For example, a document sent from Vancouver at 11:00pm (Pacific Time) on March 31 received in Halifax at 3:00am (Atlantic Time) is deemed to have been served in Halifax on March 31.

III.4 Notification to the Registrar

The party effecting service must notify the Registrar of the manner by which service was effected and the effective date of service [sections 46(8) and 71(8) of the Regulations]. Where service has been effected by an electronic mean, the notification to the Registrar should clearly indicate the manner of service (e.g. through the TMOB's E-Services or by email) and indicate that the party being served consented to this manner of service. In the absence of consent being clearly indicated in the notification, the Registrar will assume that the party being served agreed to service in this manner unless advised otherwise.

III.4.a Proof of service

If the Registrar asks for proof of service, a party will have one month to provide that proof, or else that document will be deemed not to have been served [sections 46(9) and 71(9) of the Regulations]. The Registrar will consider the following as proof of service:

III.4.b Irregular service

Other types of service may still be deemed valid if Registrar determines that the document has been provided to the party being served, and informs the parties of that determination [sections 46(10) and 71(10) of the Regulations]. In these cases, the effective date of service is the day on which the document was provided to the party being served.

Please consult Practice in trademark opposition proceedings for more information.

IV. Technical Difficulties

IV.1 When submitting evidence through TMOB's E-services

If parties experience technical difficulties while submitting evidence to the Registrar using TMOB's E-services, it remains their responsibility to ensure that the evidence, as well as any supporting document(s), is submitted to the Registrar by the deadline.

Please consult Practice in trademark opposition proceedings and Practice in section 45 proceedings for more information regarding procedures to seek extensions of deadlines.

Parties can inform the TMOB of any technical problem(s) by clicking the "Problem report" link, situated on the home page of the TMOB's E-services, or by sending an email to the TMOB at ic.cipotmobrec@canada.ca.

IV.2 When effecting service by electronic means

It remains the parties' responsibility to ensure proper service, as is the case for non-electronic service.

IV.3 Plan ahead

Unexpected technological difficulties can occur. In order to avoid any last-minute problems that may arise, it is recommended to plan ahead when using TMOB's E-services. Filing and serving deadlines should be kept in mind and plenty of time should be allowed to resolve of any potential issues.

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on the Canadian Intellectual Property Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. In the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed. The provisions of this practice notice are general guidelines only, are not binding in any particular case and are subject to change.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Preuve électronique dans les procédures d'opposition et d'avis 45

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Date de publication :

Date de modification :

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de préciser la pratique de l'Office de propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) en ce qui concerne la présentation et la signification d'éléments de preuve en format électronique et par moyens électroniques.

Législation et énoncés de pratique pertinents

Le présent énoncé de pratique fait référence à la législation et aux énoncés de pratique suivants :

Sur cette page

I. Introduction

Conformément à l'article 64(1) de la Loi, tout document peut être fourni au registraire des marques de commerce (le registraire) sous la forme électronique et en utilisant les moyens électroniques qu'il précise. Cela comprend la preuve. Le présent énoncé de pratique fournit des renseignements sur le mode de transmission électronique, les supports et les formats de fichiers acceptés par le registraire pour la présentation de la preuve par moyen électronique dans le cadre de procédures d'opposition, d'opposition en matière d'indication géographique et de radiation en vertu de l'article 45 devant la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce (COMC). Il fournit également des indications sur la façon dont la preuve peut être signifiée par moyen électronique à l'autre partie.

II. Soumission d'éléments de preuve par moyen électronique

II.1 Moyen de transmission électronique acceptable

Le registraire n'accepte qu'un seul moyen de transmission électronique pour la preuve dans le contexte de procédures d'opposition, d'objection et en vertu de l'article 45, c'est-à-dire au moyen des services électroniques de la COMC. Les fichiers présentés par l'intermédiaire de ces services ne peuvent pas dépasser 100 Mo. Les fichiers de plus de 100 Mo doivent être fractionnés en plusieurs fichiers de plus petite taille et soumis individuellement. Il faut avoir un compte pour utiliser ces services.

II.2 Supports électroniques acceptables

Le registraire accepte la preuve présentée sur des CD, des DVD ou des clés USB.

Lorsque la taille d'un fichier est supérieure à la taille maximale (100 Mo) acceptée par les services électroniques de la COMC, et que le fichier ne peut pas être fractionné en plusieurs fichiers de plus petite taille, un CD, un DVD ou une clé USB doit être soumis au registraire.

II.3 Formats de fichiers électroniques acceptables

Le tableau suivant indique les formats de fichiers acceptés par le registraire pour la soumission d'éléments de preuve par moyen électronique :

Formats de fichiers électroniques acceptables
Type de fichier Format de fichier électronique acceptable Notes
Document PDF Dans la mesure du possible, des recherches doivent pouvoir être effectuées dans les fichiers.
Image JPEG, TIFF, PNG ou GIF Haute définition, dans la mesure du possible. Les fichiers GIF doivent être des images fixes.
Enregistrement sonore MP3 --
Mouvement MP4 --

haut de la page

II.4 Façon de nommer les éléments de preuve soumis par moyen électronique

Le nom des fichiers ne doit pas contenir plus de 150 caractères.

II.4.a Affidavits et déclarations solennelles

Les fichiers d'affidavits et de déclarations solennelles doivent être nommés conformément à la convention de nommage suivante :

Numéro de la demande, nom complet du déposant ou du déclarant, date de souscription.
Exemple : 1294543_PierreUntel_déposant_2019-03-13.pdf

Les fichiers de pièces doivent être nommés selon la même convention, mais en incluant également le numéro de la pièce.
Exemple : 1294543_PierreUntel_déposant_2019-03-13_pièce A-3.bmp

II.4.b Autres documents à l'appui

Il n'y a aucune restriction quant à la désignation d'autres types de documents qui sont à l'appui des éléments de preuve soumis (p. ex. les pièces), pour autant que le nom du fichier contienne le numéro de la demande de marque de commerce et une description du contenu du fichier.

Exemple : 1294543_pièceA_LMC222222_LMC333333_LMC444444.pdf

II.5 Date de prise d'effet de la soumission

La preuve présentée au registraire par voie électronique est réputée avoir été présentée à la date et à l'heure locale auxquelles elle a été reçue par le registraire à Gatineau, QC article 10(4) du Règlement]. À titre d'exemple, un document envoyé de Vancouver à 23 h (heure du Pacifique) le 31 mars qui est reçu par le bureau du registraire à Gatineau à 2 h (heure de l'Est) le 1er avril est réputé avoir été présenté le 1er avril.

II.6 Copies papier des éléments de preuve

Les parties sont priées de ne pas soumettre de copies papier des éléments de preuve ayant déjà été présentés électroniquement. S'il appert qu'un document/fichier déjà présenté contient une erreur, la partie peut présenter une version corrigée, sauf si le délai alloué pour la production de la preuve est expiré, auquel cas elle ne pourra présenter une version corrigée qu'après avoir demandé et obtenu la permission du registraire ou une prolongation de délai rétroactive.

II.7 Autres renseignements

II.7.a Télécopie

L'utilisation d'un télécopieur pour transmettre des éléments de preuve électroniquement présente plusieurs inconvénients, tels que la qualité souvent médiocre de la transmission, le risque d'une transmission incomplète, la nature volumineuse des documents, etc., qui sont susceptibles d'entraîner des retards. Par conséquent, les éléments de preuve présentés par télécopie dans le cadre d'une procédure d'opposition, d'opposition en matière d'indication géographique ou de radiation en vertu de l'article 45 ne seront pas acceptés.

II.7.b Conservation des affidavits et déclarations solennelles

Les parties doivent conserver l'original de tous les affidavits, déclarations solennelles ou tout autres documents à l'appui présentés électroniquement pendant un an après l'expiration de tous les délais d'appel (ou, si un appel est interjeté, jusqu'à ce qu'un jugement définitif ait été rendu dans cet appel) [article 13(1) du Règlement].

En cas de problème concernant la qualité, la lisibilité ou l'authenticité de la copie électronique du document, le registraire peut demander que la version originale papier lui soit fournie [article 13(2) du Règlement].

II.7.c Numérotation des pages

Un numéro de page doit figurer sur chacune des pages d'un document. Un seul système de numérotation continue et lisible doit être appliqué dans les documents comportant des « onglets » destinés à faciliter leur consultation (p. ex. des pièces), soit :

  1. dans l'ensemble du document; soit
  2. dans le document principal, en utilisant également un système de pagination distinct précédé d'une lettre ou d'un chiffre pour chaque document connexe (p. ex. A-1 à A-7, B-1 à B-10, etc.), accompagné d'un index.

Dans le cas de documents numérisés à partir d'une copie papier, le registraire acceptera les documents dans lesquels les pièces ont été mises en signet.

II.7.d Le fichier électronique soumis tient lieu de preuve

Les fichiers présentés au registraire par voie électronique ne doivent pas être « modifiables », c'est-à-dire qu'il doit être impossible de les modifier ou de les manipuler. Il convient de souligner que le fichier précis transmis au moyen des services électroniques de la COMC sera celui que le registraire considérera comme la preuve ayant été présentée. Veuillez vous assurer que le fichier que vous présentez est exactement tel que vous souhaitez qu'il soit.

haut de la page

III. Signification d'éléments de preuve par moyen électronique

La signification de la preuve dans le contexte d'une procédure d'opposition, d'objection ou en vertu de l'article 45 peut être faite par tout mode dont conviennent les parties, y compris par des moyens électroniques comme les services électroniques de COMC [articles 46(1)e) et 71(1)e) du Règlement]. Cette possibilité est offerte, peu importe que la partie visée par la signification ait une adresse au Canada ou non.

III.1 Consentement

La signification de la preuve peut être effectuée par moyen électronique, dans la mesure où la partie visée par la signification a donné son consentement [articles 46(1)e) et 71(1)e) du Règlement].

III.2 Moyens électroniques acceptables

Tous les moyens électroniques sont acceptés du moment que la partie visée par la signification a consenti à l'utilisation du moyen utilisé.

III.3 Date de prise d'effet de la signification

Les documents signifiés par voie électronique sont réputés avoir été signifiés le jour où ils ont été transmis [articles 46(6) et 71(6) du Règlement]. Le jour de la transmission est déterminé en fonction de la date et de l'heure auxquelles la partie qui procède à la signification transmet les documents. À titre d'exemple, un document envoyé de Vancouver à 23 h (heure du Pacifique) le 31 mars reçu à 3 h (heure de l'Atlantique) le 1er avril, est réputé avoir été signifié à Halifax le 31 mars.

III.4 Avis au registraire

La partie qui procède à la signification doit aviser le registraire du mode utilisé pour la signification et de la date de prise d'effet de la signification [articles 46(8) et 71(8) du Règlement].

Lorsque la signification a été faite par moyen électronique, l'avis au registraire doit clairement indiquer le mode de signification (p. ex. au moyen des services électroniques de COMC ou par courriel) et indiquer que la partie visée par la signification a consenti à ce mode de signification. En l'absence d'un consentement clairement indiqué dans l'avis, le registraire présumera que la partie visée par la signification a accepté que la signification soit faite de cette façon, à moins d'avis contraire.

III.4.a Preuve de signification

Si le registraire demande qu'une preuve de signification lui soit fournie, la partie disposera d'un délai d'un mois pour fournir cette preuve, à défaut de quoi le document sera réputé ne pas avoir été signifié [articles 46(9) et 71(9) du Règlement]. Le registraire considérera ce qui suit comme une preuve de signification :

III.4.b Significations non conformes

D'autres types de signification peuvent également être valides si le registraire détermine que le document a bien été remis à la partie visée par la signification et qu'il en informe les parties [articles 46(10) et 71(10) du Règlement]. Dans de tels cas, la date de prise d'effet de la signification sera la date à laquelle le document a été remis à la partie visée par la signification.

Veuillez consulter Pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce pour de plus amples renseignements.

haut de la page

IV. Difficultés techniques

IV.1 Lorsque vous soumettez des éléments de preuve au moyen des services électroniques de la COMC

Si les parties éprouvent des difficultés techniques au moment de la présentation d'éléments de preuve au registraire au moyen des services électroniques de COMC, il leur incombe de veiller à ce que la preuve, ainsi que tout document à l'appui, soit expédiée au registraire avant l'expiration du délai alloué à cette fin.

Veuillez consulter Pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce et Pratique concernant la procédure de radiation prévue à l'article 45 pour en savoir plus sur la procédure à suivre pour demander une prolongation de délai.

Les parties peuvent informer la COMC de tout problème technique en cliquant sur le lien « Signaler un problème », situé sur la page d'accueil des services électroniques de COMC, ou en envoyant un courriel à la COMC à ic.cipotmobrec@canada.ca.

IV.2 Lorsque vous procédez à la signification d'éléments de preuve par moyens électroniques

Les parties demeurent responsables de s'assurer qu'il y a une signification adéquate, comme c'est le cas pour la signification non électronique.

IV.3 Prévoir à l'avance

Des difficultés technologiques imprévues peuvent survenir. Afin d'éviter tout problème de dernière minute qui pourrait survenir, il est recommandé de prévoir à l'avance l'utilisation des services électroniques de COMC. Les délais de dépôt et de signification devraient être gardés à l'esprit et suffisamment de temps devrait être accordé pour régler les problèmes éventuels.

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de fournir une orientation sur la pratique de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et l'interprétation de la législation pertinente. En cas d'incompatibilité entre cet énoncé et la législation applicable, la législation doit prévaloir. Les dispositions du présent énoncé de pratique sont seulement un guide général, elles n'ont force obligatoire dans aucun cas particulier et sont sujettes à changement.

Date de modification :