All eyes on the Patent Law Treaty — April 2019

View as PDF (PDF: 2.56 MB; 1 page)

This monthly update aims to provide you with the latest news on the implementation of the new Patent Rules leading to the accession to the Patent Law Treaty (PLT) with the goal of helping you prepare for upcoming changes.

The Patent Office is continuing to work on its preparations toward the new Patent Rules. We anticipate the coming into force of the new Patent Rules to be in the fall of 2019.

Working toward the accession: Computer systems testing

We are mid-way through testing our computer systems that have been re-programmed in anticipation of our updated business processes for implementation of the PLT. The testing started several months ago and will continue up until close to the coming into force. The information technology (IT) group is performing testing in collaboration with employees of the Patent Branch. The group uses the feedback and "bugs" identified through testing to continue optimizing our systems. This key activity is one of many activities the Patent Branch is doing to ensure the PLT is implemented successfully and that we continue to deliver quality services after the coming into force of the PLT.

Theme of the month: Request for extension of time

The Commissioner will continue to have the authority to extend time limits for certain actions under the Patent Rules. The associated practice will be aligned with those of trademarks and industrial designs. Applicants will need to:

The request will be assessed for compliance with the administrative requirements and, if the Commissioner considers that the circumstances justify the extension, an extension of time of up to six months per file and per action generally will be granted. The applicant will be notified by letter of the Commissioner's decision regarding any request for an extension of time.

Examples of actions that will be eligible for an extension of time:

Subsequent requests for an extension of time for the same action on the same file would only be considered under exceptional circumstances. Examples of exceptional circumstances that could justify a further extension of time:

For more information regarding this topic, please consult the Time web page, a draft topic as part of the Manual of Patent Office Practice public consultation.

Did you know?

In the 19th century, few Canadian women acquired patents and most of those patents typically related to household appliances or fashion. However, there are exceptions such as the improvement to a druggist's (pharmacist's) sieve, for which Eliza Scott obtained protection on with the Canadian patent 22,094.

Questions or comments?

If you have questions, comments or suggestions on the content of this monthly update, feel free to contact us at ic.cipo-consultations-opic.ic@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Les yeux tournés vers le Traité sur le droit des brevets — avril 2019

Afficher en PDF (PDF : 2,56 Mo; 1 page)

Cette mise à jour mensuelle a pour but de vous présenter les dernières nouvelles concernant la mise en œuvre des nouvelles Règles sur les brevets menant à la ratification du Traité sur le droit des brevets (PLT) afin de vous aider à vous préparer aux changements à venir.

Le Bureau des brevets continue ses préparatifs en vue de l'entrée en vigueur des nouvelles Règles sur les brevets. Nous anticipons l'entrée en vigueur des nouvelles Règles sur les brevets à l'automne 2019.

Préparation à l'adhésion : essais des systèmes informatiques

Nous sommes en plein cœur des essais pour vérifier la reprogrammation de nos outils informatiques en prévision de la mise à jour de nos processus d'affaires en vue de la mise en œuvre du PLT. Les essais sont en cours depuis plusieurs mois et se poursuivront jusqu'avant l'entrée en vigueur des nouvelles Règles. Les essais sont effectués par l'équipe de technologie de l'information (TI), avec la collaboration d'employés de la Direction des brevets. L'équipe se sert de la rétroaction reçue et des difficultés rencontrées pour continuer d'optimiser nos systèmes. Il s'agit d'une des nombreuses activités clés menées par la Direction des brevets pour réussir la mise en œuvre du PLT et continuer à offrir un service de qualité après son entrée en vigueur.

Thème du mois : demande de prorogation des délais

Le commissaire continuera d'avoir le pouvoir de proroger le délai de certaines mesures aux termes des Règles sur les brevets. La pratique connexe sera alignée sur celles des marques de commerce et des dessins industriels. Les demandeurs devront :

La demande sera examinée, et si les conditions administratives sont respectées et que le commissaire est convaincu que les circonstances justifient la prorogation, en général une prorogation de délai d'un maximum de six mois par dossier et par mesure sera accordée. Le demandeur recevra une lettre l'informant de la décision du commissaire à l'égard de toute demande de prorogation de délai.

Exemples de mesures qui seront admissibles à une prorogation de délai :

Les demandes de prorogation de délai subséquentes visant la même mesure dans le même dossier seront prises en considération seulement dans des circonstances exceptionnelles. Exemples de circonstances exceptionnelles qui justifient une nouvelle prorogation de délai :

Pour plus de renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez consulter la page Web intitulée Temps, un des sujets provisoiresde la consultation publique en lien avec le Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets.

Le saviez-vous?

Au 19e siècle, peu de Canadiennes se procuraient des brevets, et la plupart de ces brevets étaient liés aux électroménagers ou à la mode. Il y a toutefois eu des exceptions, comme Eliza Scott, qui a obtenu le brevet canadien 22 094 le en vue de protéger une amélioration à un tamis de pharmacien (« couloire de droguiste ») .

Questions ou commentaires?

Si vous avez des questions, des commentaires ou des suggestions sur le contenu de cette mise à jour mensuelle, veuillez communiquer avec nous à ic.cipo-consultations-opic.ic@canada.ca.

Date de modification :