List of Trademark Agents

Publication date:

Amendment date: June 17, 2019

This practice notice provides guidance on adding firms to the list of trademark agents that is kept under section 28 of the Trademarks Act.

Section 28 of the Trademarks Act provides that the list of trademark agents shall include the names of all persons and firms entitled to represent applicants and others, including the registered owner of a trademark and parties to the proceedings under sections 38 and 45, in all business before the Office of the Registrar of Trademarks. Paragraph 19(c) of the Trademarks Regulations stipulates that the Registrar shall, on written request and payment of the fee set out in item 3 of the schedule, enter on the list of trademark agents the name of each firm with at least one member who has their name entered on the list as a trademark agent.

Trademark legislation provides that firms may act as agents before the Office as long as the name of one of their members is entered on the list of agents. The Office considers that a firm may be entered on the list of trademark agents, and is entitled to act as agent before the Office, regardless of the firm's underlying corporate or business structure.

Therefore, the Office will enter the name of any firm, including partnerships, limited partnerships and professional corporations, that otherwise meet the requirements set out in the trademark legislation.

Related information

List of Trademark Agents

Date modified:

Liste des agents de marques de commerce

Date de publication :

Date de modification : 17 juin 2019

Cet énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser la pratique relative à l'ajout d'études à la liste des agents de marques de commerce tenue en vertu de l'article 28 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce.

L'article 28 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce prévoit que la liste des agents de marques de commerce comporte les noms des personnes et études habilitées à représenter les requérants, les propriétaires inscrits d'une marque de commerce, les parties aux procédures visées aux articles 38 et 45 et tout autre personne dans toute affaire devant le bureau du registraire des marques de commerce. Aux termes de l'alinéa 19c) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, le registraire, sur demande écrite et sur paiement du droit prévu à l'article 3 de l'annexe, inscrit sur la liste des agents de marques de commerce le nom de toute étude dont au moins un membre est inscrit sur la liste à titre d'agent de marques de commerce.

La législation sur les marques de commerce prévoit que des études peuvent agir en tant qu'agents auprès du Bureau, à condition que le nom de l'un de leurs membres soit inscrit sur la liste des agents. Le Bureau considère qu'une étude peut être inscrite sur la liste des agents de marques de commerce et avoir le droit d'agir comme agent devant le Bureau peu importe la structure corporative ou organisationnelle de l'étude.

En conséquence, le Bureau inscrira le nom de toute étude, y compris les partenariats, les sociétés en commandite, et les corporations professionnelles qui satisfont aux exigences de la législation sur les marques de commerce.

Information connexe

Liste des agents de marques de commerce

Date de modification :