Transfers and Change of Name

Publication Date: December 5, 2001

Amendment date: June 17, 2019

This practice notice is intended to clarify the practice of the Trademarks Office with respect to transfers of trademark(s) resulting in a change in ownership and on changes in the name of an applicant or registered owner.

Transfers

If a transfer of an application for the registration of a trademark or a registered trademark is requested by the applicant or registered owner, the transfer will be recorded or registered upon the receipt of:

  1. the prescribed fee as listed in item 8 or 12 of the Schedule of the Trademark Regulations; and
  2. the transferee' name and postal address

If a transfer of an application for the registration of a trademark or a registered trademark is requested by the transferee, the transfer will be recorded or registered upon the receipt of:

  1. the prescribed fee as listed in item 8 or 12 of the Schedule of the Trademark Regulations;
  2. the transferee' name and postal address; and
  3. evidence satisfactory to the Registrar of Trademarks of the transfer

There is no requirement to provide the Trademarks Office with the original of any document that is provided as evidence of a transfer; the Office will accept copies of documents or of relevant excerpts from transfer documents.

Subsection 25(3) of the Trademarks Regulations provides that if an applicant or registered owner has appointed a trademark agent, the applicant may represent themselves for the purpose of:

(e) making a request or providing evidence [of a transfer] under section 48 of the Act.

In view of subsection 25(4) of the Regulations, the applicant or registered owner can be represented by another person (whether or not that person is a trademark agent), that they have authorized, to do the act listed above.

For each request initiated by the transferor (current applicant or registered owner), the authorized person must file proof or evidence that they are in fact authorized to act on behalf of the transferor for this purpose. Proof or evidence of authorization could, for example, take the form of a power of attorney or letter signed by the applicant or the registered owner.

Change of Name

In accordance with paragraph 41(1)(a) of the Trademarks Act, the Office will amend the register to reflect a change in the name of the registered owner upon receipt of a written request.

In accordance with subsection 35(1) of the Trademarks Regulations, the Office will amend an application for the registration of a trademark to reflect a change of name of the applicant upon receipt of a written request.

In both cases, the amendment will be acceptable so long as the identity of the applicant has not changed.

As a general rule, there is no requirement to provide the Office with evidence of a change of name. If the name change is a result of a merger/amalgamation or a change in corporate status, the Office will require some evidence that shows the circumstances in which the name changed (e.g. certificate of merger/amalgamation).

If the change of name is a result of a transfer, please see the transfer requirements listed above.

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on the Canadian Intellectual Property Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed. The provisions of this practice notice are general guidelines only, are not binding in any particular case and are subject to change.

Date modified:

Transferts et changements de nom

Date de publication : 5 décembre 2001

Date de modification : 17 juin 2019

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser la pratique du Bureau des marques de commerce en ce qui concerne les transferts de marque(s) de commerce résultant d'un changement de propriété et d'un changement du nom d'un requérant ou d'un propriétaire inscrit.

Transferts

Lorsqu'un transfert d'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce ou d'une marque de commerce déposée est demandé par le requérant ou le propriétaire inscrit, le transfert est inscrit suivant la réception :

  1. des droits prescrits indiqués à l'article 8 ou 12 de l'annexe Tarif des droits du Règlement sur les marques de commerce; et
  2. du nom et de l'adresse postale du cessionnaire.

Lorsqu'un transfert d'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce ou d'une marque de commerce déposée est demandé par le cessionnaire, le transfert est inscrit suivant la réception :

  1. des droits prescrits indiqués à l'article 8 ou 12 de l'annexe Tarif des droits du Règlement sur les marques de commerce;
  2. du nom et de l'adresse postale du cessionnaire; et
  3. d'une preuve de transfert au registraire des marques de commerce qu'il juge satisfaisante.

Il n'est pas nécessaire de fournir au Bureau des marques de commerce l'original d'un document utilisé comme preuve du transfert; le Bureau accepte les copies de documents ou d'extraits pertinents de documents de transfert.

Le paragraphe 25(3) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce prévoit que lorsqu'un requérant ou propriétaire inscrit a nommé un agent de marques de commerce, le requérant peut se représenter lui-même dans le but de :

e) la présentation d'une demande ou la fourniture d'une preuve [de transfert] au titre de l'article 48 de la Loi.

Compte tenu du paragraphe 25(4) du Règlement, le requérant ou propriétaire inscrit peut être représenté par une autre personne (qu'il s'agisse d'un agent de marques de commerce ou non), qu'il a autorisée, pour prendre les mesures indiquées ci-dessus.

Pour chaque demande initiée par le cédant (le requérant ou propriétaire inscrit actuel), la personne autorisée doit fournir une preuve établissant qu'elle est effectivement autorisée à agir au nom du cédant à cet égard. Une preuve d'autorisation peut, par exemple, prendre la forme d'une procuration ou d'une lettre signée par le requérant ou le propriétaire inscrit.

Changement de nom

Conformément à l'alinéa 41(1)a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, le Bureau modifie le registre afin de refléter un changement de nom du propriétaire inscrit suivant la réception d'une demande écrite.

Conformément au paragraphe 35(1) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, le Bureau modifie une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce pour refléter un changement du nom du requérant suivant la réception d'une demande écrite.

Dans les deux cas, la modification est acceptable dans la mesure où l'identité du requérant n'a pas changé.

De manière générale, il n'est pas nécessaire de fournir au Bureau la preuve d'un changement de nom. Lorsque le changement de nom résulte d'une fusion/d'un regroupement ou d'un changement de statut de l'entreprise, le Bureau exige une forme de preuve démontrant dans quelles circonstances le changement de nom s'est opéré (p. ex. un certificat de fusion ou de regroupement).

Lorsque le changement de nom résulte d'un transfert, veuillez vous référer aux exigences de transferts indiquées ci-dessus.

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de fournir une orientation quant à la pratique de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et à son interprétation de la législation pertinente. Toutefois, en cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent énoncé et la législation applicable, la législation doit prévaloir. Les dispositions du présent énoncé de pratique constituent seulement des lignes directrices générales, elles n'ont force obligatoire dans aucun cas particulier et sont sujettes à changement.

Date de modification :