Language selection

Search

2018 Trade-marks Agent Qualifying Examination – Examining Board Chair's Report

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Overview

In accordance with section 20 of the Trade-marks Regulations, the Trade-marks Agent Qualifying Examination is administered at least once a year.

The Patent Appeal Board (Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO)) provides administrative and logistical support for the examination, which includes ensuring that candidates for the examination have submitted the information required by section 18 of the Trade-marks Regulations and notifying candidates as to whether or not they have met the requirements for writing the exam. CIPO also makes the arrangements for the examination venues and administrators for each location and it communicates results of the exam to candidates.

The Examining Board is established for the purpose of preparing, administering and marking the examination. Members of the Examining Board are appointed for periods of up to 3 years. The Chair of the Examining Board is the Chair of the Patent Appeal Board at CIPO.

The 2018 Examining Board consisted of a Chair and 6 board members of which 2 were employees of CIPO and 4 were nominated by the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada (IPIC).

The qualifying examination consists of 2 papers. Part A focuses primarily on pre-advertisement issues and Part B focuses primarily on post-advertisement issues. To be eligible for inclusion on the register of the Trade-mark agents, a candidate must obtain at least 65% of the marks for each part of the exam. This year, on Part A, the candidates had to obtain at least 104 on 160 and on Part B, the candidates had to obtain at least 97 on 150. Part B of the examination is not marked unless the candidate obtains at least 65% on Part A.

Preparation of the Examination

Prior to the preparation of the examination, a meeting of the Trade-mark Agent Examination Board was held in May 2018 to discuss the administration of the 2017 Exam and discuss best practices for the administration of the 2018 Exam. The Board reviews the development and administration of the Trade-mark Agent Qualifying Examination in order to maintain recognized standards for certification.

The Examining Board prepares 2 examination papers along with 2 marking grids. These documents are translated to allow candidates to write the exam in their official language of choice. The translated documents are reviewed to ensure accuracy, recognizing that linguistic differences may exist between the English and French versions due to the technical content and the specialized nature of the subject matter of each paper. Any such differences are taken into account in the marking grids. The Examining Board members evaluate the papers using a bilingual marking grid.

Statistics

The 2018 Trade-marks Agent Examination was administered on November 27, 2018 in 11 locations across Canada, namely: Vancouver, Edmonton, Calgary, Winnipeg, Thunder Bay, Sault Sainte-Marie, Charlottetown, Toronto, Gatineau, Montréal and Québec.

A total of 98 candidates wrote Part A and Part B and 51 candidates out of 98 were writing the Exam for the first time.

Candidates were informed of their marks by early March 2019. Candidates who requested their examination material received them at the end of March 2019. Candidates had until April 29, 2019 to request a review of their marks.

Of the 98 candidates, 25 candidates passed both parts at the first marking. The Examining Board considered requests for review from 10 candidates for Part A and 13 candidates for Part B, for a total of 23 requests for review. After revision, 1 additional candidate passed Part A resulting in the marking of 1 additional Part B. The review allowed 7 additional candidates to obtain the overall pass mark, bringing the total number of passing candidates from 25 up to 32.

32 candidates passed the exam: 13 passed on their first sitting; 15 on the second; 1 on the third; 2 on the fourth; and 1 on the fifth sitting.

The 2018 Trade-marks Agent Qualifying Examination passing rate is 33%. The passing rate is 25% for the candidates writing for the first time (13 out of 51).

The highest mark obtained is 154 on 160 for Part A and 142 on 150 for Part B. The highest overall mark is 296 on 310.

Passing Rates 2013-2018
Years Exams written Exams passed Passing rate
2013 67 16 24%
2014 65 15 23%
2015 72 21 29%
2016 91 23 26%
2017 121 28 23%
2018 98 32 33%
2018 Trade-marks Agent Examination – Part A marks distribution (98 Exams marked)
Total 160 marks – Passing mark 104
Mark range Number of candidates
45-59 2
60-74 3
75-89 14
90-103 34
104-118 30
119-133 13
134-148 1
149-162 1
2018 Trade-marks Agent Examination – Part B marks distribution (45 Exams marked)
Total 150 marks – Passing mark 97
Mark range Number of candidates
70-80 3
81-91 5
92-96 5
97-107 22
108-118 8
119-129 1
130-145 1

Conclusion

I extend my thanks to all members of the Examining Board for their hard work and dedication in ensuring that the Trade-marks Agent Qualifying Examination continues to be administered fairly and impartially, thus providing the public with the assurance that trade-marks agents are entered on the register only after having passed a rigorous process and are well qualified to assist them in the protection of their intellectual property.

Suzie Beaulieu
Acting Chair, Examining Board
Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Date modified:

Examen de compétence des agents de marques de commerce 2018 - Rapport de la Présidente de la Commission d'examen

Aperçu

Conformément à l'article 20 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, l'examen de compétence des agents de marques de commerce est administré au moins une fois par année.

La Commission d'appel des brevets (Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC)) fournit un soutien administratif et logistique à l'égard de l'examen en s'assurant notamment que les candidats qui se présentent à l'examen ont soumis les renseignements exigés à l'article 18 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce et en informant ces candidats s'ils ont satisfait aux exigences pour se présenter à l'examen. La Commission réserve des locaux pour la tenue de l'examen et retient des personnes chargées de l'administrer. Elle communique également les résultats des examens aux candidats.

La Commission d'examen est formée pour préparer, tenir et corriger l'examen. Les membres de la Commission d'examen sont nommés pour une période maximale de 3 ans. La présidence de la Commission d'examen est assurée par la présidente de la Commission d'appel des brevets de l'OPIC.

En 2018, la Commission d'examen était formée d'une présidente et de 6 membres, dont 2 membres employés de l'OPIC et 4 membres nommés par l'Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (IPIC).

L'examen de compétence comprend 2 parties. La partie A traite principalement de situations qui peuvent survenir avant la publication et la partie B traite principalement de situations qui peuvent survenir après. Pour que son nom soit inscrit au registre des agents de marques de commerce, un candidat doit obtenir au moins 65 % des points dans chaque partie de l'examen. Cette année, dans la partie A, les candidats devaient obtenir au moins 104 sur 160 et, dans la partie B, les candidats devaient obtenir au moins 97 sur 150. La partie B de l'examen d'un candidat n'est corrigée que si celui-ci obtient au moins 65 % dans la partie A.

Préparation de l'examen

Préalablement à la préparation de l'examen, une réunion des membres de la Commission d'examen a eu lieu en mai 2018 afin de discuter de la tenue de l'examen de 2017 et des pratiques exemplaires pour la tenue de l'examen de 2018. La Commission passe en revue l'élaboration et la tenue de l'examen de compétence des agents de marques de commerce afin de maintenir des normes reconnues en matière d'accréditation.

La Commission d'examen prépare les 2 épreuves de l'examen conjointement avec 2 grilles de notation. Ces documents sont traduits afin que les candidats aient la possibilité de passer l'examen dans la langue officielle de leur choix. L'exactitude des documents traduits est vérifiée, en tenant compte du fait que le contenu technique des épreuves et la nature spécialisée des sujets traités peuvent donner lieu à des différences linguistiques entre la version anglaise et la version française. Ces différences, le cas échéant, sont prises en considération dans les grilles de notation. Les membres de la Commission d'examen corrigent les épreuves à l'aide de la grille de notation bilingue.

Statistiques

L'examen de compétence au titre d'agent de marques de commerce de 2018 a eu lieu le 27 novembre 2018 dans 11 villes du Canada, à savoir : Vancouver, Edmonton, Calgary, Winnipeg, Thunder Bay, Sault Sainte-Marie, Charlottetown, Toronto, Gatineau, Montréal et Québec.

Un total de 98 candidats se sont soumis à la partie A et à la partie B de l'examen. Sur ces 98 candidats, 51 candidats faisaient l'examen pour la première fois.

Les candidats ont été informés de leur(s) note(s) au plus tard au début mars 2019. À la fin mars 2019, les candidats qui ont demandés leur matériel d'examen ont reçu une copie. Ils avaient jusqu'au 29 avril 2019 pour demander une révision de leur(s) note(s).

Des 98 candidats, 25 candidats ont obtenu la note de passage dans les 2 parties lors de la correction initiale. La Commission d'examen a étudié les demandes de révision de 10 candidats pour la partie A et de 13 candidats pour la partie B, soit un total de 23 demandes de révision. Après la révision, 1 candidat additionnel a obtenu la note de passage dans la partie A, ce qui a entraîné la correction de 1 partie B supplémentaire. La révision a permis à 7 candidats additionnels d'obtenir la note de passage globale, faisant passer le nombre total de réussite de 25 à 32.

32 candidats ont réussi l'examen : 13 l'ont réussi à leur premier essai; 15 après une deuxième tentative; 1 après une troisième tentative; 2 après une quatrième tentative; et 1 après cinq tentatives.

Le taux de réussite à l'examen de compétence des agents de marques de commerce de 2018 est de 33 %. Le taux de réussite des candidats qui ont fait l'examen pour la première fois est de 25 % (13 sur 51).

La note la plus élevée obtenue est de 154 sur 160 pour la partie A et de 142 sur 150 pour la partie B. La note globale la plus élevée est de 296 sur 310.

Taux de réussite de 2013 à 2018
Année Nombre d'examen administrés Nombre d'examen réussis Taux de réussite
2013 67 16 24%
2014 65 15 23%
2015 72 21 29%
2016 91 23 26%
2017 121 28 23%
2018 98 32 33%
Examen de compétence des agents de marques de commerce 2018 — Distribution des notes dans la partie A (98 examens corrigés)
160 points au total — Note de passage 104
Nombre de points Nombre de candidats
45-59 2
60-74 3
75-89 14
90-103 34
104-118 30
119-133 13
134-148 1
149-162 1
Examen de compétence des agents de marques de commerce 2018 — Distribution des notes dans la partie B (45 examens corrigés)
150 points au total — Note de passage 97
Nombre de points Nombre de candidats
70-80 3
81-91 5
92-96 5
97-107 22
108-118 8
119-129 1
130-145 1

Conclusion

Je remercie tous les membres de la Commission d'examen pour leur travail soutenu et leur volonté de veiller à ce que l'examen de compétence des agents de marques de commerce continue d'être administré de façon équitable et impartiale afin de donner aux membres du public l'assurance que les agents de marques de commerce sont inscrits au registre uniquement après avoir franchi un processus rigoureux et qu'ils sont pleinement qualifiés pour les aider à protéger leur propriété intellectuelle.

Suzie Beaulieu
Présidente intérimaire, Commission d'examen
Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Date de modification :