Language selection

Search

IP roadmap – Geographical indications in Canada

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Alternative formats

Download the IP roadmap – Geographical indications in Canada (PDF, 6.5 KB 1 page)

Copy of this publication

To obtain a copy of this publication, or to receive it in an alternate format (Braille, large print, etc.), please fill out the Publication Request form or contact:

ISED Citizen Services Centre
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0H5
Canada

Telephone (toll-free in Canada): 1‑800‑328‑6189
Telephone (international): 613‑954‑5031
TTY (for hearing impaired): 1‑866‑694‑8389
Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)
Email: ISED@Canada.ca

Geographical indications in Canada

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is responsible for processing requests for the protection of geographical indications (GIs) and ensuring that they are entered on the list of protected GIs maintained by the Registrar. A geographical indication can identify a wine or spirit, or an agricultural product or food of a category set out in the Trademarks Act.

  1. Request

    A request may be submitted to CIPO to have a GI entered on the list of protected GIs in Canada for wines, spirits or agricultural products and food (for example, cheeses or fresh frozen and processed meats).

    Requests and all supporting documentation must be submitted in writing and be in either English or French (except for the GI itself). A separate request must be made for each GI, accompanied by the prescribed fee.

    The responsible authority making the request may use the sample forms available on CIPO's website.

  2. Examination

    CIPO examines the request for compliance in cooperation with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. If an indication meets the criteria to be entered on the list of protected GIs, CIPO will recommend that the Minister publish a statement proposing to do so.

  3. Publication

    The GI is published on the CIPO website to notify third parties. Within 2 months after the publication of the statement, any interested party may, upon payment of the prescribed fee, file a statement of objection with the Registrar of Trademarks and serve a copy on the responsible authority.

  4. Objection

    If a third party objects, the procedure will go before the Trademarks Opposition Board.

  5. Listing

    The GI is entered on the list of protected GIs. The Registrar of Trademarks enters the indication on the list of GIs if a statement of objection has not been filed or if a statement of objection has been filed but has been withdrawn or rejected.

  6. Term protection

    The term of protection is unlimited.

For more information on GIs, visit CIPO's trademarks web page or contact our Client Service Centre at 1-866-997-1936.

Resources


Permission to reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Department of Industry, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that the Department of Industry is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, or as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, the Department of Industry.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial purposes, please fill out the Application for Crown Copyright Clearance or contact the ISED Citizen Services Centre mentioned above.

Ⓒ Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Industry,

2021

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Feuille de route de la PI – indications géographiques au Canada.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Feuille de route de la PI – indications géographiques au Canada

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Formats substituts

Télécharger la Feuille de route de la PI – indications géographiques au Canada (PDF, 6,5Ko 1 page)

Exemplaire de cette publication

Pour obtenir un exemplaire de cette publication ou un format substitut (Braille, gros caractères), veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande de publication ou communiquer avec :

Centre de services aux citoyens d'ISDE
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Édifice C.D.-Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5
Canada

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1‑800‑328‑6189
Téléphone (international) : 613‑954‑5031
ATS (pour les personnes malentendantes) : 1‑866‑694‑8389
Les heures de bureau sont de 8 h 30 à 17 h (heure de l'Est).
Courriel : ISDE@Canada.ca

Indications géographiques au Canada

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) est responsable de traiter les demandes de protection des indications géographiques (IG) et de veiller à ce qu'elles soient inscrites à la liste des IG protégées maintenue par le registraire. Une indication géographique peut désigner un vin, un spiritueux, un produit agricole ou un aliment appartenant à une catégorie figurant dans la Loi sur les marques de commerce.

  1. Demande

    Une demande peut être soumise à l'OPIC afin qu'une IG soit inscrite à la liste des IG protégées au Canada. Il peut s'agir de vins, de spiritueux, de produits agricoles ou d'aliments (p. ex., des fromages ou des viandes fraîches, congelées et transformées).

    Les demandes et tous les documents à l'appui doivent être soumis par écrit, en français ou en anglais (à l'exception de l'IG en soi). Une demande séparée doit être présentée pour chaque IG et doit comprendre le paiement des frais prescrits.

    L'autorité compétente présentant la demande peut utiliser les exemples de formulaires disponibles sur le site Web de l'OPIC.

  2. Examen

    En collaboration avec Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, l'OPIC fait un examen de la demande pour s'assurer que les normes sont respectées. Si une indication remplit les critères nécessaires pour être inscrite à la liste des IG protégées, l'OPIC recommandera au ministre de publier un énoncé d'intention en ce sens.

  3. Publication

    L'IG est publiée sur le site Web de l'OPIC pour informer les tiers. Au cours des 2 mois suivant la publication de la déclaration, toute partie intéressée peut, une fois les frais prescrits payés, produire une déclaration d'opposition auprès du registraire des marques de commerce, auquel cas il lui faut en signifier une copie à l'autorité compétente.

  4. Opposition

    Si un tiers s'oppose, la procédure sera transférée à la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce.

  5. Inscription à la liste

    L'IG est inscrite à la liste des IG protégées. Le registraire des marques de commerce inscrit l'indication sur la liste des IG si aucune déclaration d'opposition n'a été déposée, ou si une déclaration d'opposition a été présentée mais retirée ou rejetée par la suite.

  6. Durée de la protection

    La protection a une durée illimitée.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet des IG, veuillez visiter la page Web de l'OPIC sur les marques de commerce ou communiquer avec notre centre de services à la clientèle au 1-866-997-1936.

Ressources


Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission du ministère de l'Industrie, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, que le ministère de l'Industrie soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec le ministère de l'Industrie ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez demander l'affranchissement du droit d'auteur de la Couronne ou communiquer avec le Centre de services aux citoyens d'ISDE aux coordonnées ci-dessus.

Ⓒ Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Industrie, 2021
N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Also available in English under the title IP roadmap – Geographical indications in Canada.

Date de modification :