Language selection

Search

Requests for expedited examination

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Publication date:

Trademark applications are generally examined according to the order in which they are received by the Registrar of Trademarks. There are no specific provisions in the Trademarks Act (the Act) or Trademarks Regulations (the Regulations) concerning expediting the examination of an application. Examining an application out of sequence creates a favored position at the expense of other applicants. As such, apart from the specific and temporary practice in view of the COVID pandemic, the Office of the Registrar of Trademarks (the Office) does not currently grant requests to examine trademark applications out of order.

However, in the context of the current wait times at the examination stage, effective immediately the Office will begin accepting requests for expedited examination of trademark applications.

Requirements to request expedited examination

The Office will accept requests for expedited examination in the form of an affidavit or statutory declaration, by a person having knowledge of the facts, setting out the specific circumstances and reasons for the request. The affidavit or statutory declaration must clearly set out how one or more of the following criteria are met:

  1. A court action is expected or underway in Canada with respect to the applicant's trademark in association with the goods or services listed in the application;
  2. The applicant is in the process of combating counterfeit products at the Canadian border with respect to the applicant's trademark in association with the goods or services listed in the application;
  3. The applicant requires registration of its trademark in order to protect its intellectual property rights from being severely disadvantaged on online marketplaces; or
  4. The applicant requires registration of its trademark in order to preserve its claim to priority within a defined deadline and following a request by a foreign intellectual property office. Note that in such cases the request will need to be attached to the affidavit or statutory declaration.

How to file a request

Requests must include the name of the applicant and, if known, the application number (for further information, please refer to the practice notice "Identifying an application"). In compliance with subsection 4(1) of the Regulations, a request for expedited examination must not relate to more than one application for the registration of a trademark. There is no fee associated with a request for expedited examination. Requests must be submitted by mail or fax using the contact information outlined below.

Request for expedited examination
c/o Deputy Director, Examination Division
Trademarks Office
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
50 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0C9
fax: 819-953-2476

After a request is submitted

If the request for expedited examination is accepted, the Office will examine the application as soon as possible. Where a trademark application receives expedited examination, it could lose this advantage if the applicant requests an extension of time or misses any deadline.

If the request for expedited examination is not accepted, the Office will send written correspondence to the applicant explaining why the request was denied.

Please note that all Canadian trademark applications are examined in accordance with the Act and Regulations with guidance from the Trademarks Examination Manual.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Requêtes d'accélération de l'examen

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Date de publication :

Les demandes d'enregistrement pour une marque de commerce sont généralement examinées dans l'ordre selon lequel elles ont été reçues par le registraire des marques de commerce. La Loi sur les marques de commerce (la Loi) et le Règlement sur les marques de commerce (le Règlement) ne renferment aucune disposition spécifique prévoyant l'accélération de l'examen d'une demande. L'examen d'une demande d'enregistrement hors séquence tend à privilégier un requérant au détriment de tous les autres. À ce titre, à l'exception de la pratique particulière et temporaire qui a été adoptée en raison de la pandémie de COVID, le Bureau du registraire des marques de commerce (le Bureau) n'accorde actuellement aucune requête pour l'examen d'une demande d'enregistrement de marque de commerce hors de l'ordre normal.

Toutefois, dans le contexte des délais d'attente actuels à l'examen, le Bureau commencera dès maintenant à accepter les requêtes d'accélération de l'examen des demandes d'enregistrement pour une marque de commerce.

Exigences relatives aux requêtes d'accélération de l'examen

Le Bureau acceptera les requêtes d'accélération de l'examen faites par voie d'affidavit ou de déclaration solennelle, par une personne qui a une connaissance des faits et qui précise les circonstances et les raisons qui justifient la requête. L'affidavit ou la déclaration solennelle doit indiquer, de façon claire, comment un ou plusieurs des critères suivants sont rencontrés :

  1. Une procédure judiciaire est attendue ou en cours au Canada en ce qui concerne la marque de commerce du requérant en liaison avec les produits ou services énumérés dans la demande d'enregistrement;
  2. Le requérant combat la contrefaçon de produits à la frontière canadienne en ce qui concerne la marque de commerce du requérant en liaison avec les produits ou services énumérés dans la demande d'enregistrement;
  3. Le requérant doit faire enregistrer sa marque de commerce afin d'empêcher que ses droits de propriété intellectuelle subissent de graves désavantages sur les marchés en ligne; ou
  4. Le requérant doit faire enregistrer sa marque de commerce afin de préserver sa revendication de priorité dans un délai défini et à la suite d'une demande à cet effet par un office de propriété intellectuelle étranger. Il est à noter que la requête devra être jointe à l'affidavit ou à la déclaration solennelle.

Comment présenter une requête

La requête indique le nom du requérant et, s'il est connu, le numéro de la demande d'enregistrement (pour plus de renseignements, veuillez vous référer à l'énoncé de pratique intitulé « Identification des demandes »). Conformément au paragraphe 4(1) du Règlement, une requête d'accélération de l'examen ne peut concerner plus d'une demande d'enregistrement ou plus d'une marque de commerce déposée. Il n'y a aucun droit à payer pour l'accélération de l'examen. Toute requête en ce sens doit être présentée par courrier ou par télécopieur aux coordonnées ci-dessous.

Requête d'accélération de l'examen
a/s Directeur(trice) adjoint(e), Division des examens
Bureau des marques de commerce
Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
50, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0C9
Par télécopieur au : 819-953-2476

Après avoir fait votre requête

Si la requête d'accélération de l'examen est acceptée, le bureau examinera la demande d'enregistrement dans les plus brefs délais. Bien qu'une demande d'enregistrement pour une marque de commerce bénéficie d'un examen accéléré, elle pourrait perdre cet avantage si le requérant demande une prolongation de délai ou s'il ne respecte pas une échéance quelconque.

Si la requête d'accélération de l'examen n'est pas acceptée, le bureau communiquera par écrit les raisons du refus.

Veuillez noter que toutes les demandes canadiennes d'enregistrement pour une marque de commerce sont examinées conformément à la Loi et le Règlement, en fonction des orientations prévues au Manuel d'examen des marques de commerce.

Date de modification :