Language selection

Search

Canadian IP Voices

Canadian IP Voices is a podcast series where we discuss tips, tricks and issues to help Canadian businesses grow and succeed, and explore the bigger picture of how trademarks, patents, copyrights, industrial designs and trade secrets work in real life. To receive new episodes as they become available, subscribe to the IP podcast through:

podcast main image
Spotify logoSpotify itunes logoApple Google podcasts logoGoogle
Episode 5: How to protect your videogames
episode 5

Date and length of podcast: November 24, 2021 30:42 min

Transcript link Download link

Lawyer and trademark agent Michael Shortt explains the IP rights and associated contracts that form the cornerstones in the videogaming industry and some of the related laws and rights that videogames should be aware of.

Explore online: Video and computer games industry blog posts and bulletins from Michael and colleagues. To learn more about videogame publishing contracts, you can watch Mr. Shortt's presentation on that topic.


Episode 4: How to jumpstart intellectual property protection in Canada's artificial intelligence ecosystem
episode 4

Date and length of podcast: October 29, 2021 16:02 min

Transcript link Download link

In this episode, Todd Bailey, Chief IP Officer at the Scale AI supercluster reflects on some of the challenges and solutions related to IP protection in Canada's AI (artificial intelligence) ecosystem (and it's not IP).

Explore online: Check out Todd's blog IP Without Jargon for some straight talk and steps for protecting IP.


Episode 3: How to stop counterfeit products at the border
episode 3

Date and length of podcast: October 29, 2021 12:16 min

Transcript link Download link

Becky Illson-Skinner, Senior Program Advisor and Program and Policy Lead for the Intellectual Property Rights Program at the Canadian Border Services Agency, explains how the Canadian Border Services Agency helps IP rights holders stop counterfeit products at the Canadian border.

Explore online: File a request for assistance (from the Canadian Border Services Agency)


Episode 2: Protect your IP in Amazon stores
episode 2

Date and length of podcast: October 29, 2021 17:49 min

Transcript link Download link

In this episode, we discuss the importance of using an IP agent and the strategies to ensure your IP is protected and monetized. In this episode, Mary Beth Westmoreland Amazon's VP of Brand Protection, talks about what Amazon does to protect sellers and their IP against bad actors online and what new sellers need to know before they start selling their products online on amazon.ca.

Explore online: Protect your IP in Amazon stores (from amazon.ca)


Episode 1: Why use an IP agent?
episode 1

Date and length of podcast: October 29, 2021 15:15 min

Transcript link Download link

Patent and Trademark Agent Louis Martineau explains what IP agents help their clients with and answers some of the most common questions he gets as he helps his clients file for IP protection.

Explore online: Meeting with an IP Professional (from Intellectual Property Institute of Canada)


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Voix de la PI canadienne

« Voix de la PI canadienne » est une série de balados où nous discutons de conseils, d'astuces et d'enjeux pour aider les entreprises canadiennes à se développer et à réussir. Nous découvrirons le fonctionnement des marques de commerce, des brevets, du droit d'auteur, des dessins industriels et des secrets commerciaux dans la vie de tous les jours. Abonnez-vous pour écouter les nouveaux épisodes dès qu'ils sont disponibles :

itunes logoSpotify itunes logoApple Google podcasts logoGoogle
Épisode 5 : Comment protéger vos jeux vidéo?
episode 4

Date et durée du balado : 24 novembre 2021 42 min 56

Lien vers la transcription Lien pour le téléchargement

Michael Shortt, avocat et agent de marques de commerce, parle des droits de PI et des contrats qui sont les piliers de l'industrie des jeux vidéo. Il nous apprend aussi ce qu'il faut connaître sur les lois et les droits en matière de jeux vidéo.

À explorer : Articles et bulletins de Michael et ses collègues à propos de l'industrie des jeux vidéo et des jeux sur ordinateur. Pour en savoir plus sur les contrats d'édition de jeux vidéo, visionnez la présentation sur le sujet de M. Shortt (en anglais seulement)


Épisode 4 : Comment donner un souffle nouveau à la protection de la propriété intellectuelle dans l'écosystème de l'intelligence artificielle au Canada?
episode 4

Date et durée du balado : 29 octobre 2021 16 min 02

Lien vers la transcription Lien pour le téléchargement

Dans cet épisode, Todd Bailey, vice-président de la propriété intellectuelle à la supergrappe Scale AI, réfléchit à certains défis et à des solutions liés à la protection de la PI dans l'écosystème canadien de l'intelligence artificielle (et ce n'est pas la PI comme telle qui est en cause).

À explorer : Visitez le blogue de Todd, « La PI sans jargon », pour des conseils en toute franchise sur la protection de la PI.


Épisode 3 : Comment empêcher l'entrée de produits contrefaits à la frontière?
episode 3

Date et durée du balado : 29 octobre 2021 12 min 16

Lien vers la transcription Lien pour le téléchargement

Becky Illson-Skinner, conseillère principale de programmes et responsable des programmes et politiques pour le Programme des droits de propriété intellectuelle à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), explique comment l'ASFC aide les titulaires de droits de PI à bloquer les produits contrefaits à la frontière canadienne.

À explorer : Déposez une demande d'aide (Agence des services frontaliers du Canada)


Épisode 2 : Protégez votre PI dans les boutiques Amazon
episode 2

Date et durée du balado : 29 octobre 2021 17 min 49

Lien vers la transcription Lien pour le téléchargement

Dans cet épisode, nous discutons de l'importance de faire appel à un agent de PI et des stratégies pour protéger et monnayer votre PI. Mary Beth Westmoreland, vice-présidente de la protection des marques à Amazon, parle de ce qu'Amazon fait pour protéger les vendeurs et leur PI contre les mauvais acteurs en ligne. Elle nous apprend aussi ce que les nouveaux vendeurs doivent savoir avant de commencer à vendre leurs produits sur amazon.ca.

À explorer : Protégez votre PI dans les boutiques Amazon (amazon.ca, en anglais seulement)


Épisode 1 : Pourquoi faire appel à un agent de PI?
episode 1

Date et durée du balado : 29 octobre 2021 15 min 15

Lien vers la transcription Lien pour le téléchargement

Louis Martineau, agent de brevets et de marques de commerce, explique comment les agents de PI aident leurs clients et répond aux questions qu'il reçoit le plus souvent lorsqu'il aide ses clients à déposer une demande de protection de PI.

À explorer : Rencontrer un professionnel de la PI (Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada)


Date de modification :