Language selection

Search

Birch Bark Coffee Company - Making a difference, one cup at a time

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Many people need a cup of coffee to start their day. For Mark Marsolais-Nahwegahbow, with his love of coffee, he decided to enter the coffee industry with a vision in mind. As an Ojibwe Whitefish River First Nations entrepreneur and a visionary, Mark founded Birch Bark Coffee Company (BBCC). A cause-driven coffee company, his innovative and inclusive business model allows BBCC to pay it forward to Indigenous communities in Canada and across the world while leveraging intellectual property (IP).

Mark Marsolais-Nahwegahbow, Founder of Birch Bark Coffee Company

With Mark's deep sense of gratitude for Indigenous communities and the dream to protect Mother Earth, he created a First Nations coffee company in Canada that aspires to become an international household name. As Mark says,"when I saw the water issues [in Indigenous communities], I knew that as an entrepreneur, instead of focusing on the problem, I had to come up with solutions. I wondered, as one person, how am I going to tackle such a nation-wide concern and issue? It all came down to being a visionary."

BBCC pays tribute to Indigenous peoples around the world through its sourcing, and it supports clean water infrastructure in First Nations communities in Canada while educating and raising awareness for their communities.

Birch Bark Coffee Company product in retail packaging and a glass jar with roasted coffee beans.

BBCC has multiple layers to its enterprise, as Mark calls it "the Indigenous Inclusion continuum business model" where he is proudly able to offer organic, fair trade, and Small Producer Symbol (SPP) certified products. SPP is a cooperative made of organic farmers and is recognized by Fairtrade Canada. BBCC is currently 1 of only 3 Canadian companies with this highly regarded designation. BBCC's model exclusively supports cooperative farmers who are of Indigenous descent and every single coffee bean is handpicked. The labeling and packaging of the products is supported by Flowercart, a non-profit organization that supports employment for those who cannot readily enter the workforce in Canada due to accessibility matters. As Mark says, "I wanted to make it simple. In my journey, whether you buy a cup or bag of coffee, you can help somebody and that's the image I wanted to create. I wanted to create the "feel good" for people… and I didn't look back."

After establishing BBCC's business model, Mark started to work with IP lawyers to build his IP strategy. Mark's vision for BBCC currently is to enter international markets and be on the same playing field as large coffee retailers. He first developed a local and national IP strategy in Canada while keeping his international goals in mind. BBCC leveraged IP protection by filing for a trademark of its name and logo. 

Prior to filing for formal trademark rights, Mark and his IP lawyers scanned Canadian trademark databases and went through a few iterations of the company's name and logo to ensure they did not infringe on existing IP rights before landing on the name "Birch Bark Coffee Company".

Birch Bark Coffee Company logo and slogan in a simple and minimalistic design.

The name "Birch Bark Coffee Company" and the logo come from the birch bark tree, which holds medicinal, harvesting and building significance in First Nations communities. They are also attached to Mark's own First Nations community, Birch Island in Ontario, in the district of Manitoulin Island.

Armed with trademarks, Mark is able to protect the brand's reputation, his years of hard work, and preserve his First Nations roots, which allow both trademarks to act as education and awareness tools for consumers about First Nations communities across Canada.

His national IP strategy allowed him to build his brand across Canada with BBCC's name and logo and understand the IP process before entering international markets. He was able to maximize the value of IP, which will in turn support his international growth, his initial business objectives and will create social impact in Indigenous communities.

BBCC was recently selected as 1 out of 10 businesses to discuss export opportunities in Australia with the help of the Canadian Council of Aboriginal Business. While leveraging the knowledge and expertise of IP lawyers, he is developing a detailed IP strategy for international expansion into Australia and other markets. To ensure he follows proper IP rules and regulations, he plans on expanding gradually by entering one region at a time. Mark is confident that he can maximize the benefits afforded by IP rights and keep his brand and company protected under this framework.

Thus Mark's advice to entrepreneurs is to take their time when understanding the international landscape IP rules and regulations. "I didn't want to move too fast… I want people to know that it can be done, to take your time, there's no rush," he says.There are a lot of moving pieces in an IP strategy and it is important to not hurry through each step of the trademark process.

Mark also recommends that businesses first understand their brand and create their IP strategy accordingly. He encourages consulting with the right team of lawyers and advisors in a safe environment as there are intricate details to be aware of, especially if a company wants to position itself and compete with bigger companies. "I never focused on the business as today... I focused on where BBCC is going to be, I focused on our vision," and he met with lawyers accordingly to get their strategic support and advice.

With his wisdom and vision, it's no wonder that Mark has succeeded in creating such a unique and successful Canadian brand.

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Birch Bark Coffee Company change la donne, une tasse à la fois

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Nombreux sont ceux qui ont besoin d'une tasse de café pour commencer la journée. Poussé par son amour du café, Mark Marsolais-Nahwegahbow a décidé de se lancer dans l'industrie du café avec une vision en tête. En tant qu'entrepreneur de la Première Nation ojibwée de Whitefish River et visionnaire, Mark a fondé Birch Bark Coffee Company (BBCC). Portée par sa mission, l'entreprise BBCC a un modèle commercial novateur et inclusif qui lui permet de redonner aux communautés autochtones du Canada et du monde entier tout en tirant parti de la propriété intellectuelle (PI).

Fondateur de Birch Bark Coffee Company
Mark Marsolais-Nahwegahbow,Fondateur de Birch Bark Coffee Company.

Avec un profond sentiment de gratitude envers les communautés autochtones et le rêve de protéger la Terre mère, Mark a créé une entreprise de café des Premières Nations au Canada qui aspire à devenir une marque mondiale. Mark a dit :« Lorsque j'ai vu les problèmes d'eau [dans les communautés autochtones], j'ai su qu'en tant qu'entrepreneur, je devais trouver des solutions au lieu de me concentrer sur les problèmes. Je me suis demandé comment, en tant qu'individu, je pouvais m'attaquer à un tel enjeu, à un tel problème à l'échelle nationale. Tout est question de vision. »

BBCC rend hommage aux peuples autochtones du monde entier par la sélection de ses fournisseurs, et soutient les infrastructures d'eau potable des communautés des Premières Nations au Canada tout en faisant de la sensibilisation.

Un produit de Birch Bark Coffee Company dans un emballage de consommation et un bocal de verre contenant des grains de café torréfiés.

L'entreprise BBCC comporte de multiples facettes. Mark parle d'un « modèle commercial de continuum d'inclusion autochtone », dans le cadre duquel il est fier de pouvoir proposer des produits biologiques, équitables et certifiés par le Symbole des producteurs paysans (SPP). SPP est une coopérative composée d'agriculteurs biologiques qui est reconnue par Fairtrade Canada. BBCC est actuellement l'une des 3 seules entreprises canadiennes à avoir obtenu cette désignation très prisée. Le modèle de BBCC soutient exclusivement les agriculteurs membres d'une coopérative qui sont d'origine autochtone, et chaque grain de café est cueilli à la main. L'étiquetage et l'emballage des produits sont pris en charge par Flowercart, une organisation à but non lucratif qui favorise l'emploi des personnes qui ne peuvent pas intégrer facilement le marché du travail au Canada pour des raisons d'accessibilité. Mark a expliqué : « Je voulais que ce soit simple. Dans mon parcours, que vous achetiez une tasse ou un sac de café, vous pouvez aider quelqu'un. C'est l'image que je voulais créer. Je voulais créer un sentiment de bien-être pour les gens... et je ne suis jamais revenu en arrière. »

Après avoir établi le modèle commercial de BBCC, Mark a commencé à travailler avec des avocats spécialisés en PI pour élaborer sa stratégie en la matière. La vision de Mark pour BBCC est actuellement de pénétrer les marchés mondiaux et d'occuper le même terrain que les grands détaillants de café. Il a d'abord élaboré une stratégie de PI à l'échelle locale et nationale au Canada, tout en gardant à l'esprit ses objectifs pour l'étranger. BBCC a décidé de tirer parti de la protection de la PI en déposant une demande de marque de commerce pour son nom et son logo.

Avant de déposer une demande officielle de droits de marque de commerce, Mark et ses avocats ont parcouru les bases de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes et ont analysé quelques versions du nom et du logo de l'entreprise, pour s'assurer qu'ils ne portaient pas atteinte à des droits de PI existants, avant de choisir le nom « Birch Bark Coffee Company ».

Logo et slogan de Birch Bark Coffee Company dans un concept simple et minimaliste.

Le nom « Birch Bark Coffee Company » et le logo proviennent du bouleau, qui a une importance dans les domaines de la médecine, de la récolte et de la construction pour les communautés des Premières Nations. Ils font également référence à la propre communauté des Premières Nations de Mark, Birch Island en Ontario, dans le district de l'île Manitoulin.

Grâce aux marques de commerce, Mark pourra protéger la réputation de sa marque et ses années de travail acharné, et préserver ses racines autochtones. Ainsi, les marques de commerce servent d'outils de sensibilisation des consommateurs aux communautés des Premières Nations du Canada.

Sa stratégie nationale en matière de PI lui a permis de créer sa marque partout au Canada avec le nom et le logo de BBCC ainsi que de comprendre le processus relatif à la PI avant de se lancer sur les marchés mondiaux. Mark a pu maximiser la valeur de la PI, qui soutiendra à son tour sa croissance à l'international et ses objectifs commerciaux initiaux, et aura des retombées sociales dans les communautés autochtones.

BBCC a récemment été sélectionné parmi 10 entreprises pour discuter de possibilités d'exportation en Australie avec l'aide du Conseil canadien pour l'entreprise autochtone. En tirant parti des connaissances et de l'expertise des avocats spécialisés en PI, Mark élabore actuellement une stratégie détaillée de PI en vue d'une expansion mondiale en Australie et dans d'autres marchés. Pour s'assurer qu'il respecte la réglementation en matière de PI, il prévoit s'étendre progressivement en pénétrant une région à la fois. Mark est convaincu qu'il peut maximiser les avantages offerts par les droits de PI et protéger sa marque et son entreprise dans ce cadre.

Le conseil de Mark aux entrepreneurs est donc de prendre leur temps pour comprendre la réglementation étrangère en matière de PI. « Je ne voulais pas aller trop vite... Je veux que les gens sachent que c'est possible, qu'il faut prendre son temps, qu'il n'y a pas d'urgence », précise-t-il. Une stratégie de PI comporte de nombreux éléments mobiles et il est important de ne pas se précipiter à chaque étape du processus d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce.

Mark recommande également aux entreprises de commencer par comprendre leur marque et de créer leur stratégie de PI en conséquence. Il encourage à consulter une bonne équipe d'avocats et de conseillers dans un environnement sûr, car il y a des détails complexes à connaître, surtout si l'entreprise veut se positionner et concurrencer de plus grandes entreprises. « Je ne me suis jamais concentré sur le quotidien de l'entreprise comme tel... Je me concentrais sur l'avenir de BBCC, sur notre vision. » Mark a rencontré des avocats pour obtenir leur soutien et leurs conseils stratégiques.

Avec sa sagesse et sa vision, il n'est pas étonnant que Mark ait réussi à créer une marque canadienne aussi unique et prospère.

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :