Language selection

Search

Influencer infringement: Protecting intellectual property online

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

In the eighth episode of Canadian IP Voices, the Canadian Intellectual Property Office's podcast series where we talk about intellectual property (IP), entertainment media lawyer Naomi Zener joins us to discuss how IP rights work to protect creators on social media. With billions of users worldwide, social media is used by almost everyone, yet very few understand how copyright and other IP protection functions in the online space. Naomi's interview sheds some light on how online content can be protected and clarifies some of the rules surrounding sharing posts and what copyright means for online creators.

To illustrate the points made in the podcast, let's follow the fictional example of Nathaniel Branson. Nathaniel is a fourth year university student studying geology and earth science. He is a social media influencer who creates content for Instagram, YouTube, Facebook and Snapchat. Nathaniel's pages on these social media platforms have a sizable following, with posts normally getting upwards of tens of thousands of views and likes. He is known online as "Nathaniel the Nomad' and posts vlogs, commentary videos and other content on his pages.

A man sitting at a desk with his laptop, looking at his phone while it receives many notifications

At heart, Nathaniel is a creator. As such, he recognises the importance of protecting his creations. He knows that his IP is protected by copyright the moment it's created, but also knows that being an online personality could create some IP dilemmas. Recently, a few of Nathaniel's vlogs went viral, and this presented some interesting IP protection situations.

Because this vlog went viral, many news channels wanted to show and discuss the video on their news programs. These companies reached out to Nathaniel before using any of his content because they knew that even though his content was posted to social media sites, that did not mean that it was in the public domain. These companies asked for Nathaniel's permission before sharing his work so that they would not infringe on his copyright.

Nathaniel also creates commentary videos, meaning he films himself reacting and commenting on other people's IP. Because of this, Nathaniel hired an entertainment media lawyer to review his content before he posts it online to check for infringement of copyright and advise on the legality of the content he is creating. He normally relies on criticism, review and parody exceptions to copyright laws to do so, but he makes sure to always get the assistance of his copyright lawyer before posting anything that might infringe on someone else's IP.

Nathaniel also holds a trademark for the name "Nathaniel the Nomad", and he sells merchandise like hats, sweaters and t-shirts with this trademark on display. Recently, though, Nathaniel found that a third-party website was selling merchandise displaying the Nathaniel the Nomad trademark and making huge profits off of his likeness. He knows that he never licenced out this trademark and is going to talk to his lawyer about how to handle the situation. Unfortunately, this is a somewhat common occurrence for online creators.

Nathaniel is happy that he lives in a country with strong IP protections for work posted online. Through his venture into being a social media content creator, he has learned that the public domain is actually a very specific term and not just anything widely accessible to the public. He also knows that his work is protected by copyright and, with the help of his entertainment media lawyer, that he can easily protect himself from improper use of his content.

To learn more about IP rights in Canada and how they apply to social media posts, listen to the Canadian IP Voices podcast with Naomi Zener.

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Influenceurs et méfaits : comment protéger la propriété intellectuelle en ligne

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Dans le huitième épisode de Voix de la PI canadienne, la série de balados de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada qui porte sur la propriété intellectuelle (PI), l'avocat et agent de marques de commerce François Larose se joint à nous pour parler des droits de PI entourant la protection des créateurs sur les médias sociaux. Avec des milliards d'utilisateurs dans le monde, les médias sociaux sont utilisés par presque tout le monde, mais très peu comprennent comment le droit d'auteur et les autres formes de protection de la PI fonctionnent dans le cyberespace. Notre discussion avec François fait la lumière sur la protection du contenu en ligne et clarifie certaines des règles entourant la diffusion de publications et ce que signifie le droit d'auteur pour les créateurs en ligne.

Un homme assis à un bureau avec son ordinateur portable, en train de regarder son téléphone qui a plusieurs notifications

Pour illustrer les points abordés dans le balado, penchons-nous sur l'exemple fictif de Nathaniel Branson. Nathaniel est un étudiant en quatrième année d'université qui étudie la géologie et les sciences de la terre. Il est aussi influenceur sur les médias sociaux et crée du contenu pour Instagram, YouTube, Facebook et Snapchat. Un grand nombre de personnes suivent les pages de Nathaniel sur ces plateformes, les publications étant généralement vues et aimées des dizaines de milliers de fois. Il est connu en ligne sous le nom de « Nathaniel le nomade » et publie des vlogues, des vidéos de commentaires et autre contenu sur ses pages.

Nathaniel est un créateur dans l'âme. C'est pourquoi il reconnaît l'importance de protéger ses créations. Il sait que le droit d'auteur protège sa PI dès la création, mais il sait aussi que le fait d'être une personnalité numérique pourrait entraîner certains dilemmes en matière de PI. Récemment, certains vlogues de Nathaniel sont devenus viraux, ce qui a donné lieu à des situations intéressantes en matière de protection de la PI.

De nombreuses chaînes d'information ont voulu présenter une de ces vidéos virales et en discuter dans leurs programmes de nouvelles. Ces sociétés ont communiqué avec Nathaniel avant d'utiliser son contenu, car elles savaient que même si ce dernier était publié sur les médias sociaux, cela ne signifiait pas qu'il faisait partie du domaine public. Ces sociétés ont demandé l'autorisation de Nathaniel avant de diffuser son travail afin de ne pas violer son droit d'auteur.

Nathaniel crée également des vidéos de commentaires, c'est-à-dire qu'il se filme en train de commenter la PI d'autrui. C'est pourquoi Nathaniel a embauché un avocat spécialisé en médias de divertissement pour examiner son contenu avant qu'il ne le mette en ligne. Il voulait vérifier qu'il ne commettait pas de violation de droit d'auteur et souhaitait se faire conseiller sur la légalité du contenu qu'il crée. Nathaniel s'appuie normalement sur les exceptions aux lois sur le droit d'auteur que sont la critique, le compte rendu et la parodie, mais il veille toujours à demander l'aide de son avocat spécialisé en droit d'auteur avant de publier quoi que ce soit qui puisse porter atteinte à la PI de quelqu'un d'autre.

Nathaniel a aussi une marque de commerce pour le nom « Nathaniel le nomade », et il vend de la marchandise, comme des casquettes, des chandails et des t-shirts portant cette marque. Récemment, Nathaniel a découvert qu'un site Web tiers vendait de la marchandise portant le nom « Nathaniel le nomade » et tirait d'énormes profits de son image. Il sait qu'il n'a jamais concédé de licence pour cette marque et va demander l'aide de son avocat pour gérer cette situation. Malheureusement, il s'agit d'un cas assez courant pour les créateurs en ligne.

Nathaniel est heureux de vivre dans un pays où la PI est fortement protégée pour le contenu publié en ligne. En devenant créateur de contenu sur les médias sociaux, il a appris que le domaine public est en fait un terme très spécifique et ne se limite pas à tout ce qui est largement accessible au public. Il sait également que le droit d'auteur protège son travail et, avec l'aide de son avocat spécialisé en médias de divertissement, qu'il peut facilement se protéger contre l'utilisation abusive de son contenu.

Pour en savoir plus sur les droits de PI au Canada et leur application aux publications sur les médias sociaux, écoutez le balado Voix de la PI canadienne avec François Larose.

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :