Language selection

Search

It takes the help of many to build a successful business, and we’re here to help every step of the way

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Successful entrepreneurs need to know how to write a business plan, access capital and find expertise and other assistance in order to innovate, identify market opportunities and create an effective market entry strategy. They also need to know how to protect and leverage their intellectual property (IP).

IP is a crucial business tool at all stages of a company's development. To help Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) better understand how to use IP more effectively, leading IP organizations in Canada have come together to create the IP Village. It is the result of a collaboration between the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC), the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), Export Development Canada (EDC), Global Affairs Canada's Trade Commissioner Service (GAC–TCS), the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada (IPIC), the National Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC IRAP) and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED).

A light bulb containing an arrow pointing up, with a network of interconnected nodes in the background

This initiative extends existing partnerships to build a working group where thought leadership practices, practical intelligence, best practices, questions and answers are shared. The working group will then use its network of trade commissioners (GAC–TCS), industrial technology advisors (NRC IRAP), international business advisors (EDC), IP agents and lawyers (IPIC), IP educators (CIPO), program officers (Innovation Canada–ISED) and investors (BDC) to help the SME community by:

  • Coordinating and tapping into their areas of expertise to identify and bridge gaps in the effective use of IP among Canadians and the support available for IP-rich SMEs
  • Developing, presenting and promoting IP education and information
  • Limiting duplication of effort
  • Strengthening the ability of all parties to guide Canadian enterprises and connect them with IP information and expertise

The IP Village is also looking into social media channels to share member organization IP news, activities, information and thought leadership.

The first deliverable of the working group is a series of 5 webinars called IP Talks, beginning in January 2022. These webinars cover the typical life cycle of IP (creating, formalizing, enforcing), government support (funding and assistance) as well as key considerations when taking a business abroad. The series is created and presented by CIPO and partner experts and will feature other IP ecosystem players.

Register for session 1 of IP Talks: Protect your Intellectual Property

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

La création d’une entreprise prospère nécessite la contribution de nombreux intervenants, et nous sommes là pour vous aider à chacune des étapes

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Pour réussir, un entrepreneur doit savoir rédiger un plan d'affaires, disposer de capitaux, ainsi que trouver l'expertise et l'aide nécessaires pour innover, cerner les occasions commerciales et créer une stratégie d'entrée sur le marché efficace. Il doit également savoir protéger et exploiter sa propriété intellectuelle (PI).

La PI est un outil d'affaires crucial, quel que soit le stade de développement d'une entreprise. Pour aider les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) canadiennes à mieux comprendre l'utilisation efficace de la PI, les principales organisations en matière de PI au Canada se sont associées pour créer le Village de la PI. Ce projet est le fruit d'une collaboration entre la Banque de développement du Canada (BDC), l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC), Exportation et développement Canada (EDC), le Service des délégués commerciaux d'Affaires mondiales Canada (SDC AMC), l'Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (IPIC), le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (PARI CNRC) et Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE).

Une ampoule contenant une flèche pointant vers le haut, avec un réseau de nœuds interconnectés en arrière-plan

Cette initiative élargit les partenariats existants afin de constituer un groupe de travail où sont partagés des notions de leadership éclairé, un savoir technique, des pratiques exemplaires, ainsi que des questions et leurs réponses. Pour aider la communauté des PME, ce groupe de travail mettra à profit son réseau de délégués commerciaux (SDC AMC), de conseillers en technologie industrielle (PARI CNRC), de conseillers en commerce international (EDC), d'agents et d'avocats en PI (IPIC), d'intervenants en sensibilisation à la PI (OPIC), d'agents de programmes (Innovation Canada–ISDE) et d'investisseurs (BDC). Ensemble, ils vont :

  • coordonner et exploiter leurs domaines d'expertise, afin de cerner et combler les lacunes dans l'utilisation efficace de la PI par les Canadiens et dans le soutien offert aux PME disposant d'un riche portefeuille de PI;
  • développer, présenter et promouvoir l'éducation et l'information sur la PI;
  • limiter le chevauchement des efforts;
  • renforcer la capacité de toutes les parties à guider les entreprises canadiennes et à mettre à leur disposition les informations et l'expertise en matière de PI.

Le Village de la PI s'appuie aussi sur les plateformes de médias sociaux pour partager les nouvelles, les activités, les informations et les notions de leadership éclairé des organisations membres en matière de PI.

Le premier produit attendu du groupe de travail est une série de 5 webinaires Parlons PI qui commenceront en janvier 2022. Ces webinaires portent sur le cycle de vie type de la PI (création, officialisation, application), le soutien gouvernemental (financement et aide) disponible, ainsi que les principaux facteurs à considérer pour faire des affaires à l'étranger. Cette série, réalisée et présentée par l'OPIC et des experts partenaires, mettra également en vedette d'autres acteurs de l'écosystème de la PI.

Inscrivez-vous à la séance 1 de Parlons PI : Protégez votre propriété intellectuelle

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :