Language selection

Search

WIPO mining book – CIPO chapter

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Global Challenges for Innovation in Mining Industries

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is pleased to have had the opportunity to work with the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) to produce a chapter in the World Intellectual Property Organization's (WIPO) new open access book, Global Challenges for Innovation in Mining Industries.

This book provides an in-depth global analysis of the innovation ecosystem in the mining sector. CIPO worked with CIGI to develop the chapter, titled Innovation in the Canadian Mining Sector. This chapter examines the importance of patenting in the mining sector from a Canadian perspective and contains interesting facts, including:

  • The mining industry at large is a significant contributor to prosperity for Canadians because it provides jobs, supports communities and attracts investment. In 2015, the mining industry contributed $56 billion to Canada's gross domestic product (approximately 4%).
  • Some of the largest Canadian and international mining companies have chosen to headquarter their companies in Canada, one of the largest producers of minerals and metals.
  • Intellectual property assets are an important component of the Canadian mining sector. Mining is the sixth largest sector in Canada for firms filing patents, and the number of Canadian firms with more than one type of IP asset (patent, trademark or industrial design) is high relative to other sectors in Canada, comparable to Canadian firms operating in the pharmaceutical and transport equipment industries.

To learn more about the book or to find out how to purchase a copy, consult the WIPO news release.

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Livre de l’OMPI sur l’industrie minière – chapitre de l’OPIC

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Global Challenges for Innovation in Mining Industries

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) a eu le plaisir de travailler en collaboration avec le Centre pour l'innovation dans la gouvernance internationale (CIGI) pour produire un chapitre du nouveau livre en libre accès de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI) intitulé Global Challenges for Innovation in Mining Industries.

Ce livre offre une analyse mondiale approfondie de l'écosystème d'innovation dans le secteur minier. L'OPIC a travaillé avec le CIGI pour rédiger le chapitre Innovation in the Canadian Mining Sector. Ce chapitre examine l'importance du brevetage dans le secteur minier d'un point de vue canadien et présente des faits intéressants :

  • L'industrie minière dans son ensemble contribue de manière considérable à la prospérité des Canadiens, car elle crée des emplois, soutient des collectivités et attire des investissements. En 2015, la part de l'industrie minière dans le produit intérieur brut du Canada était de 56 milliards de dollars (environ 4 %).
  • Certaines des plus grandes sociétés minières canadiennes et internationales ont choisi d'établir leur siège social au Canada, l'un des plus importants producteurs de minéraux et de métaux.
  • Les actifs de propriété intellectuelle sont une composante importante du secteur minier canadien. Ce secteur est le sixième par ordre d'importance au Canada pour le nombre d'entreprises qui déposent des demandes de brevets. De plus, le nombre d'entreprises canadiennes ayant plus d'un type d'actif de PI (brevets, marques de commerce ou dessins industriels) est élevé comparativement à d'autres secteurs au Canada – semblable aux entreprises canadiennes qui évoluent dans les secteurs pharmaceutique et des équipements de transport.

Pour en savoir plus à propos du livre ou pour savoir comment vous procurer un exemplaire, consultez le communiqué de presse de l'OMPI.

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :