Language selection

Search

Clean Valley CIC

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Nova Scotia-based Clean Valley CIC is a group of young and talented people shaping the future of clean technology.

Clean water is vital for aquafarmers because healthy fish need healthy water. Aquaculture ponds and tanks rely on filtration systems, which often means filtered water needs to be trucked or dumped. So, engineers and scientists at Clean Valley CIC have come up with sustainable solutions by mimicking nature. Through this process of "biomimicry" and through bio-utilization and innovation, they have created a cost-effective, nature-based technology that cleans water.

Nicholas H. LaValle, CEO and co-founder of Clean Valley CIC

Clean Valley CIC has built an algae-based filter solution that produces co-products, not waste. As Nicholas H. LaValle, CEO and co-founder of Clean Valley CIC says, "I don't think waste is something that actually exists.

We believe strongly in a re-circulative economy. It's at the heart of Clean Valley CIC's values. The waste and algae from our biofilter are not, in fact, waste. They're a co-product. They can be turned into pharmaceuticals, medical nutraceutical or even fertilizer."

In the future, Clean Valley CIC is looking to collaborate for solutions in the ocean as well. Nicholas reflects on the value their intellectual property can bring to this endeavour. "If we don't have IP to bring forward or to develop or to sell, then we don't have that collaboration."

Nicholas has some advice to offer other young entrepreneurs when it comes to IP strategy.

Water filtration system

Knowledge is meant to be shared

"Patents are a way to share your knowledge. When someone reads about it, they can mimic or apply that technology. It is rather brilliant because information is meant to be shared."

Write down your ideas

"IP is very important not only as a way to transfer knowledge but also for what other avenues and applications it could branch out into. So if you have an idea, write it down. If it turns out that you do want a patent at the end of the day, then it's better to have it all written down."

Jug biofiltration system

Protect what the industry wants

"A patent can be only as good as the applicable industries. Find someone who believes in your IP and can help you patent it right the first time. Natural creatures or things, for example, are not something you can patent, but a process in itself is something that you could patent."

Use your protection as proof that you've verified your invention

"Going through the process of getting a patent has allowed us to come up with technology that is very well validated. It has been well reviewed and has as much efficacy behind it as possible. IP isn't the single selling point for venture capitalists. But it's always a good box to have ticked in case they want an extra point of verification. It shows how much progress you've made with the technology, where you've invested your time, how your money is invested."

The company has big plans for the future. They are planning to build an oyster hatchery in Nova Scotia for sustainable onshore culture of oysters in collaboration with the Sober Island Oyster Farmers. They would also like to scale up their biofilter technology to treat waste in the ocean, allowing them to contribute to Canada's blue carbon credit market.

To find out more, visit Clean Valley CIC.

Clean Valley CIC logo

Nicholas understands the importance of networks and support. The company is proudly supported by programs like Mitacs and LearnSphere. Clean Valley CIC is also supported by Futurpreneur. This is a non-profit organization helping aspiring entrepreneurs aged 18 to 39. It helps them with sustainable and inclusive economic development in their communities. They offer early-stage, non-collateral financing as well as mentorship and resources. Over the last 25 years, Futurpreneur has supported more than 15,000 diverse entrepreneurs.

Nicholas was part of Futurpreneur's Canadian 2021 delegates at the G20 Young Entrepreneurs Alliance (G20 YEA) summit. G20 YEA is a global network of over 500,000 young entrepreneurs and supporting organizations. At the summit, they connect to drive economic growth, innovation and social change. They also advance their businesses, make new connections and explore international growth.

Learn more about intellectual property

A patent is a legal right to prevent others from making, using or selling your invention for up to 20 years in the country or region where your patent is granted. Learn more about patents and how to apply for a patent.

Think about how you can use IP to reach your business goals. Learn more about IP strategy and how to build an IP strategy.

Looking for support for your business? Check out the Government of Canada's business benefits finder tool.

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Clean Valley CIC

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

L'entreprise néo-écossaise Clean Valley CIC est un groupe formé de jeunes personnes bourrées de talents qui façonnent l'avenir des technologies propres.

L'eau propre est indispensable pour les aquaculteurs, car des poissons en santé ont besoin d'une eau saine. Les bassins et réservoirs d'aquaculture reposent sur des systèmes de filtration, ce qui signifie souvent que l'eau filtrée doit être transportée par camion ou déversée. Les ingénieurs et les scientifiques de Clean Valley CIC ont donc trouvé des solutions durables en imitant la nature. Grâce à ce procédé de « biomimétisme », à la bio-utilisation et à l'innovation, ils ont créé une technologie rentable, basée sur la nature, qui nettoie l'eau.

Nicholas H. LaValle, CEO and co-founder of Clean Valley CIC

Clean Valley CIC a mis au point une solution de filtrage à base d'algues qui produit des coproduits, et non des déchets. Comme le dit Nicholas H. LaValle, PDG et cofondateur de Clean Valley CIC, « je ne pense pas que les déchets soient quelque chose qui existe réellement.

Nous croyons fermement en une économie circulaire. C'est au cœur des valeurs de Clean Valley CIC. En fait, les déchets et les algues qui proviennent de notre biofiltre ne sont pas des déchets. Ils sont un coproduit. Ils peuvent être transformés en produits pharmaceutiques, en nutraceutiques médicaux ou même en engrais. »

Plus tard, Clean Valley CIC envisage de collaborer en vue de trouver des solutions dans l'océan également. Nicholas réfléchit à la valeur que leur propriété intellectuelle (PI) peut apporter à cette entreprise. « Si nous n'avons pas de PI à mettre en avant, à développer ou à vendre, alors nous n'avons pas cette collaboration ».

Nicholas a quelques conseils à donner aux autres jeunes entrepreneurs en matière de stratégie concernant la PI.

Water filtration system

Le savoir se doit d'être diffusé

« Les brevets sont un moyen de mettre en commun vos connaissances. Lorsque quelqu'un lit un article à ce sujet, il peut imiter ou appliquer cette technologie. C'est plutôt brillant, car l'information est faite pour être mise en commun. »

Notez vos idées

« La PI est très importante, non seulement en tant que moyen de transfert des connaissances, mais aussi pour les autres voies et applications qu'elle pourrait emprunter. Donc si vous avez une idée, écrivez-la. S'il s'avère que vous voulez un brevet, alors il vaut mieux que tout soit écrit. »

Jug biofiltration system

Protéger ce que l'industrie veut

« Un brevet ne peut être qu'aussi bon que les industries applicables. Trouvez quelqu'un qui croit en votre PI et qui peut vous aider à la breveter correctement dès la première fois. Les créatures ou les choses naturelles, par exemple, ne peuvent pas être brevetées, mais vous pouvez breveter un procédé en soi. »

Utilisez votre protection comme preuve que vous avez vérifié votre invention.

« Le processus d'obtention d'un brevet nous a permis de mettre au point une technologie qui est très bien validée. Elle a fait l'objet d'un examen approfondi et bénéficie d'un maximum d'efficacité. La PI n'est pas le seul argument de vente pour les investisseurs en capital de risque, mais c'est un atout au cas où ils voudraient un point de vérification supplémentaire. Elle témoigne des progrès que vous avez réalisés avec la technologie, où vous avez investi votre temps, comment votre argent est investi. »

L'entreprise a de grands projets pour l'avenir. Elle prévoit de construire une écloserie d'huîtres en Nouvelle-Écosse pour la culture durable d'huîtres à terre, en collaboration avec les ostréiculteurs de Sober Island. Elle aimerait également développer sa technologie de biofiltre afin de traiter les déchets dans l'océan, ce qui lui permettrait de contribuer au marché canadien des crédits de carbone bleu.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez le site Clean Valley CIC.

Clean Valley CIC logo

Nicholas comprend l'importance des réseaux et du soutien. L'entreprise est fièrement soutenue par des programmes tels que Mitacs et SavoirSphère. Clean Valley CIC est également soutenu par Futurpreneur. Il s'agit d'une organisation à but non lucratif qui aide les entrepreneurs en herbe âgés de 18 à 39 ans. Elle les aide à assurer un développement économique durable et inclusif dans leurs collectivités. Elle offre un financement initial sans garantie, ainsi que des conseils et des ressources. Au cours des 25 dernières années, Futurpreneur a soutenu plus de 15 000 entrepreneurs divers.

Nicholas faisait partie des délégués canadiens 2021 de Futurpreneur au Sommet de l'Alliance des jeunes entrepreneurs du G20 (en anglais seulement) (G20 YEA). G20 YEA est un réseau mondial de plus de 500 000 jeunes entrepreneurs et organisations de soutien. Au Sommet, ils établissent des liens en vue de stimuler la croissance économique, l'innovation et le changement social. Ils font également progresser leurs entreprises, nouent de nouvelles relations et explorent la croissance internationale.

Apprenez-en plus sur la propriété intellectuelle

Un brevet est un droit légal d'empêcher des tiers de fabriquer, d'utiliser ou de vendre votre invention pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu'à 20 ans dans le pays ou la région où votre brevet a été accordé. Apprenez-en plus sur les brevets et sur le processus de dépôt d'une demande de brevet.

Réfléchissez à la manière dont vous pouvez utiliser la PI pour atteindre vos objectifs commerciaux. Apprenez-en davantage sur la stratégie en matière de PI et aussi sur l'élaboration d'une stratégie en matière de PI.

Vous cherchez un soutien pour votre entreprise? Consultez l'outil de recherche d'aide aux entreprises du gouvernement du Canada.

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :