Language selection

Search

Omy Laboratories

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Personalized, tailor-made skin care, customized remotely

Omy Laboratories is the result of a passion for the design and production of personalized, natural and 100% vegan beauty care products that don't contain any unnecessary ingredients.

Andrea Gomez and Rachelle Séguin are both passionate about the cosmetics industry. They met in 2018 and then decided to pool their expertise in chemistry, pharmaceutics and business management.

Founders of Omy Laboratories, Andrea Gomez and Rachelle Séguin, in their lab.

Networking

Starting without a lot of resources but with a vision of how they saw their future business, they took part in several competitions and events for entrepreneurs. "The key to success is networking. Being seen and being heard. It's through networking that we met people who wanted to help us and support us, who wanted what's best for us," says Andrea Gomez, co-founder and executive director of Omy Laboratories.

With the help of Futurpreneur, the pair obtained their first loan, which allowed them to start their business. Futurpreneur is the only national, non-profit organization that provides financing, mentoring and support tools to help new business owners aged 18 to 39 launch successful businesses that can contribute to sustainable economic development in their communities and in Canada.

Strategy

From the beginning, Omy Laboratories has been a company that knew the importance of developing an intellectual property (IP) strategy to protect its innovations and increase its value. In order to compete with established companies, Omy Laboratories has focused on research and development. Andrea and Rachelle quickly improved their formulations, resulting in unique and high-quality marketable products. "If you want to stand out from the competition, you have to innovate," says Andrea.

So how do you protect products that are customizable and always changing?

Brand image

Innovation in the industry happens very quickly, but the most important connection to their customers is their brand image. "In the cosmetics industry, brand names are the most valuable thing," Andrea explains.

As a result, they filed a trademark application in Canada in 2018 and another in the United States in 2020. Earlier this year, they also filed one in the European Union.

Trade secrets

Behind the brand image lies Omy's knowledge, skills and proprietary information. The company's strategy involves ongoing improvements to its formulations in order to meet the changing needs and expectations of its customers. The company has its own research laboratory and team of scientists.

A trade secret was the most appropriate type of IP at this stage to protect Omy's data and innovations. But the risk of employees leaking trade secrets is very real. However, as Andrea says, "It's through employees that we develop trade secrets, that we get results, that we become who we are as a company." But it's also important for Omy Laboratories to have contractual agreements with their employees, including confidentiality agreements and IP assignments. The contractual element is present at Omy, but a work culture of trust, transparency and recognition is at the core of the company.

Masked lab worker adding drops to an Omy Laboratories bottle with a pipette.

On the path to a promising future

According to Andrea, the autonomy afforded a company that has its own team of professionals and experts, its own production facilities and IP rights makes it extremely valuable. "Today, investors are looking to partner with unique companies and products that are not easily replicated," she says.

Omy Laboratories has big plans for the future. The company is preparing to break into the US and international markets and is considering adding other types of IP rights to its portfolio, such as patents and industrial designs. The objective is to protect new processes in its production chain, such automating customization of products. Another project involves creating reusable cream jars and refills.

CIPO resources

Let us help you with your IP! Contact CIPO.

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Omy Laboratoires

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Des soins de la peau personnalisés, à distance et sur mesure

Omy Laboratoires est le fruit d'une passion pour la conception et la production de soins de beauté personnalisés, sans ingrédients superflus, naturels et 100 % véganes.

Andrea Gomez et Rachelle Séguin sont toutes deux passionnées par l'industrie des cosmétiques. Elles se sont rencontrées en 2018 et ont combiné depuis leurs expertises en chimie, en pharmacie et en gestion d'entreprise.

Fondatrices d’Omy Laboratoires, Andrea Gomez et Rachelle Séguin, dans leur laboratoire.

Réseautage

Avec peu de moyens et une vision de leur future entreprise, elles ont participé à plusieurs concours et événements pour entrepreneurs. «  La clé du succès, c'est le réseautage. Se faire voir et entendre. C'est en réseautant que l'on rencontre des gens qui veulent nous aider et nous accompagner, qui veulent notre bien  », raconte Andrea Gomez, cofondatrice et directrice générale d'Omy Laboratoires.

Avec l'aide de Futurpreneur, elles ont obtenu leur premier prêt qui leur a permis de démarrer leur entreprise. Futurpreneur est le seul organisme national sans but lucratif à offrir du financement, du mentorat et des outils de soutien pour aider les jeunes et nouveaux propriétaires d'entreprise de 18 à 39 ans à lancer des entreprises prospères qui contribuent au développement économique durable dans leurs communautés et pour le Canada.

Stratégie

Dès le début, Omy Laboratoires a été conscient de l'importance de développer une stratégie de propriété intellectuelle (PI) afin de protéger son innovation et d'augmenter la valeur de son entreprise. Afin de concurrencer les entreprises établies, Omy Laboratoires a mis l'accent sur la recherche et le développement. Andrea et Rachelle ont rapidement amélioré leurs formulations et obtenu des produits commercialisables uniques et de qualité. «  Si vous voulez vous démarquer de la concurrence, vous devez innover  », déclare Andrea.

Alors, comment protéger des produits qui sont personnalisés et en constante évolution?

L'image de marque

Alors que l'innovation avance à grands pas dans le secteur, le lien le plus important avec leurs clients est leur image de marque. « Dans le secteur des cosmétiques, les noms de marque sont ce qu'il y a de plus précieux », explique Andrea.

Une demande de marque de commerce a donc été déposée au Canada en 2018, une autre aux États-Unis en 2020, puis auprès de l'Union européenne au début de cette année.

Secrets commerciaux

Derrière l'image de marque se cachent les connaissances, les compétences et les informations exclusives d'Omy Laboratoires. La stratégie de l'entreprise repose sur l'amélioration constante des formulations pour répondre à l'évolution des besoins et des attentes de sa clientèle. L'entreprise dispose de son propre laboratoire de recherche et de sa propre équipe de scientifiques.

Le secret commercial était le type de PI le plus approprié à ce stade pour protéger ses données et ses innovations. Mais les risques de fuite de renseignements associés aux secrets commerciaux par les employés sont bien réels. Cependant, comme le mentionne Andrea, «  c'est grâce aux employés que nous développons des secrets commerciaux, que nous obtenons des résultats, que nous devenons ce que nous sommes en tant qu'entreprise ». Il est important pour Omy Laboratoires de faire signer des contrats à leurs employés. Des contrats de confidentialité, mais aussi des cessions de PI. L'aspect contractuel est présent, mais une culture de travail de confiance, de transparence et de reconnaissance prévaut au sein de l'entreprise.

Un employée de laboratoire masquée ajoute des gouttes dans une bouteille d’Omy Laboratoires à l’aide d’une pipette.

En route vers un avenir prometteur

Selon Andrea, l'indépendance d'une entreprise qui a son équipe de professionnels et d'experts, ses propres installations de production et des droits de PI lui donne énormément de valeur. «  De nos jours, les investisseurs cherchent à s'associer avec des entreprises uniques et à des produits qui ne sont pas facilement reproductibles », dit-elle.

Omy Laboratoires a de grands projets pour l'avenir. L'entreprise s'apprête à percer le marché aux États-Unis et à l'étranger. Elle considère ajouter d'autres types de droits de PI à son portefeuille, comme les brevets et les dessins industriels. L'objectif est de protéger de nouvelles méthodes comme l'automatisation de procédés de personnalisation des produits dans sa chaîne de production. Un autre projet est d'offrir un pot de crème réutilisable avec capsules de crème rechargeables.

Ressources de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC)

Laissez-nous vous aider avec la PI! Coordonnées de l’OPIC.

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :