Language selection

Search

Draft – Request to give public notice under subsection 9(4) of the Trademarks Act

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Publication Date: 202X-XX-XX

This notice is intended to clarify the practice of the Trademarks Office and the Registrar of Trademarks with respect to requesting that the Registrar give public notice under subsection 9(4) of the Trademarks Act ("the Act").

Overview

Subsection 9(4) of the Act provides that the Registrar may, on his or her own initiative or at the request of a person who pays the prescribed fee (the "requesting party"), give public notice that subparagraph 9(1)(n)(iii) of the Act does not apply with respect to a particular official mark. This notice may be given if the relevant entity (the "holder") that made the request under subparagraph 9(1)(n)(iii) of the Act for the public notice is not a public authority or no longer exists.

On receipt of a request and payment of the prescribed fee, the request and the relevant file will be reviewed. If the Registrar is satisfied that it is necessary to do so, a notice will be sent to the holder of the official mark requesting evidence of the holder's public authority status. See the practice notice entitled "Official marks pursuant to subparagraph 9(1)(n)(iii)" with respect to the evaluation of public authority status. If the Registrar is not so satisfied, a notice will not be sent to the holder of the official mark.

Communication procedures

Requests must be submitted in writing, by mail or fax, addressed as follows:

Request under subsection 9(4) of the Trademarks Act
c/o Deputy Director, Examination Division
Trademarks Office
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
50 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0C9

Fax: 819-953-2476

Requests under subsection 9(4) of the Act will be placed on the relevant file. Receipt of requests will be indicated by a note "Request under subsection 9(4) of the Trademarks Act received on [YYYY/MM/DD]" on the action history page of the relevant official mark on the Canadian Trademarks Database. If the Registrar determines that sending a notice to the holder of the official mark is not warranted, the Registrar will inform the requesting party by way of letter. If the Registrar sends a notice to the holder, the Registrar will inform both parties of the final assessment.

Required information and fee

Requests under subsection 9(4) of the Act must identify the relevant official mark, including the file number and the name of the holder of the official mark. In addition, the requesting party should provide information or evidence demonstrating that the official mark holder is not a public authority or no longer exists.

As the request does not create a proceeding between the holder of the official mark and the requesting party, any information provided by the holder will not be provided to the requesting party. Any additional information submitted by the requesting party after the request is submitted will be placed on the relevant file but will not be considered by the Registrar.

A request may not relate to more than one official mark.

A request under subsection 9(4) of the Act must be accompanied by the prescribed fee of $XXX as set out in section XX of the Trademarks Regulations and Item XX of the Schedule to the Regulations.

The prescribed fee is for the request itself and is not dependent on the final outcome of the request.

Reasons why the Registrar may not send a notice to the official mark holder

The Registrar determines on a case-by-case basis whether a notice to the official mark holder is necessary. Generally, a notice is not necessary in the following cases:

Notice to the official mark holder

If, after reviewing the request and the relevant file, the Registrar's initial assessment is that the holder is not a public authority or no longer exists, the Registrar will generally send a notice to the official mark holder requesting evidence of the holder's public authority status.

The Registrar will send the notice to the address of record of the holder or of the appointed trademark agent, if any.

The Registrar is not responsible for any correspondence not received by the holder or its appointed trademark agent in cases where the Registrar has not been notified of a change of address [see subsection 6(2) of the Regulations].

Timing

If a notice is sent to the official mark holder, they must reply within three months from the date of the notice with evidence of their status as a public authority.

Evidence of public authority status

The Registrar will apply the two-part test, adopted by the Federal Court of Appeal in Ontario Association of Architects v. Association of Architectural Technologists of Ontario, (2002), 19 C.P.R. (4th) 417 (F.C.A.); reversing (2000), 19 C.P.R. (4th) 417 (F.C.T.D.), to evaluate public authority status. The two-part test is made up of the following elements:

For further information regarding the information required to assess public authority status, please refer to the practice notice entitled "Official marks pursuant to subparagraph 9(1)(n)(iii)" as well as section 5 of the Trademarks Examination Manual.

Note that the Registrar will not require evidence of adoption and use of the official mark.

Extension of time

The Registrar may grant an extension of time to provide evidence of public authority status if the Registrar is satisfied that the facts justify the need for an extension of time.

As the intent is to provide an efficient and summary procedure for removing official mark protection, an extension of time for providing evidence will be granted only in exceptional circumstances and the Registrar will grant only one request for an extension of time up to a maximum period of three months. The following are examples of what the Registrar may consider exceptional circumstances justifying an extension of time.

Recent change in appointed trademark agent

If there has been a very recent change in appointed trademark agent and the agent requires more time to become familiar with the file.

Circumstances beyond the control of the person concerned

Examples include illness, accident, death, or other serious and unforeseen circumstances.

If the deadline has already passed, the Registrar may consider a request for a retroactive extension of time. Requests for a retroactive extension of time must include sufficient facts for the Registrar to determine that the failure of the holder to meet its deadline or apply for an extension within the time limit was not reasonably avoidable. The Registrar considers that there is no authority to grant a retroactive extension of time after the Registrar has given public notice that subparagraph 9(1)(n)(iii) of the Act does not apply with respect to the badge, crest, emblem or mark.

Consequences for holder's failure to furnish evidence

If the holder does not respond or does not provide any evidence in response to the notice within the allotted time, the Registrar will generally give public notice that subparagraph 9(1)(n)(iii) of the Act does not apply with respect to the badge, crest, emblem or mark. Confirmation of the Registrar's final assessment of the request to give such public notice will be sent to the holder or their appointed trademark agent, if any. If such public notice is given by the Registrar, the status of the official mark on the Canadian Trademarks Database will be amended to read "inactivated".

Consequences of insufficient evidence of public authority status from the holder

If, after the holder provides evidence in response to the notice, the Registrar is still of the view that the holder is not a public authority or no longer exists, the Registrar will give public notice that subparagraph 9(1)(n)(iii) of the Act does not apply with respect to the badge, crest, emblem or mark. Confirmation of the Registrar's final assessment of the request to give such public notice will be sent to the holder or their appointed trademark agent, if any. If such public notice is given by the Registrar, the status of the official mark on the Canadian Trademarks Database will be amended to read "inactivated".

Ex officio Issuance of a notice by the Registrar to same holder

If the holder does not respond to the notice, does not provide any evidence in response to the notice, or provides evidence in response to the notice and the Registrar is still of the view that the holder is not a public authority or no longer exists, the Registrar will send on his or her own initiative a notice to the holder requesting evidence of the holder's public authority status with respect to all official marks listing the same holder.

Final assessment of the request

The final assessment of the request will be communicated to the holder and the requesting party, or their appointed trademark agents, if any.

The Registrar will act in accordance with the final assessment as soon as administratively possible if no appeal or judicial review is taken, the Registrar will act in accordance with the final judgment, as the case may be.

Disclaimer

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on the Canadian Intellectual Property Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed. The provisions of this practice notice are general guidelines only, are not binding in any particular case and are subject to change.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Ébauche – Demande d’avis public en vertu du paragraphe 9(4) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Date de publication : 202X-XX-XX

Le présent énoncé vise à clarifier la pratique du Bureau des marques de commerce et du registraire des marques de commerce relativement à la demande au registraire de donner un avis public au titre du paragraphe 9(4) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (« la Loi »).

Aperçu

Le paragraphe 9(4) de la Loi prévoit que le registraire peut, de sa propre initiative ou à la demande de la personne qui paie le droit prescrit (la « partie requérante »), donner un avis public indiquant que le sous-alinéa 9(1)n)(iii) de la Loi ne s'applique pas à l'égard d'une marque officielle particulière. Cet avis peut être donné si l'entité pertinente (le « titulaire ») qui a présenté la demande d'avis public visée au sous-alinéa 9(1)n)(iii) de la Loi n'est pas une autorité publique ou n'existe plus.

À la réception d'une demande et du paiement du droit prescrit, la demande et le dossier correspondant seront examinés. Si le registraire est convaincu de la nécessité de le faire, un avis sera envoyé au titulaire de la marque officielle pour lui demander de prouver son statut d'autorité publique; voir l'énoncé de pratique intitulé « Marques officielles en vertu du sous-alinéa 9(1)n)(iii) » relativement à l'évaluation du statut d'autorité publique. Si le registraire n'en est pas convaincu, un avis ne sera pas envoyé au titulaire de la marque officielle.

Procédures de communication

Toutes les demandes doivent être par écrit, envoyées par courrier ou par télécopieur, à l'adresse suivante :

Demande en vertu du paragraphe 9(4) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce
a/s Directeur(trice) adjoint(e), Division des examens
Bureau des marques de commerce
Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
50, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0C9

Télécopieur : 819-953-2476

Les demandes présentées en vertu du paragraphe 9(4) de la Loi seront versées au dossier pertinent. La réception des demandes sera indiquée par une note « Demande en vertu du paragraphe 9(4) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce reçue le [AAAA/MM/JJ] » sur la page de l'historique des actions de la marque officielle pertinente dans la Base de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes. Si le registraire n'est pas convaincu de la nécessité d'envoyer un avis au titulaire de la marque officielle, il en informera par écrit la partie requérante. Si un avis est envoyé au titulaire, le registraire fera part de l'évaluation finale de la demande aux deux parties.

Renseignements et droits requis

Les demandes présentées en vertu du paragraphe 9(4) de la Loi doivent indiquer la marque officielle pertinente, y compris le numéro de dossier et le nom du titulaire de la marque officielle. De plus, la partie requérante doit fournir des renseignements ou des preuves démontrant que le titulaire de la marque officielle n'est pas une autorité publique ou n'existe plus.

Comme la demande ne crée pas de procédure entre le titulaire de la marque officielle et la partie requérante, les renseignements fournis par le titulaire ne seront pas communiqués à la partie requérante. Toute information supplémentaire soumise par la partie requérante après la présentation de la demande sera versée au dossier pertinent, mais ne sera pas prise en compte par le registraire.

Une demande ne peut porter sur plus d'une marque officielle.

Une demande présentée en vertu du paragraphe 9(4) de la Loi doit être accompagnée du droit prescrit de XXX $, tel que prévu à l'article XX du Règlement sur les marques de commerce et à l'article XX de l'annexe du Règlement.

Le droit prescrit concerne la demande elle-même et ne dépend pas de l'issue de la demande.

Raisons pour lesquelles le registraire peut ne pas envoyer un avis au titulaire de la marque officielle

Le registraire détermine au cas par cas si un avis au titulaire de la marque officielle est nécessaire. En général, un avis n'est pas nécessaire dans les cas suivants :

Avis au titulaire de la marque officielle

Si, après avoir examiné la demande et le dossier pertinent, l'évaluation initiale du registraire conclut que le titulaire n'est pas une autorité publique ou n'existe plus, le registraire enverra, de façon générale, un avis au titulaire de la marque officielle demandant une preuve du statut d'autorité publique de celui-ci.

Le registraire enverra l'avis à l'adresse au dossier du titulaire ou de l'agent de marques de commerce nommé, le cas échéant.

Le registraire n'est pas responsable de la correspondance non reçue par le titulaire ou son agent de marques de commerce nommé dans les cas où le registraire n'a pas été informé d'un changement d'adresse [voir le paragraphe 6(2) du Règlement].

Délai

Si un avis est envoyé au titulaire de la marque officielle, il doit répondre dans un délai de trois mois à compter de la date de l'avis en fournissant la preuve de son statut d'autorité publique.

Preuve du statut d'autorité publique

Le registraire appliquera le critère à deux volets, adopté par la Cour d'appel fédérale dans l'affaire Ordre des architectes de l'Ontario c. Association of Architectural Technologists of Ontario, (2002), 19 C.P.R. (4th) 417 (C.A.F.); infirmant (2000), 19 C.P.R. (4th) 417 (1re inst.), pour évaluer le statut d'autorité publique. Le critère à deux volets est constitué des éléments suivants :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les informations nécessaires pour évaluer le statut d'autorité publique, veuillez vous référer à l'énoncé de pratique intitulé « Marques officielles en vertu du sous-alinéa 9(1)n)(iii) » ainsi que la section 5 du manuel d'examen des marques de commerce (MEMC).

Veuillez noter que le registraire n'exigera pas de preuve de l'adoption et de l'emploi de la marque officielle.

Prolongation de délai

Le registraire peut accorder une prolongation de délai pour fournir la preuve du statut d'autorité publique s'il est convaincu que les faits justifient la nécessité d'une prolongation de délai.

Puisque l'objectif est de fournir une procédure efficace et sommaire pour le retrait de la protection d'une marque officielle, la prolongation de délai pour la production de preuves sera accordée que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles et le registraire n'accueillera qu'une seule demande de prolongation de délai, pour une période maximale de trois mois.

Voici des exemples de ce que le registraire peut considérer comme des circonstances exceptionnelles justifiant une prolongation de délai.

Nomination récente d'un autre agent de marques de commerce

En cas de nomination récente d'un autre agent de marques de commerce et le nouvel agent nécessite du temps pour prendre connaissance du dossier.

Circonstances indépendantes de la volonté de la personne concernée

Ces circonstances comprennent une maladie, un accident, un décès, ou toute autre circonstance grave et imprévue.

Si le délai a déjà expiré, le registraire peut examiner une demande de prolongation de délai rétroactive. Les demandes de prolongation de délai rétroactive doivent comporter des faits suffisants pour permettre au registraire de constater que le défaut du titulaire de respecter le délai ou de demander une prolongation dans le délai imparti n'était pas raisonnablement évitable. Le registraire considère qu'il n'a pas le pouvoir d'accorder une prolongation de délai rétroactive après avoir donné un avis public indiquant que le sous-alinéa 9(1)n)(iii) de la Loi ne s'applique pas à l'égard de l'insigne, de l'écusson, de la marque ou de l'emblème.

Conséquences du défaut du titulaire de fournir des preuves

Si le titulaire ne répond pas ou ne fournit pas de preuve en réponse à l'avis dans le délai imparti, le registraire donne, de façon générale, un avis public indiquant que le sous-alinéa 9(1)n)(iii) de la Loi ne s'applique pas à l'égard de l'insigne, de l'écusson, de la marque ou de l'emblème. La confirmation de l'évaluation finale du registraire de la demande de donner un tel avis public sera envoyée au titulaire ou à son agent de marques de commerce nommé, le cas échéant. Si un tel avis public est donné par le registraire, le statut de la marque officielle dans la Base de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes sera modifié pour indiquer « inactivé ».

Conséquences d'une preuve insuffisante du statut d'autorité publique de la part du titulaire

Si, après que le titulaire a fourni des preuves en réponse à l'avis, le registraire est toujours d'avis que le titulaire n'est pas une autorité publique ou n'existe plus, il donne un avis public indiquant que le sous-alinéa 9(1)n)(iii) de la Loi ne s'applique pas à l'égard de l'insigne, de l'écusson, de la marque ou de l'emblème. La confirmation de l'évaluation finale du registraire de la demande de donner un tel avis public sera envoyée au titulaire ou à son agent de marques de commerce nommé, le cas échéant. Si un tel avis public est donné par le registraire, le statut de la marque officielle dans la Base de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes sera modifié pour indiquer « inactivé ».

Envoi d'office d'un avis par le registraire au même titulaire

Si le titulaire ne répond pas à l'avis, ne fournit aucune preuve en réponse à l'avis, ou fournit des preuves en réponse à l'avis et que le registraire est toujours d'avis que le titulaire n'est pas une autorité publique ou n'existe plus, le registraire envoie de sa propre initiative un avis au titulaire demandant une preuve de son statut d'autorité publique à l'égard de toutes les marques officielles indiquant le même titulaire.

Évaluation finale de la demande

L'évaluation finale de la demande sera communiquée au titulaire et à la partie requérante.

Le registraire agira conformément à l'évaluation finale dès que cela sera administrativement possible si aucun processus d'appel ou de contrôle judiciaire n'est lancé; en revanche, si un tel processus est lancé, le registraire agira conformément au jugement final, selon le cas.

Avertissement

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de fournir une orientation sur la pratique de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et l'interprétation de la législation pertinente. Toutefois, en cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent énoncé et la législation applicable, la législation doit prévaloir. Les dispositions du présent énoncé de pratique constituent seulement des lignes directrices générales, elles n'ont force obligatoire dans aucun cas particulier et sont sujettes à changement.

Date de modification :