Language selection

Search

Quebec's Anglophone community

While English is the principal language of North America, the Anglophones in Quebec are nevertheless in a minority situation. Quebec's 919 000 Anglophones live primarily in the Montréal area, but are also found in small but dynamic communities across the province, such as the Pontiac, the Eastern Townships, the Gaspé, the Lower North Shore and the Magdalen Islands.

The Quebec Community Groups Network (QCGN) represents Quebec's minority Anglophone communities and oversees a number of organizations. Most have their own websites which can easily be accessed through the QCGN site.

The Community Economic Development and Employability Corporation (CEDEC) shares its experience in planning and developing partnerships in the communities across Quebec, with the aim to strengthen local economies and employability of the English-speaking and broader community.

The National Human Resources Development Committee for the English Linguistic Minority (National Committee) brings together representatives of the Government of Canada and Quebec's English-speaking minority community. The Committee focuses on developing human resource development, employability and community economic development.

Date modified:

Communauté anglophone du Québec

Bien que l'anglais soit la langue de la majorité en Amérique du Nord, les anglophones du Québec sont en situation minoritaire dans leur province. Les quelque 919 000 anglophones du Québec habitent surtout la région de Montréal, mais se trouvent aussi dans de petites communautés à travers la province, dans les régions telles que le Pontiac, les Cantons de l'Est, la Gaspésie, la Basse-Côte-Nord et les Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

Le Quebec Community Groups Network (QCGN) représente les communautés anglophones en situation minoritaire au Québec et chapeaute plusieurs organismes. La plupart ont des sites Web, facilement accessibles à partir du site du QCGN.

La Corporation d'employabilité et de développement économique communautaire (CEDEC) partage avec la communauté anglophone et la communauté dans son ensemble son expérience en planification et en développement de partenariat dans le but de renforcer l'économie régionale et l'employabilité de communautés à travers le Québec.

Le Comité national de développement des ressources humaines pour la communauté minoritaire anglophone (Comité national) réunit des représentants du gouvernement du Canada et des membres de la communauté minoritaire de langue anglaise du Québec. Le Comité concentre ses travaux sur le développement des ressources humaines, l'employabilité et le développement économique communautaire.

Date de modification :