Industry profile

Definition

This sector comprises establishments primarily engaged in transporting and warehousing goods as well as providing logistics services. It includes the four transportation modes (trucking, rail, air and marine) as well as Postal Services, Couriers and Messengers, and Warehousing and Storage. 

The North American Classification Systems (NAICS) codes are:

Statistical Summary

TransportationFootnote * and Warehousing - NAICS 48 and 49
(millions CDN $, employment in thousands)
Economic Indicators 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 % Change 2010-11 CAGR 2007-11
Gross Domestic Product 57,708 57,884 55,338 57,569 59,804 3.9% 0.9%
- Truck 16,408 16,126 15,219 16,330 16,965 3.9% 0.8%
- Air 5,330 5,541 5,342 5,802 6,162 6.2% 3.7%
- Rail 5,794 5,343 4,636 5,178 5,615 8.4% -0.8%
- Couriers and messengers 3,141 3,263 3,451 3,550 3,668 3.3% 4.0%
- Warehousing and storage 2,169 2,117 2,130 2,086 2,235 7.1% 0.8%
- Water transportation 1,038 1,073 924 955 992 3.9% -1.1%
Sales 123,195 131,995 116,693 123,312 134,823 9.3% 2.3%
Employment 686.7 693.9 676.8 670.7 682.6 1.8% -0.1%
Business enterprise R&D 80 123 94 55 56 1.8% -8.5%
Capital Investment 10,874 10,845 8,042 8,940 9,328 4.3% -3.8%

Source: Statistics Canada

Definition: Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR)

Economic Overview

Demand for transportation, warehousing and logistics services originates from all sectors of the economy and is directly affected by fluctuations in economic activity and trade patterns.

Domestic freight moves primarily by truck (70%) and rail (30%). Air and marine modes mostly handle international freight. Trucking is comprised of a significant number of small for-hire carriers and owner-operators, and some medium and large size for-hire companies that operate fleets of trucks and offer comprehensive logistic services. Canadian National and Canadian Pacific Railway are the two main railways that serve the national market, offering services such as intermodal transportation, logistics, and brokerage services. There are also 36 short-line and regional railways operating in Canada. 

Four major ports accounted for 99% of international container traffic: Vancouver (54%), Montreal (29%), Halifax (9%) and Prince Rupert (7%).  Air transportation is mostly used for moving high value and perishable goods or to rush orders on short notice.  Eleven air carriers serve Canada's North, which is highly reliant on air transportation for year round supply.  Some of the 26 largest airports in the country handle approximately 90% of all passenger traffic as well as freight.  In 2011, air transportation carried 78.4 million passengers and 739,000 tonnes of freight.  

Industries rely on transportation and logistics network to deliver rapid, integrated and secure solutions to leverage their global supply chains. While some firms retain in-house capacity for their transportation and logistics needs, many outsource these services to companies that can provide transportation, warehousing, storage, shipments consolidation, packing, labelling, brokerage, customs clearance and international freight forwarding services.

The ability to respond to manufacturers' just-in-time needs and small shipment requirements, and provide extensive logistics services have distinguished courier firms. Demand for their services have increased as a result of more stringent regulations and security measures for international cargo, as well as growing complexity in managing the supply chain.

Major Trends and Issues Facing the Industry

Canada is particularly well situated to capture trade opportunities emerging from developing economies and act as a gateway to North America. The country's transportation network is well developed and its services are diversified. The efficiency of the transportation network is complemented by gateways and trade corridors which optimise the competitiveness of the system. 

While the United States remains our main trading partner, changing terms of trade with other countries will continue to have a direct impact on demand for transportation, warehousing and logistics services on different trade routes. 

The development and adoption of technology is resulting in better efficiency, reliability, sustainability, safety and security for all modes of transportation, warehousing and for logistic activities. Transportation and logistic providers are increasingly adopting advanced technologies and innovative processes to retain their competitive advantage. They are aiming at reducing costs, improving services and decreasing their carbon footprint.

Adequate capacity in the country's infrastructure is key to support current and future trade needs. Investments required to upgrade existing infrastructure and to adapt to the ever-growing traffic volume represent a significant challenge for all levels of government.

Associations

For more information please refer to Transport Canada annual publication Transportation in Canada

Date modified:

Profil de l'industrie

Définition

Ce secteur comprend les établissements dont l'activité principale consiste à transporter et entreposer des produits ainsi qu'à offrir des services de logistique. Il englobe les quatre modes de transport (camion, ferroviaire, aérien et maritime) ainsi que les services postaux, les services de messagerie et de messagers, l'entreposage et le stockage.

Les codes du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) sont : 

Résumé statistique

Secteur du transportNote de bas de page * et d’entreposage - SCIAN 48 et 49
(millions de dollars canadiens, emploi en milliers)
Indicateurs économiques 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 Variation (%)
2010-11
TCAC
2007-11
Produit intérieur brut 57 708 57 884 55 338 57 569 59 804 3,9% 0,9%
-Camion 16 408 16 126 15 219 16 330 16 965 3,9% 0,8%
-Aérien 5 330 5 541 5 342 5 802 6 162 6,2% 3,7%
-Ferroviaire 5 794 5 343 4 636 5 178 5 615 8,4% -0,8%
- Services de messagerie et de messagers 3 141 3 263 3 451 3 550 3 668 3,3% 4,0%
-Entreposage et stockage 2 169 2 117 2 130 2 086 2 235 7,1% 0,8%
-Maritime 1 038 1 073 924 955 992 3,9% -1,1%
Ventes 123 195 131 995 116 693 123 312 134 823 9,3% 2,3%
Emplois 686,7 693,9 676,8 670,7 682,6 1,8% -0,1%
R-D commerciale 80 123 94 55 56 1,8% -8,5%

Dépenses d'investissement

10 874 10 845 8 042 8 940 9 328 4,3% -3,8%

Source : Statistique Canada

Definition: Taux de croissance annuel composé (TCAC)

Aperçu Economique

La demande de services de transport, d'entreposage et de logistique émane de tous les secteurs de l'économie et est directement affectée par les fluctuations de l'activité économique et la structure des échanges.

Le transport intérieur de marchandises s'effectue principalement par camion (70 %) et par chemin de fer (30 %). Le transport international de marchandises s'effectue principalement par voie maritime et aérienne. Le sous-secteur du camionnage comprend un nombre important de transporteurs de petite taille travaillant en sous-traitance, des propriétaires-exploitants ainsi que des entreprises de taille moyenne et grande qui exploitent de parcs de véhicules et offrent des services de logistique complets. Cette industrie compte également la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada et le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique qui desservent la majeure partie du marché national, offrant des services comme le transport multimodal, la logistique et le courtage. Par ailleurs, le Canada compte 36 chemins de fer de courtes lignes et chemins de fer régionaux.     

Quatre grands ports assurent 99 % du trafic international par conteneurs : Vancouver (54 %), Montréal (29 %), Halifax (9 %) et Prince Rupert (7 %). Le transport aérien est principalement utilisé pour transporter des produits périssables ou de valeur élevée ou encore pour envoyer des commandes urgentes. Onze transporteurs aériens desservent le Nord canadien, qui est fort tributaire du transport aérien pour son approvisionnement à l'année longue. Les 26 plus grands aéroports du pays accueillent environ 90 % de l'ensemble des passagers. En 2011, le secteur du transport aérien a déplacé 78,4 millions de passagers et 739 000 tonnes de fret.    

L'industrie comptent sur un réseau de transport et de logistique pour fournir des solutions rapides, intégrées et sures pour optimiser les chaînes d'approvisionnement mondiales. Certaines entreprises prennent en charge à l'interne ces activités, d'autres sous-traitent ces services à des entreprises qui peuvent fournir le transport, l'entreposage, le stockage, expéditions consolidation, l'emballage, l'étiquetage, de courtage, de dédouanement, et des services internationaux d'expédition de fret.

Les services de messagerie se différencient par leur capacité de répondre aux besoins juste à temps des fabricants, d'effectuer pour eux de petites livraisons et d'offrir de vastes services de logistique. Une réglementation et des mesures de sécurité strictes visant le fret international et la complexité croissante de la chaîne d'approvisionnement ont contribué à l'essor de la demande des services de logistiques.   

Principaux enjeux et tendances

Le Canada est particulièrement bien placé pour maximiser les possibilités commerciales offertes par les économies en développement et servir de porte d'entrée en Amérique du Nord. Le réseau de transport du pays est bien développé et ses services sont diversifiés. À l'efficience du réseau de transport s'ajoutent les portes d'entrée et les corridors commerciaux qui en optimisent la compétitivité.

Bien que les États-Unis demeurent notre principal partenaire commercial, l'évolution des termes de l'échange avec d'autres pays influe sur la demande en matière de transport et de logistique sur les différents axes commerciaux. 

Le développement et l'adoption de la technologie permet à tous les modes d'améliorer l'efficience, la fiabilité, la sûreté et la sécurité de l'industrie du transport. Les fournisseurs de services de transport et de logistiques adoptent de plus en plus des technologies de pointe et des procédés innovants pour conserver leur avantage concurrentiel. Ils visent à réduire les coûts, améliorer les services et réduire leur empreinte carbone.

Maintenir un niveau de capacité d'infrastructure adéquat est clé pour soutenir les échanges commerciaux actuels et futurs. Les investissements nécessaires pour moderniser l'infrastructure existante et s'adapter au volume de trafic sans cesse croissant représentent un défi important pour tous les niveaux de gouvernement.

Associations

Pour plus d'information veuillez vous référer à la publication annuelle Les transports au Canada disponible sur le site de Transport Canada.

Date de modification :