Archived — Green supply chain management: logistics and transportation services–A Canadian perspective

Highlights

While competing in a highly commoditized service sector, Canadian logistics and transportation service providers are placing increasing importance on green supply chain management (GSCM). Even though the value of GSCM activities is rarely disputed, literature to–date has been sparse in providing tangible evidence regarding performance and business benefits. For this reason, Supply Chain and Logistics Association Canada (SCL) partnered with Industry Canada to review the important service business function of GSCM. This resulting report provides unique insights to help Canadian logistics and transportation services executives understand the current trends and to recognize the benefits of adopting GSCM practices.

Companies that have adopted GSCM practices in distribution activities have successfully improved their business and environmental performance on many levels.

Key findings:

  • Most Best–in–Class (BiC)Footnote I businesses are able to increase distribution efficiency and service differentiation while reducing distribution cost.
  • The high cost of energy is the main driver for implementing GSCM practices in distribution activities.
  • A large portion of BiC businesses increased their use of multi–modal transportation (e.g., decreasing air and truck transportation and increasing rail and marine transportation) to maximize environmental and business benefits.
  • Most logistics and transportation service providers implementing GSCM practices see improvements in energy reduction, waste reduction, and reduced packaging in distribution activities.
  • To be successful at GSCM, BiC logistics and transportation service providers are using many highly advanced processes and technologies — both at the corporate level and within their distribution centres (DCs) and transportation operations.

Approach and methodology

This report is based on a collaborative undertaking between SCL's research committee and Industry Canada's Service Industries and Consumer Products Branch. The SCL research committee defined industry needs, drivers, and metrics and offered valuable insights from an industry perspective. By using SCL's 2008 Green Supply Chain Survey (1 165 business entities which included 240 Canadian logistics & transportation organizations)1, and applying unique economic models developed in–house, Industry Canada provided the overall analysis and brought together all the components needed to produce a Green Supply Chain Management report for Canada's logistics & transportation services sector.

This report is one of a series of three GSCM reports that include:

  • GSCM: Manufacturing — A Canadian Perspective;
  • GSCM: Logistics & Transportation Services — A Canadian Perspective; and
  • GSCM: Retail Chains & Consumer Product Goods — A Canadian Perspective.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Best-in-Class (BiC) businesses are defined as businesses that achieve positive environmental benefits in the two main sector–specific GSCM practices.

Return to footnote I referrer

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Archivé — Gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement verte – Perspective canadienne des services de logistique et de transport

Faits saillants

Face à la concurrence dans un secteur de services fortement standardisé, les fournisseurs canadiens de services de logistique et de transport accordent une importance croissante à la gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement verte (GCAV). Même si la valeur des activités de GCAV est rarement contestée, il existe encore peu d'études offrant des preuves concrètes de son rendement et de ses avantages sur le plan commercial. C'est pourquoi l'Association chaîne d'approvisionnement et logistique Canada (CAL) s'est jointe à Industrie Canada afin d'examiner cette fonction importante des services. Élaboré dans le cadre de ce partenariat, le présent rapport offre des informations très intéressantes pour aider les dirigeants de services de logistique et de transport canadiens à comprendre les tendances actuelles et à reconnaître les avantages liés à l'adoption de pratiques de GCAV.

Les sociétés qui ont adopté des pratiques de GCAV dans leurs activités de distribution ont amélioré leur rendement commercial et environnemental sur plusieurs plans.

Principales conclusions

  • La plupart des entreprises les plus performantesNote de bas de page I sont en mesure d'améliorer l'efficacité de leur distribution et d'accroître la différenciation de leurs services tout en réduisant leurs frais de distribution.
  • Le coût élevé de l'énergie est le principal facteur motivant la mise en œuvre de pratiques de GCAV dans les activités de distribution.
  • Une forte proportion des entreprises les plus performantes ont accru leur recours au transport multimodal (p. ex., en réduisant le transport aérien et routier au profit du transport ferroviaire et maritime) afin de maximiser les avantages environnementaux et commerciaux.
  • La plupart des fournisseurs de services de logistique et de transport qui adoptent des pratiques de GCAV constatent des améliorations sur le plan de la consommation d'énergie ainsi que de la réduction des déchets et des coûts d'emballage dans leurs activités de distribution.
  • Pour obtenir de bons résultats en GCAV, les fournisseurs de services de logistique et de transport les plus performants emploient un certain nombre de processus et de technologies de pointe — au niveau de l'entreprise, dans leurs centres de distribution et dans leurs opérations de transport.

Approche et méthodologie

Le présent rapport repose sur une entreprise conjointe du comité de recherche de CAL et de la Direction générale des industries des services et des produits de consommation d'Industrie Canada. Le comité de recherche de CAL a défini les besoins de l'industrie, les éléments moteurs et les paramètres, en plus d'offrir des informations stratégiques du point de vue de l'industrie. À partir de l'enquête sur la chaîne d'approvisionnement verte menée par CAL en 2008 (auprès de 1 165 entreprises commerciales, dont 240 organismes canadiens de logistique et de transport)1 et en appliquant des modèles économiques inédits, conçus à l'interne, Industrie Canada a effectué une analyse générale et rassemblé tous les éléments nécessaires pour produire un rapport sur la gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement verte (GCAV) à l'intention du secteur canadien des services de logistique et de transport.

Le présent document s'inscrit dans une série de trois rapports sur la GCAV, soit

  • GCAV : Perspective canadienne du secteur manufacturier;
  • GCAV : Perspective canadienne des services de logistique et de transport;
  • GCAV : Perspective canadienne du commerce de détail et des produits de consommation.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les entreprises les plus performantes se définissent comme celles qui ont des retombées positives sur l'environnement dans les deux principales pratiques de GCAV propres à leur secteur.

Retour à l'appel de note I referrer

Date de modification :