Archived — Survey of Intellectual Property Management (SIPM) 2010

The Survey of Intellectual Property Management is a joint project by Industry Canada and Statistics Canada. Its purpose is to address data gaps in the use and management of intellectual property (IP) by enterprises in Canada.

The survey, conducted by Statistics Canada in 2011, contacted over 3,000 enterprises representing eight distinct sectors of the economy, including: life sciences, ICT, broadcasting, publishing, motion picture and sound recording, chemicals, energy and mining, and transportation. The response rate was 70 percent.

The survey captures and presents data on firm structure and activity, IP portfolio and management, IP protection and use, expenses and revenues, and IP enforcement and infringement. The questionnaire, developed by Industry Canada and Statistics Canada in consultation with other government departments, was sent to the CEOs or senior managers of the enterprises.

This survey is part of an Industry Canada project initiated in 2009–2010 to provide an integrated statistical information system on intellectual property that comprises data from the survey, as well as other Statistics Canada data sources. The project will provide policy analysts with the data needed to inform intellectual property policy development in Canada.

The data from this survey profile the use of patents, copyrights and trade-marks in Canada, and provide the quantitative information needed to draw analytical linkages between the use of IP rights and firm performance indicators, such as productivity, competitiveness, investment and innovativeness.

Industry Canada will release a comprehensive report of key findings from the survey in the coming months.



For more information on the survey concepts, methods or data quality please contact Statistics Canada's National Contact Centre (toll free 1-800-263-1136, 613-951-8116 or Statistics Canada's National Contact Centre).

For more information about policy analysis related to intellectual property, please contact Denis Martel (343-291-2711), ISED Canada.

Date modified:

Archivé — Enquête sur la gestion de la propriété intellectuelle (EGPI) 2010

L'Enquête sur la gestion de la propriété intellectuelle est un projet commun d'Industrie Canada et de Statistique Canada. Il vise à combler les lacunes en matière de données en ce qui concerne l'utilisation et la gestion de la propriété intellectuelle par les entreprises au Canada.

On a communiqué avec plus que 3 000 entreprises représentant huit secteurs distincts de l'économie (sciences de la vie, technologies de l'information et des communications, radiotélédiffusion, édition, industrie du film et de l'enregistrement sonore, produits chimiques, énergie et extraction minière, et transport) pour effectuer le sondage, que Statistique Canada a mené en 2011. Le taux de réponse au sondage était de 70 %.

Le sondage recueille et présente des données sur la structure et les activités de l'entreprise, le portefeuille et la gestion de la propriété intellectuelle, la protection et l'utilisation de la propriété intellectuelle, les dépenses et les revenus, ainsi que la mise en application de la loi sur la propriété intellectuelle et l'infraction à celle-ci. Le questionnaire, qui a été élaboré par Industrie Canada et Statistique Canada en collaboration avec d'autres ministères, a été envoyé aux directeurs généraux et aux cadres supérieurs de ces entreprises.

Le sondage fait partie d'un projet mis sur pied par Industrie Canada en 2009-2010. Ce projet a pour objectif d'offrir un système intégré de données statistiques sur la propriété intellectuelle qui comprend des données provenant du sondage ainsi que d'autres sources de données de Statistique Canada. Il fournira aux analystes des politiques les données dont ils ont besoin pour orienter l'élaboration de politiques sur la propriété intellectuelle au Canada.

Les données découlant du sondage permettront d'analyser l'utilisation des brevets, des droits d'auteurs et des marques de commerce au Canada, ainsi que de fournir les données quantitatives nécessaires pour établir des liens analytiques entre l'utilisation des droits de propriété intellectuelle et les indicateurs de rendement des entreprises, comme la productivité, la compétitivité, l'investissement et l'innovation.

Au cours des prochains mois, Industrie Canada publiera un rapport exhaustif sur les principales conclusions du sondage.



Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les concepts, les méthodes ou la qualité des données utilisés dans le sondage, communiquez avec le Centre de contact national de Statistique Canada (sans frais 1-800-263-1136, 613-951-8116 or Centre de contact national de Statistique Canada).

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l'analyse des politiques liées à la propriété intellectuelle, communiquez avec Denis Martel (343-291-2711), ISDE Canada.

Date de modification :