Archived — Occasional Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 3: The Role of R&D Consortia in Technology Development

by Vinod Kumar, Research Centre for Technology Management, Carleton University, and Sunder Magun, Centre for Trade Policy and Law, University of Ottawa and Carleton University, under contract to Industry Canada, February 1995


Summary

Technology consortia are technology alliances among business firms, universities and governments. They are formed to share increasingly rising costs and risks associated with undertaking basic or precompetitive research and development (R&D). The alliances are both vertical and horizontal and can include both domestic and foreign companies. In most cases, they are found across such high-tech industries as electronics, computer, aerospace and pharmaceutical sectors. Technical alliances have become an important part of the corporate competitive strategies of high-tech industry leaders such as IBM, Hewlett-Packard, Northern Telecom and Texas Instruments. Technology consortia are also found in traditional industries such as the textile and automobile sectors.

This study analyzes the role of R&D consortia in technology development. We have primarily focussed on the growth of technology consortia in the United States, the participation of Canadian companies in those consortia, and the institutional barriers to Canadian membership in American R&D alliances.

In business literature, there is no formal definition of a technology consortium. Various authors have used different definitions in their research. We have adopted the following definition: a consortium is a co-operative research effort among business firms, governments and universities, that helps the participating companies maintain leadership or gain a competitive edge over their international competitors in a particular industry. A technology consortium is a stronger alliance than a trade association, yet more loosely coupled than some other forms of joint ventures. A technology consortium includes direct competitors whereas most other corporate alliances do not. Moreover, an R&D consortium often has lower equity and other inputs from each member than is the case in other alliances.

The literature on technology consortia suggests that the motives for establishing them vary widely. Each member perceives their benefits in a different way. In general, a member company considers one or more of three strategic objectives when it joins in co-operative research:

  • horizontal diversification into new product lines;
  • backward and forward vertical integration; and
  • leapfrog competition within existing product lines.

Some companies emphasize other advantages of consortia such as minimizing the cost of developing new technologies by reducing unnecessary duplication of research efforts, sharing the risks of undertaking R&D, getting immediate access to new technologies, new markets and cheap production sources, and making otherwise big and complex research projects possible.

Many technology alliances are cross border and established by multinational enterprises that are based in the Triad-the European Community, Japan and the United States. They are mostly observed in core or strategic technologies: information technologies, biotechnology and advanced industrial materials. Japan and the European Community have longer experience with technology alliances while the United States and Canada are new to this form of industrial organization. Japan improved the international competitiveness of its semiconductors by establishing the consortium of semiconductor producers while the European Community improved its computer industry by forming the consortium of computer manufacturers. In the United States, large increases in the growth of technology consortia, mostly horizontal, occurred only after 1984 when Congress implemented the National Cooperative Research Act (NCRA). This law allows American firms in the same industry to establish consortia that conduct precompetitive R&D.

The general factors driving the growth of R&D consortia are the globalization of the world economy, technology trends and the greater role of government in shaping a nation's comparative advantage. The global marketplace has now become much more interdependent, and international linkages among countries, or among global firms based in different countries, have increased over the last four decades. Multinational enterprises act as a prime agent of globalization. They organize their operations from manufacturing and sourcing, through marketing and sales, to R&D, on a worldwide scale. By rationalizing their operational activities worldwide, global firms benefit from economies of scale and scope in R&D and production operations. Moreover, the generation of new technologies is much more expensive at the frontier. This is attributable to shorter product life cycles and the fusion of various technologies; thus, a cross-fertilization of several technical and scientific disciplines is required to advance technologies. The increasingly rising cost of undertaking R&D and the need for complementary specialized skills to generate new technologies have encouraged international networking among multinational enterprises, such as cross-border R&D consortia.

Finally, it is generally recognized now in advanced countries that a nation's comparative advantage is determined more by active industrial, and/or technology, policies rather than by factor endowments. Both Japan and the European Community, for example, have used active industrial policies to improve the international competitiveness of their strategic industries such as the semiconductor industry and the commercial aircraft industry. Now, both the United States and Canada are encouraging the formation of technology consortia through their new or expanded technology programs, such as the U.S. Commerce Department's Advanced Technology Program (ATP) and the Strategic Technologies Program (STP) administered by Industry Canada.

After the implementation of the NCRA, technology consortia have increased substantially in the United States. There are now about 350 technology consortia involving about 1200 American and 50 foreign firms. As indicated above, they predominate in high-tech industries. The Microelectronics and Computer Technology Corporation (MCC), the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) and the Software Productivity Consortium (SPC) are examples of co-operative research ventures that involve companies in similar markets.

To prepare the profile of U.S. R&D consortia we conducted a telephone survey of 15 leading American consortia and interviewed technology policy analysts in Washington, DC. Our findings included:

  • Nine out of 10 consortia are initiated by the private sector in the United States; only one out of ten consortia is initiated by the government.
  • The primary goal of most consortia appears to be precompetitive research, and the secondary goal is product development.
  • Eighty percent of U.S. consortia have less than 100 members.
  • The funding for technology consortia is mostly provided by government-industry shared programs; only four in 10 consortia are funded solely by the private sector.

Over the next decade or so, the number of government-funded co-operative R&D projects will grow very rapidly in the United States. Canadian companies are wondering whether they will be allowed to participate in these consortia. This question is very important in the light of our history of close economic relations with the United States and our desire to keep channels open to new technologies from all sources. Canada is concerned with the growth of protectionism in the United States as evidenced by some barriers to technology sharing between Canada and the United States. For example, Canada was surprised that it was not invited to participate in the Super Car consortium even though Canadian and American automobile industries are very closely integrated.

Canadian companies do participate in American R&D consortia although the participation is relatively small. Our sample survey indicated that only one out of 60 consortia members is a Canadian firm. More important, except in particular circumstances, Canadian firms are not allowed to participate in large consortia funded by the U.S. federal government. Canada, for instance, is restricted from participation in co-operative R&D projects supported by the National Institute of Standards and Technology's Advanced Technology Program and the Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology (SEMATECH). If the Collins and Manton restrictive amendments had been accepted by the U.S. Congress and included in the National Competitiveness Act 1993, Canadian companies would have been completely barred from participation in federally funded technology consortia. Canada is quite concerned about the development of a protectionist sentiment since federally funded consortia will proliferate under the Clinton Administration, which has planned to increase significantly the number of technology consortia under the two expanded technology programs-the Advanced Technology Program and the Advanced Research Project Agency. Some technology policy experts in Washington DC believe that the doors are almost closed to Canadian companies wanting to participate in these programs. The Clinton Administration has adopted a new technology policy that will encourage co-operative R&D to improve economic performance of American industries and thus their competitiveness in the global marketplace. We expect that the U.S. government will become increasingly more protectionist and that it will ask for reciprocal relations when sharing new technologies with other nations in the future.

In our interviews with consortia and government officials, three more barriers to Canadian participation in American consortia were indicated. First, there is a standoff on an umbrella intellectual property agreement between Canada and the United States. The U.S. government wants to sign a bilateral agreement that sets out general guidelines about sharing the intellectual property results from collaborative research. Second, it appears that Canadian companies are less interested in American consortia because they do very "advanced R&D" which Canadian firms find difficult to translate into products quickly. Canadians are more interested in applied research with quicker commercial results. Third, Canadian companies find that membership fees of American technology consortia are too high. For instance, SEMATECH requires a minimum annual fee of $1 million, and full participation could cost the member as much as $25 million.

In March 1994, Industry Canada consulted with the Canadian research community by holding two workshops, one in Toronto and the other in Montréal. The participants were from Canadian companies, research institutes and universities. At the workshops, the discussions focussed on three broad themes:

  • the reasons why the Canadian firms' participation in foreign technology consortia, especially the American ones, is low;
  • the barriers, legal or institutional, Canadian companies face in participating in foreign technology consortia; and
  • the role the government should play in promoting technology consortia.

Several participants at the workshops indicated that Canadian participation is low only in precompetitive technology consortia. This is mainly attributable to the fact that Canada does not have the culture of doing precompetitive R&D. However, Canadian companies are often small and medium-sized enterprises that specialize in market niches. They form technology alliances to undertake "near-market" or applied research and market alliances to compete effectively in the global marketplace.

It was generally agreed at the workshops that there are real barriers to Canadian participation in American, European and Japanese technology consortia. Barriers are even stronger in Europe and Japan than in the United States where barriers are not insurmountable. If Canadian companies or American subsidiaries operating in Canada have expertise in some technology and possess strong R&D infrastructure, they can be invited to join in government-funded technology consortia in the United States. For example, Northern Telecom has strong R&D capability and is playing an active role in a number of U.S. consortia. Similarly, Pratt and Whitney Canada possesses expertise in the manufacturing of small aircraft engines and has been invited to participate in technology consortia funded by the U.S. government.

Some participants suggested that Canada does not have specific programs for encouraging technology consortia. Before worrying about Canadian participation in foreign consortia, Canada should first gain experience and credibility in building technology consortia of domestic firms. The few domestic technology consortia we do have are not operating very well. Their focus is on short-term gains and on near-market rather than precompetitive research. Consortia members often cannot decide what technologies should be developed through joint research. Therefore, the Canadian government can play an important role by designing new policy initiatives that will promote joint precompetitive research among domestic firms.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document hors-série No 3 : Le rôle des consortiums de R-D dans le développement de la technologie

par Vinod Kumar, Research Centre for Technology Management, Université Carleton, et Sunder Magun, Centre de droit et de politique commerciale, Université d'Ottawa et Université Carleton, en vertu d'un contrat passé ave Industire Canada, février 1995


Résumé

Les consortiums de technologie sont des alliances technologiques entre des entreprises, des universités et des gouvernements. Ils sont créés en vue de partager les coûts et les risques sans cesse croissants associés aux activités de recherche et de développement (R-D) fondamentales ou préconcurrentielles. Les alliances sont aussi bien verticales qu'horizontales et peuvent inclure des entreprises nationales et étrangères. Dans la plupart des cas, on les retrouve dans les industries de haute technologie comme l'électronique, l'informatique, l'aérospatiale et les produits pharmaceutiques. Les alliances techniques sont devenues un élément important des stratégies concurrentielles des chefs de file des secteurs de haute technologie comme IBM, Hewlett-Packard, Northern Telecom et Texas Instruments. On retrouve aussi des consortiums technologiques dans des secteurs traditionnels comme les textiles et l'automobile.

La présente étude analyse le rôle des consortiums de R-D dans le développement des technologies. Nous avons principalement centré notre attention sur la croissance des consortiums de technologie aux États-Unis, la participation d'entreprises canadiennes à ces consortiums et les obstacles institutionnels à la participation canadienne aux alliances américaines de R-D.

Dans les ouvrages spécialisés, on ne trouve aucune définition officielle du consortium de technologie. Les auteurs ont utilisé des définitions variées dans leur recherche. Voici celle que nous avons adoptée : un consortium est un effort de recherche coopératif réunissant des entreprises, des gouvernements et des universités qui vise à aider les entreprises participantes à demeurer des chefs de file ou à obtenir un avantage sur leurs concurrents internationaux dans une industrie donnée. Au sein d'un consortium de technologie, les liens sont plus étroits que dans une association sectorielle, mais plus souples que dans certaines formes de coentreprises. Un consortium technologique englobe des concurrents directs alors que ce n'est pas le cas dans la plupart des autres alliances d'entreprises. De plus, dans le cadre d'un consortium de R-D, l'apport en fonds propres et en autres intrants de chaque membre est généralement plus limité que ce que l'on observe dans d'autres alliances.

Selon les travaux publiés sur les consortiums de technologie, les motifs de création de tels regroupements sont très variés. Chacun des membres y perçoit des avantages différents. En général, la participation d'une entreprise à un projet de recherche coopératif vise au moins un des trois objectifs stratégiques suivants :

  • diversification horizontale dans de nouvelles gammes de produits;
  • intégration verticale en amont et en aval; et
  • dépassement de la concurrence à l'intérieur des gammes de produits existantes.

Certaines entreprises insistent sur d'autres avantages offerts par les consortiums comme la réduction des coûts de développement de technologies nouvelles par la suppression du dédoublement inutile des efforts de recherche, le partage des risques liés aux activités de R-D, l'accès immédiat à de nouvelles technologies, à de nouveaux marchés et à des sources de production peu coûteuses, et le fait de rendre réalisables des projets de recherche complexes et de grande envergure.

De nombreuses alliances technologiques ont un caractère international et sont créées par des multinationales établies dans la « triade » — la Communauté européenne, le Japon et les États-Unis. On les retrouve surtout dans le domaine des technologies de base et stratégiques : technologies de l'information, biotechnologie et matériaux industriels avancés. Le Japon et la Communauté européenne ont une plus longue expérience des alliances technologiques, alors qu'aux États-Unis et au Canada cette forme d'organisation industrielle est plus nouvelle. Le Japon a amélioré la compétitivité internationale de ses semi-conducteurs en établissant un consortium des producteurs de semi-conducteurs et la Communauté européenne a renforcé son industrie informatique en créant un consortium de fabricants d'ordinateurs. Aux États-Unis, un essor important des consortiums de technologie, pour la plupart horizontaux, n'a été enregistré qu'après 1984, année de l'adoption par le Congrès de la (National Cooperative Research Act (NCRA) qui permet aux entreprises américaines d'une même industrie de créer des consortiums pour la réalisation d'activités de R-D préconcurrentielles.

Les facteurs généraux à l'origine de l'essor des consortiums de R-D sont la mondialisation de l'activité économique, les tendances en matière de technologie et le rôle accru de l'État dans la détermination de l'avantage comparatif de chaque pays. Sur le marché mondial, l'interdépendance des divers intervenants est beaucoup plus grande et les liens internationaux entre les pays et entre les entreprises d'envergure mondiale installées dans différents pays se sont accrus au cours des quatre dernières décennies. Les multinationales sont le principal agent de la mondialisation. En effet, c'est à l'échelle de la planète qu'elles organisent leurs activités de fabrication, d'approvisionnement, de commercialisation, de ventes et de R-D. Par la rationalisation de leurs activités à l'échelle mondiale, ces entreprises profitent d'économies d'échelle et de diversification dans les activités de R-D et de production. En outre, la mise au point de nouvelles technologies d'avant-garde est beaucoup plus coûteuse. Le phénomène s'explique par la durée de vie réduite des produits et la convergence des diverses technologies. Pour faire progresser la technologie, il faut donc opérer un « croisement « de diverses disciplines techniques et scientifiques. Les coûts toujours croissants de la R-D et la nécessité d'avoir accès à des compétences spécialisées complémentaires afin de mettre au point des technologies nouvelles ont favorisé la formation de réseaux internationaux entre multinationales, comme les consortiums transnationaux de R-D.

Enfin, on reconnaît maintenant de façon générale dans les pays développés que l'avantage comparatif d'un pays dépend davantage de politiques industrielles et technologiques dynamiques que de la dotation en facteurs de production. Par exemple, tant le Japon que la Communauté européenne ont appliqué des politiques industrielles actives pour améliorer la compétitivité internationale d'industries stratégiques comme celles des semi-conducteurs et de l'aviation commerciale. À l'heure actuelle, les États-Unis et le Canada encouragent la formation de consortiums de technologie par l'intermédiaire de leurs programmes nouveaux ou élargis de technologie, comme le (Advanced Technology Program (ATP) du Département du Commerce des États-Unis et le Programme des technologies stratégiques administré par Industrie Canada.

Après l'entrée en vigueur de la (National Cooperative Research Act, le nombre de consortiums de technologie a fortement augmenté aux États-Unis. En effet, il existe maintenant quelque 350 consortiums de technologie regroupant environ 1200 entreprises américaines et 50 entreprises étrangères. Comme nous l'avons indiqué ci-dessus, ces consortiums se retrouvent surtout dans les industries de haute technologie. La (Microelectronics and Computer Technology Corporation (MCC), la (Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) et le (Software Productivity Consortium (SPC) sont des exemples de coentreprises de recherche réunissant des entreprises qui évoluent sur des marchés similaires.

Pour établir le profil des consortiums de R-D aux États-Unis, nous avons procédé à une enquête téléphonique auprès des quinze principaux consortiums américains et nous avons interviewé des spécialistes de la politique technologique à Washington (D.C.). Les résultats suivants ressortent notamment de notre enquête :

  • Aux États-Unis, neuf consortiums sur dix sont créés à l'instigation des entreprises privées; seulement un sur dix est issu de l'initiative du gouvernement.
  • L'objectif principal de la plupart des consortiums semble être la recherche préconcurrentielle et l'objectif secondaire, la mise au point de produits.
  • 80 pour cent des consortiums américains comptent moins de 100 membres.
  • Le financement des consortiums de technologie est principalement assuré par des programmes conjoints gouvernement-industrie; seulement quatre consortiums sur dix sont financés exclusivement par le secteur privé.

Au cours de la prochaine décennie, le nombre de projets coopératifs de R-D financés par l'État augmentera très rapidement aux États-Unis. Les entreprises canadiennes se demandent si elles pourront participer à ces consortiums. La question est très importante compte tenu des rapports économiques étroits que nous avons entretenus avec les États-Unis dans le passé et de notre volonté de maintenir ouvertes les voies d'accès aux nouvelles technologies en provenance de toute source. Le Canada s'inquiète de la montée du protectionnisme aux États-Unis, comme en témoignent certains obstacles au partage de la technologie entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Par exemple, le Canada a été surpris de ne pas être invité au consortium Super Car (« super voiture » à haut rendement énergétique) même si les industries automobiles canadienne et américaine sont très fortement intégrées.

Les entreprises canadiennes participent à des consortiums américains de R-D, mais leur rôle y est relativement limité. Selon notre échantillon, seulement un membre de consortium sur 60 est une entreprise canadienne. Qui plus est, sauf dans des cas particuliers, les entreprises canadiennes ne sont pas autorisées à devenir membres des grands consortiums financés par le gouvernement fédéral américain. Par exemple, le Canada ne peut participer aux projets coopératifs de R-D financés en vertu du (Advanced Technology Program du (National Institute of Standards and Technology et du consortium (Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology (SEMATECH). Si les modifications restrictives proposées par MM. Collins et Manton avaient été acceptées par le Congrès américain et incorporées au (National Competitiveness Act de 1993, les entreprises canadiennes auraient été totalement exclues de tout consortium de technologie financé par le gouvernement fédéral américain. Le Canada s'inquiète beaucoup de cette évolution du sentiment protectionnniste car les consortiums financés par des fonds publics fédéraux seront nombreux sous le gouvernement Clinton qui a prévu accroître sensiblement le nombre de consortiums de technologie dans le cadre de deux programmes de technologie élargis appelés (Advanced Technology Program et Advanced Research Project Agency. Selon des spécialistes de la politique en matière de technologie à Washington (D.C.), les portes sont presque fermées pour les entreprises canadiennes souhaitant participer à ces programmes. Le gouvernement Clinton a adopté une nouvelle politique technologique qui stimulera les activités coopératives de R-D en vue d'améliorer la performance économique des industries américaines et, partant, leur compétitivité à l'échelle mondiale. Nous croyons que le gouvernement américain deviendra de plus en plus protectionniste et qu'il négociera des avantages réciproques lorsqu'il partagera de nouvelles technologies avec d'autres pays.

Au cours de nos entrevues avec des dirigeants de consortiums et des fonctionnaires, trois autres obstacles à la participation canadienne aux consortiums américains ont été mentionnés. Premièrement, la conclusion d'un accord-cadre sur la propriété intellectuelle entre le Canada et les États-Unis est actuellement bloquée. Le gouvernement américain souhaite signer un accord bilatéral définissant des lignes directrices sur le partage de la propriété intellectuelle résultant de la recherche effectuée en collaboration. Deuxièmement, il semble que les entreprises canadiennes soient moins intéressées par les consortiums américains car ces derniers effectuent de la R-D très avancée que les entreprises canadiennes ont de la difficulté à intégrer rapidement à leurs produits. Les entreprises canadiennes s'intéressent davantage à la recherche appliquée qui procure des résultats commerciaux à plus brève échéance. Troisièmement, les entreprises canadiennes estiment que les droits de participation aux consortiums de technologie américains sont trop élevés. Par exemple, SEMATECH exige des droits annuels de participation d'au moins un million de dollars et la pleine participation au consortium peut coûter à une société membre jusqu'à 25 millions de dollars.

En mars 1994, Industrie Canada a consulté les milieux de la recherche au Canada en organisant deux ateliers, un à Toronto et l'autre à Montréal. Les participants provenaient d'entreprises, d'universités et d'instituts de recherche canadiens. Lors de ces ateliers, les discussions ont porté sur trois grands thèmes :

  • les raisons de la faible participation des entreprises canadiennes aux consortiums de technologie étrangers, particulièrement américains;
  • les obstacles, juridiques ou institutionnels, auxquels se heurtent les entreprises canadiennes qui souhaitent participer à des consortiums étrangers de technologie;
  • le rôle que le gouvernement devrait jouer pour favoriser les consortiums de technologie.

Plusieurs participants aux ateliers ont indiqué que la participation canadienne est faible uniquement dans les consortiums de technologie préconcurrentielle. Le phénomène s'explique principalement par le fait qu'il n'y a pas au Canada de culture de R-D préconcurrentielle. Les entreprises canadiennes sont souvent de petite et moyenne taille et elles se spécialisent dans certains créneaux. Elles créent des alliances technologiques pour faire de la recherche préalable à la mise en marché ou de la recherche appliquée et des alliances commerciales pour soutenir la concurrence sur le marché mondial.

Les participants aux ateliers ont convenu de façon générale qu'il existe des obstacles réels à la participation des entreprises canadiennes aux consortiums de technologie américains, européens et japonais, obstacles encore plus importants en Europe et au Japon qu'aux États-Unis où ils ne sont pas insurmontables. Lorsque des entreprises canadiennes ou des filiales canadiennes d'entreprises américaines possèdent une expertise dans une technologie donnée et une solide infrastructure de R-D, elles peuvent être invitées à participer à des consortiums de technologie américains financés par le gouvernement. Par exemple, Northern Telecom, qui a une solide capacité de R-D, joue un rôle actif dans un grand nombre de consortiums américains. De la même façon, Pratt et Whitney Canada possède des compétences spécialisées dans la fabrication de moteurs destinés aux petits aéronefs et elle a été invitée à participer à des consortiums de technologie financés par le gouvernement américain.

Selon certains participants, le Canada ne possède pas de programmes visant spécifiquement à stimuler la création de consortiums de technologie. Avant de s'inquiéter de la participation canadienne aux consortiums étrangers, le Canada devrait d'abord acquérir de l'expérience et de la crédibilité en créant des consortiums de technologie réunissant des entreprises nationales. Les quelques consortiums de technologie qui existent au Canada ne fonctionnent pas très bien. Ils sont axés sur des réalisations à court terme et sur la recherche préalable à la mise en marché plutôt que sur la recherche préconcurrentielle. Il arrive souvent que les membres des consortiums n'arrivent pas à décider quelles technologies devraient être développées dans le cadre des activités conjointes de recherche. Par conséquent, le gouvernement canadien peut jouer un rôle important en définissant de nouvelles initiatives qui favoriseront la recherche réconcurrentielle conjointe par des entreprises nationales.

Date de modification :