Archived — Occasional Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 6: Institutional Aspects of R&D Incentives: The Scientific Research and Experimental Development Tax Credit

by G. Bruce Doern, School of Public Administration, Carleton University, under contract to Industry Canada, April 1995


Summary

This paper assesses the institutional evolution of the federal Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) tax credit. The analysis is based on published reports and literature as well as on several interviews conducted by the author with officials and experts involved in government and business in the forging and implementation of the SR&ED. The interviews were carried out with the understanding that the persons interviewed would not be quoted. The co-operation of these individuals is greatly appreciated as are the constructive comments of several officials and an anonymous reviewer. It also develops an institutional frame for examining alternative governmental portfolios for the location and operation of research and development tax incentives.

Established in 1986, the SR&ED scheme currently delivers about $1 billion annually in tax credits. The SR&ED arose in part out of difficulties experienced with the earlier Scientific Research Tax Credit (SRTC) which had been based on a flow-through mechanism for research and development expenditures (Lalonde, 1992; Doern, 1987). As Appendix I shows, the SR&ED is also the product of a long history of investment tax incentives and direct research and development grant programs (McQuillan and Goldsmith, 1976; Bernstein, 1986).

In the May 1985 Budget, the federal government extended the refundable system of investment tax credits begun in 1983. The SR&ED program also clarified in the definition of eligible scientific research and experimental development expenditures. Under the SR&ED scheme, full refundability was provided to Canadian-controlled private corporations with taxable income of less than $200 000 on the credits earned on the first $2 million of qualifying current expenses. Credits earned by other categories of firms were only partially refundable. Further changes were made to the program and to its administration as examined below, including the loss of the partial refundability component.

This paper seeks to provide a clear understanding of how institutional variables affect the design of the original policy, its overall implementation and the level of compliance. An explicitly academic or theoretical focus has been de-emphasized in the sense that the study does not review the extensive literature that exists in political science and public administration on the nature of political-institutional analysis. See J.G. March and J.P. Olsen, Rediscovering Institutions (New York: Free Press, 1989) and G. Bruce Doern, "The Evolution of Policy Studies as Art, Craft and Science" in L. Dobuzinskis, M. Howlett and D. Laycock, eds. Policy Studies in Canada: The State of the Art (Toronto: University of Toronto Press). Instead, it focuses (for an audience of research and development, and industrial policy specialists) on issues of potential organizational and institutional restructuring within which more cost-effective delivery and compliance might occur, including alternative dispute resolution (ADR) measures.

Institutional restructuring refers to an examination of the advantages and disadvantages of having the primary organizational location of the program changed from a tax collecting portfolio where it is now located, to other portfolios. These other portfolios could include fiscal or micro-economic, and research and development ministries or, as in Australia, an independent board. Alternative dispute resolution measures refer to other ombudsman-like, mediation or related measures which might be added to the administrative process either in addition to, or in lieu of, existing appeal and redress rights.

The institutional focus of the paper is intended to complement existing literature on the economic and legal aspects of tax policy and implementation. It is only through such a focus that a more complete picture of the political economy and institutional aspects of tax incentives can be obtained. Thus, the paper examines the policy mandates of, organizational cultures in and relationships among: Revenue Canada, the Department of Finance, Industry Canada and other relevant institutions and players such as the courts, research and development interest groups, key companies and the accounting and legal professions.

The interplay among these institutions is examined through:

  • the policy process that created the SR&ED incentive in 1986 and amended it in 1992;
  • the ongoing or normal decision process for handling applications for the incentive; and
  • the processes and dynamics for handling redress, appeals and actual or potential non-compliance (Law Reform Commission, 1986).

The first section presents a basic institutional framework for analyzing research and development tax incentives. The second section profiles the key federal institutional players focusing on the policies inherent in their mandate areas, and on the general values and incentive systems each brings to the policy and decision process. The third section examines the policy processes that resulted in the development of the SR&ED incentive in 1986, its amendment in 1992 and its ongoing quasi-policy-making processes established through the development of guidelines and circulars. The key substantive issues in the incentive program emerge from these political dynamics.

The fourth part of the paper zeroes in on the normal administrative process, focusing on processes for reviewing applications by both the scientific staff and financial auditors at Revenue Canada. It also deals with the role of other departments in influencing the design of these processes. This is followed, in the fifth section, by an examination of the appeals and redress process, both formal and informal.

Comparative issues and criteria for possible institutional change and the use of the Alternative Dispute Resolution mechanisms are then examined in the final section. Comparative analysis is related to:

  • the Australian model of an independent board and the related potential for different organizational locales in Canada such as having the program based in a fiscal ministerial portfolio or a micro-economic research and development ministerial portfolio;
  • other realms of Canadian micro-economic or business policy implementation; and
  • other taxpayers in Canada.

The actual or potential types of Alternative Dispute Resolution mechanisms are also profiled briefly. The final conclusions of the paper focus on how the overall interplay of institutions affects the SR&ED program and sets limits on future reform options.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document hors-série No 6 : Aspects institutionnels des stimulants fiscaux à la R-D : le crédit d'impôt à la RS&DE

par G. Bruce Doern, École d'administration publique, Université Carleton, en vertu d'un contrat passé avec Industrie Canada, avril 1995


Résumé

Dans le présent document, nous examinons l'évolution institutionnelle du crédit d'impôt fédéral à la recherche scientifique et au développement expérimental (RS&DE) L'analyse est fondée sur des rapports et des ouvrages publiés et sur plusieurs interviews menés par l'auteur aupr&eg rave;s de responsables et de spécialistes des secteurs public et privé qui participent à l'élaboration et à la mise en oeuvre des activités de RS&DE. Il avait été entendu avec les personnes interviewées qu'elles ne seraient pas citées. La collaboration de ces personnes est fortement appréciée, de même que les commentaires constructifs faits par plusieurs responsables et un arbitre anonyme.. Nous élaborons aussi un cadre institutionnel en vue de l'examen d'autres modèles de portefeuilles ministériels pour l'attribution de la re sponsabilité des stimulants fiscaux à la recherche et au développement et de la mise en oeuvre de ces mesures.

Instituée en 1986, la politique actuelle de soutien à la RS&DE donne lieu à des crédits d'impôt totalisant annuellement environ un milliard de dollars. Cette politique découle en partie des difficultés éprouvées avec le précédent crédit d'impôt à la recherche scientifique (CIRS), qui était fondé sur une formule de transfert des dépenses de recherche et de développement (Lalonde, 1992; Doern, 1987). Comme on peut le voir à l'appendice I, le crédit d'impôt à la RS&DE est aussi le dernier d'une longue série de stimulants fiscaux à l'investissement et de programmes de subventions directes à la recherche et au développement (McQuillan et Goldsmith, 1976; Bernstein, 1986).

Dans le budget de mai 1985, le gouvernement fédéral a étendu la portée du système de crédits d'impôt à l'investissement remboursables qu'il avait instauré en 1983. Le programme de stimulants à la RS&DE a aussi précisé la définition des dépenses admissibles de recherche scientifique et de développement expérimental. Dans le cas des sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien ayant un revenu imposable inférieur à 200 000 dollars, les dispositions du programme prévoyaient le remboursement intégral des crédits d'impôt visant la première tranche de deux millions de dollars de dépenses courant es de RS&DE admissibles. Les crédits gagnés par les autres entreprises n'étaient que partiellement remboursables. Comme nous le voyons plus loin, d'autres modifications ont été apportées au programme et à ses modalités administratives, notamment la suppression des dispositions relatives au remboursement partiel du crédit d'impôt à la RS&DE.

Dans ce document, nous tentons de préciser comment les variables institutionnelles ont pu influer sur la conception de la politique à l'origine, sa mise en oeuvre globale et le niveau d'observation. Nous avons délibérément cherché à limiter le volet théorique ou académique de cette étude en omettant de faire un examen détaillé des travaux publiés dans les domaines des sciences politiques et de l'administration publique sur la nature de l'analyse politico-institutionnelle Voir J.G. March et J.P. Olsen, Rediscovering Institutions, Free Press, New York, 1989, et G. Bruce Doern, « The Evolution of Policy Studies as Art, Craft and Science », paru dans Policy Studies in Canada: The State of the Art, ouvrage paru sous la direction de L. Dobuzinskis, M. Howlett et D. Laycock, University of Toronto Press, Toronto. Plutôt, nous avons mis l'accent (à l'inten-tion d'un auditoire de spécialistes de la recherche-développement et de la politique industrielle) sur les questions que pourrait soulever une restructuration organisationnelle et institutionnelle visant à assurer une prestation plus efficace et à moindre coût et un meilleur taux d'observation, y compris l'adoption d'autres mécanismes de règlement des différends (AMRD).

La restructuration institutionnelle a trait à l'examen des avantages et des inconvénients d'un déplacement éventuel de l'assise organisationnelle principale du programme, du ministère dont le mandat est de percevoir les impôts, comme c'est le cas à l'heure actuelle, à un autre ministère. Il pourrait s'agir d'un ministère responsable du budget, de la politique micro-économique ou de la recherche-développement ou encore, comme en Australie, d'une commission indépendante. Les AMRD ont trait aux autres mécanismes de médiation ou régimes faisant intervenir un ombudsman qui pourraient être intégrés au processus administratif en complément ou en remplacement des droits d'appel et de recours actuels.

Le volet institutionnel de la présente étude vise à compléter les travaux déjà publiés sur les aspects économiques et juridiques de la politique fiscale et de la mise en oeuvre des mesures connexes. Ce n'est que sous un tel éclairage qu'un tableau plus complet de l'économie politique et des aspects institutionnels des stimulants fiscaux peut être présenté. Ainsi, nous examinons dans le document les mandats en matière de politiques, les cultures organisationnelles et les rapports qui existent entre Revenu Canada, le ministère des Finances, Industrie Canada et les autres institutions et intervenants intéressés par ces questions, comme les tribunaux, les groupes d'intérêts du secteur de la recherche-développement, les grandes entreprises et les professions comptable et juridique.

L'interaction entre ces institutions est étudiée dans la perspective :

  • du processus politique qui a engendré les stimulants à la RS&DE en 1986 et qui l'a modifié en 1992;
  • du processus décisionnel habituel ou normal lié au traitement des demandes de crédits d'impôt; et
  • des processus et des éléments dynamiques du traitement des recours, des appels et des cas réels ou éventuels de non observation (Commission de réforme du droit, 1986).

Dans la première partie, nous présentons un cadre institutionnel élémentaire pour l'analyse des stimulants fiscaux à la recherche et au développement. Dans la deuxième partie, nous traçons un profil des principaux intervenants institutionnels au palier fédéral en mettant l'accent sur les politiques qui se rattachent à leurs mandats respectifs et sur les systèmes généraux de valeurs et de stimulants que chacun apporte au processus d'élaboration des politiques et de prise de décision. Dans la troisième partie, nous examinons les processus connexes aux politiques qui ont abouti à la mise au point des mesures d'incitation à la RS&DE en 1986 et à leur modification en 1992, de même que les processus permanents, quasi-décisionnels, mis en place par le truchement des lignes directrices et des circulaires. Les principales questions de fond liées au programme des stimulants ressortent de cette dynamique politique.

Dans la quatrième partie du document, nous nous intéressons au processus administratif habituel, en mettant l'accent sur les modalités d'examen des demandes appliquées par le personnel scientifique et les vérificateurs financiers de Revenu Canada. Nous y traitons aussi du rôle que jouent les autres ministères en vue d'influencer la conception de ces modalités. Suit, dans la cinquième partie, un examen du processus des appels et recours, tant formels qu'informels.

La dernière partie est consacrée a un examen comparatif des enjeux et des critères reliés à un éventuel changement institutionnel et à l'utilisation d'autres mécanismes de règlement des différends. L'analyse comparative est centrée sur :

  • le modèle australien de commission indépendante et les possibilités que l'on peut en inférer en vue de modifier le siège de ces activités au Canada, par exemple en relogeant le programme dans un ministère à vocation budgétaire ou un ministère responsable de la politique micro-économique axée sur la recherche-développement;
  • les autres domaines de mise en oeuvre des politiques micro-économiques ou des politiques visant les entreprises au Canada; et
  • les autres contribuables canadiens.

Les catégories réelles ou possibles de mécanismes de règlement des différends sont aussi décrites brièvement. Dans la conclusion finale du document, nous insistons sur la façon dont l'interaction globale des institutions influe sur le programme de stimulants à la RS&DE et restreint les options qui s'offrent en vue d'une réforme.

Date de modification :