Archived — Discussion Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 1: Multinationals as Agents of Change: Setting A New Canadian Policy on Foreign Direct Investment

by Lorraine Eden, Carleton University, November 1994


Summary

The trade and investment environment of North America has been transformed dramatically over the past 20 years by pressures coming from two directions. In terms of market structures, the main shaping force has been widespread trade liberalization in the form of such regional trading arrangements as the 1989 Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement and the 1994 North American Free Trade Agreement. International investment liberalization has also gained momentum causing the further globalization of world markets. In the same period, fundamental new technologies and flexible automation have caused a massive shift from mass production to lean production methods.

These forces have changed the ways in which firms produce and compete with one another. They are already forcing major structural adjustments by business as competition among firms for market share shifts from being national to being regional. In most sectors, global competition is now the norm.

How are the biggest firms in Canada responding to these changes, and what responses should they evoke from the makers of foreign direct investment (FDI) policy? This paper seeks to answer these questions.

In the context of increasing regional integration and the move to lean production, multinational enterprises (MNEs) are increasingly international actors faced by change, and, at the same time, they are agents of change themselves. As a result, it is time for government to adopt a new approach to FDI policy — one that treats MNEs as investment bridges to the global economy and as diffusers of technology within the Canadian economy.

A brief historical summary traces Canada's treatment of foreign direct investment from 1960 to the present and the development of a "hub-and-spoke" economic relationship between Canada and the United States. The survey points to the deep integration of the Canadian and U.S. economies and suggests that this integration will become even more extensive and multifaceted as a result of regional trading agreements.

After surveying the trade and direct investment links and intra-firm trade between the two countries, the effects of regional integration and technological change on MNEs in Canada are outlined, paying particular attention to their influence on decisions about the function and location of plants. With the advent of regional trading agreements and enhanced economic integration, underlying economic factors will have more impact on MNEs' locational and organizational decisions. Because MNEs are concerned about their shares of global markets, they change the configuration of their activities so as to increase their international competitiveness. Generally speaking, MNEs will locate plants and operations with the new wider North American market in mind. More horizontal and vertical rationalization will take place, leading to more intra-firm exchanges. This means that Canada will have to articulate a clear role for itself in a North American regional strategy to attract investment from abroad. Canadian subsidiaries will have to work hard to define a role for themselves within the overall operations of the MNE.

The paper concludes by suggesting a new foreign direct investment policy for Canada; one that would not differentiate between inward and outward investment, but that would seek to maximize the gains to Canada from MNE activities in both directions. The principal policy direction proposed is for Canada to develop a new national policy centred on the strategic integration of Canada into the global economy. The goal of this new strategy would be to achieve long-run national competitiveness by emphasizing the removal of tariff and non-tariff barriers to trade and investment, by making a commitment to the knowledge-based economy with its focus on innovation, competition and sustainability and by focussing on a national education policy for the 21st century.

This strategic integration policy could be supplemented with other efforts including:

  • getting the basics right by dealing with the deficit, macro-economic policy, regulatory burden and the duplication of government services;
  • moving from confrontation to cooperation with MNEs in Canada;
  • securing access to the U.S. market;
  • reducing state aids to business and adopting a free trade zone strategy; and
  • upgrading to best practice technology by attracting best practice multinationals to Canada.

In the new environment of globalized markets, governments and MNEs are partners in the race to engineer competitive advantage. Given the rising importance of MNEs and the growing importance of intra-firm trade, increasingly Canadian foreign and trade policies will have to focus on MNEs and their investments.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document de discussion No 1 : Les multinationales comme agents du changement : Définition d'une nouvelle politique canadienne en matière d'investissement étranger direct

par Lorraine Eden, Université Carleton, novembre 1994


Résumé

Au cours des 20 dernières années, des pressions venant de deux directions ont transformé radicalement le contexte nord-américain des échanges commerciaux et des investissements. Au chapitre des structures du marché, le principal agent de transformation a été la libéralisation généralisée des échanges sous forme d'accords commerciaux régionaux, tels que l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis de 1989 et l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain de 1994. La libéralisation des investissements internationaux a également pris de l'ampleur, accentuant ainsi la mondialisation des marchés. Parallèlement, à cause des nouvelles technologies fondamentales et de la production flexible, les méthodes de production de masse ont été largement remplacées par des méthodes de production sur commande.

Ces forces ont modifié les façons de produire et de concurrencer des entreprises. Déjà, elles obligent les entreprises à faire d'importants ajustements structurels, puisque la concurrence qu'elles se livrent pour occuper leur part du marché est davantage d'ordre régional que national. Dans la plupart des secteurs, la concurrence mondiale est devenue la norme.

Comment les grandes entreprises canadiennes réagissent-elles à ces changements et quels faits devraient-elles présenter aux responsables de la politique en matière d'investissement étranger direct (IED)? Le présent document tente de répondre à ces questions.

Compte tenu de l'accroissement de l'intégration régionale et de l'adoption de méthodes de production sur commande, les entreprises multinationales (EM) sont de plus en plus des acteurs internationaux obligés de faire face au changement et, en même temps, elles sont des agents de changement. Il est donc temps pour le gouvernement d'adopter une nouvelle démarche à l'égard de la politique en matière d'IED — une démarche selon laquelle les EM font fonction de pont avec l'économie mondiale au chapitre des investissements, et de diffuseur de technologies au sein de l'économie canadienne.

Dans un bref historique, on retrace la façon dont le Canada traite l'investissement direct étranger depuis 1960, ainsi que la création de relations économiques en étoile avec les États-Unis. L'enquête souligne la profonde intégration des économies canadienne et américaine, et fait valoir que cette intégration s'accentuera encore davantage et prendra plusieurs formes, compte tenu des accords commerciaux régionaux qui ont été conclus.

Cette enquête porte sur les liens entre le commerce et l'investissement direct et les échanges intra-groupes des deux pays, et expose les effets de l'intégration régionale et du progrès technologique sur les EM au Canada, en faisant particulièrement ressortir l'incidence de ces facteurs sur les décisions relatives à l'utilisation et à l'emplacement des usines. Avec l'avènement d'accords commerciaux régionaux et l'accroissement de l'intégration économique, les facteurs économiques sous-jacents auront une plus grande influence sur les décisions relatives à l'organisation et à l'emplacement des EM. Puisque les multinationales s'intéressent à leur part du marché mondial, elles modifient la structure de leurs activités, de manière à accroître leur compétitivité sur le plan international. En règle générale, les multinationales décideront de l'emplacement de leurs usines et de leurs activités en tenant compte du marché nord-américain élargi. Les rationalisations horizontale et verticale s'intensifieront et favoriseront de plus nombreux eacute;changes intra-groupes. Cela signifie que le Canada devra se définir un rôle précis dans le cadre d'une stratégie régionale nord-américaine visant à attirer les investissements de l'étranger. Les filiales canadiennes devront s'employer à se définir un rôle pour elles-mêmes dans le cadre des activités mondiales des multinationales.

En conclusion, l'enquête propose une nouvelle politique pour le Canada en matière d'investissement direct étranger, c'est-à-dire une politique qui ne ferait pas de distinction entre l'investissement direct à l'étranger et l'investissement direct de l'étranger, mais qui chercherait à maximiser les gains que le Canada pourrait tirer des activités des multinationales, quelle que soit la direction qu'elles prennent. La politique repose sur le principe fondamental voulant que le Canada élabore une nouvelle politique nationale axée sur son intégration stratégique au sein de l'économie mondiale. L'objectif de cette nouvelle stratégie? Que le Canada devienne compétitif à long terme, en mettant l'accent sur la suppression des obstacles tarifaires et non tarifaires au commerce et à l'investissement, en s'engageant dans la voie de l'économie axée sur les connaissances, dont les principaux éléments sont l'innovation, la concurrence et le caractère durable, et en accordant une attention particulière à l'élaboration d'une politique nationale de l'éducation pour le 21e siècle.

Cette politique d'intégration stratégique pourrait être accompagnée d'autres mesures, notamment :

  • régler les questions essentielles : le déficit, la politique macro-économique, le fardeau de la réglementation et le chevauchement des services gouvernementaux;
  • délaisser l'affrontement et adopter la collaboration avec les multinationales au Canada;
  • se ménager un accès au marché américain;
  • réduire l'aide de l'État aux entreprises et adopter une stratégie de zone franche;
  • améliorer les meilleures technologies en attirant au Canada les multinationales ayant adopté les meilleures pratiques de gestion.

Dans le nouveau contexte de la mondialisation des marchés, l'État et les multinationales sont partenaires dans la course à l'obtention d'un avantage concurrentiel. Compte tenu de l'importance grandissante des multinationales et des échanges intra-groupes, les politiques canadiennes en matière de commerce et d'affaires étrangères devront, plus que jamais, mettre l'accent sur les multinationales et leurs investissements.

Date de modification :