Archived — Occasional Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 5: Competitiveness: Concepts and Measures

by Donald G. McFetridge, Department of Economics, Carleton University, under contract to Industry Canada, April 1995


Summary

The purpose of this study is to explain and evaluate concepts and measures of competitiveness. Competitiveness means different things to different people. It is helpful to consider competitiveness at three different levels of aggregation:

  • the firm;
  • the industry or groups of industries; and
  • the nation.

At each level of aggregation, there are different measures, or indicators, of competitiveness. They vary in what they imply about the present and future economic success or well-being of a firm, industry or nation. Some concepts of competitiveness are applicable at one level of aggregation but not at another.

This paper begins by discussing measures of competitiveness at the firm level, where the concept of competitiveness is most meaningful. The paper then turns to competitiveness at the industry level and then at the national level. The paper concludes with a discussion of the policy implications of the more persuasive concepts of competitiveness.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document hors-série No 5 : La compétitivité : notions et mesures

par Donald G. McFetridge, Département d'économique, Université Carleton, en vertu d'un contrat passé avec Industrie Canada, avril 1995


Résumé

La présente étude a pour but d'expliquer et d'évaluer les notions et les mesures de la compétitivité. Comme tout le monde ne donne pas le même sens à la notion de compétitivité, il est utile de l'envisager selon trois niveaux d'agrégation différents :

  • l'entreprise;
  • la branche d'activité économique ou le secteur d'activité;
  • le pays dans son ensemble.

À chaque niveau d'agrégation correspondent diverses mesures (divers indicateurs) de la compétitivité, qui donnent un éclairage différent selon qu'il s'agit de l'essor économique ou le bien-être présent et futur d'une entreprise, d'une branche d'activité ou d'un pays. Certaines notions de la compétitivité s'appliquent à un niveau d'agrégation, mais non aux autres.

Dans le présent document, nous examinons d'abord les mesures de la compétitivité au niveau de l'entreprise, où la notion est la plus significative. Nous nous penchons ensuite sur la compétitivité au niveau de la branche d'activité économique, puis à celui du pays tout entier. En guise de conclusion, nous proposons une analyse des conséquences, sur le plan des politiques, des notions les plus persuasives de la compétitivité.

Date de modification :