Archived — Discussion Paper Number 3: Canadian Corporate Governance Policy Options

by Ronald J. Daniels, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto and Randall Morck, Faculty of Business, University of Alberta, March 1996


1. Globalization: The Economics Behind the Scenes

No crystal ball is required to predict that, in the coming decades, the Canadian economy will increasingly be subjected to the phenomenon the popular press has labelled "globalization". Some key effects of globalization on Canada are already evident. One of them is that consumers now have greater choice because products from all over the world are available in Canada at affordable prices. Another is that globalization constrains government in new ways. Investors, entrepreneurs and businesses who do not like Canadian government policy are free, as never before, to take their business elsewhere. Globalization has also opened world markets to Canadian businesses while at the same time subjecting many Canadian companies to competition from parts of the world almost unheard of a decade ago. In Canada, the combined effects of globalization have forced a rapid rationalization of the economy, which has disrupted the status quo. People of different ideological persuasions may view these effects in different lights, but there is no longer any doubt that the effects are real.

The purpose of this paper is to examine corporate decision-making in Canada and to clarify the factors that, in the past, have sometimes led to less than optimal corporate governance. In this context, poor corporate governance practices that might have been tolerable even recently are now untenable. Our ultimate goal is to clarify government policy options that are realistic in the new global economic environment and also likely to improve Canadian corporate governance.

In 1930 the Austrian economist, Joseph Schumpeter, proposed that a process he termed "creative destruction" underlies the success of capitalism. Capitalism hugely, some would say obscenely, rewards people who create innovations that improve efficiency or better meet consumer demand. Capitalism also destroys firms, sometimes brutally, that fail in these dimensions. Creative destruction, Schumpeter argues, leads to unmatched improvements in both production efficiency and living standards. Increasingly, mainstream economists are accepting Schumpeter's ideas, and now widely agree that giving free reign to capitalist creativity is more important than avoiding transitory monopoly pricing or other economic distortions.

Over the last several decades, the role of markets has increased steadily in both the industrialized and developing world. In large part, this growth of market importance, and the consequent premium on competitiveness, is related to the global integration of product, capital, and labour markets. The source of this integration has been thoroughly canvassed elsewhere and is mainly the results of reductions in domestic trade-protection barriers, technological innovation, and the liberalization of the command-based economies. The premium on international competitiveness has been felt more acutely in Canada than in other countries, owing to this country's relative openness to foreign competition. Compared to other OECD countries, the Canadian economy exhibits high levels of export dependency and import penetration. Canada's export sector, for instance, constitutes 25.2 percent of the domestic economy — second only to Germany's among the G-7 countries in terms of the importance of export trade to the overall economy. Likewise, in 1970 Canada's import penetration rate was more than five times that of the United States, and was three times the U.S. rate in 1985. Another indication of Canada's dependence on external markets is the high level of foreign direct investment. In 1990 for instance, Canda received 5 percent of the total foreign direct investment inflows to larger industrialized countries, whereas the United States, with an economy roughly 10 times as large, received on 29 percent.

The increasing openness of industrialized economies to the pressures of external markets has spawned a number of different effects. One of the most important is a sharp increase in the pace of innovation. In 1992, 1 87 200 patent applications were filed in the United States, up from 105 300 in 1972 and 68 384 in 1952. There were also 3 107 new product introductions in the United States in 1992, up from 1762 in 1982. When less tangible innovations are included in areas such as human resources management, marketing strategy, etc., the rate of creativity may well be even greater. Continual innovation is expensive, so innovative firms need to be able to reach large numbers of customers quickly in order to earn maximum returns on their creativity. Access to global markets is therefore essential for Canada, and that means granting foreign firms reciprocal access to Canadian markets.

This stepped-up pace of innovation means firms that lag behind can be pushed into obsolescence, and their work forces left high and dry. An innovative new competitor from a remote corner of the world can grab market share with little warning. The bankruptcy rate tracks the downside of this creativity explosion. In 1993 in the United States, 85 982 businesses failed; in 1952 there were 8 862 business failures. Of course, bankruptcy laws and practices have changed over the years, as has the distribution of company failures across industries. Also, the employees of failed companies do not always lose their jobs. Often in bankruptcy, the creditors sell off the assets of the defunct firm as a unit and the buyer retains many or most of the predecessor firm's employees. Nonetheless, this increased pace of bankruptcy has substantial social costs.

In Canada there appears to be a clear national interest in fostering innovation, in encouraging Canadian firms to get ahead and stay ahead, and in cushioning firms that fall behind. Yet, the globalization of the economy constrains government in new ways too.

Traditional government policies based on taxes and subsidies are in disrepute. Government subsidies and tax credits for R&D are perhaps more likely to foster innovative "mining" of the government than true innovation. Government industrial policies that have sought to pick winners and subsidize their growth have seldom succeeded. Even the one previously notable exception, Japan, is now known to be no exception at all. Beason and Weinstein (1994) collected hard data on how much money the Japanese industrial policy directed at whom; and show convincingly that subsidies in the country were directed mainly at losers. The recipients of the biggest subsidies in Japan were weak firms whose collective performance actually declined subsequently. Indeed, taxing winners to subsidize losers, or even potential winners, is particularly unwise in a global economy where individual nations must compete for mobile capital and, especially, for information (etc., people with expertise). Both capital and people can go elsewhere if they are too heavily taxed. In this new environment, taxing winners heavily to cushion losers is likely to lead in short order to a country of losers.

In short, government itself has become a competitive business in the new global economy. In the past, governments were monopolies. Businesses and people who did not like the government of the day could work to change it, but rarely could they simply take there business elsewhere. Today they can, and do. Governments are therefore under pressure themselves to become "competitive". Competitive government is not necessarily small government; rather, it is government that provides services most people and businesses want at tax rates they are willing to pay. Understandably, selective subsidies financed by taxes levied on everyone are seldom seen to fit these categories.

How then is government, robbed of its traditional policy tools, to promote the public interest in this new economic reality? We devote the final study in this volume to a list of viable options. A central thrust of our analysis is that governments should focus on framework policy. That is to say, the state should focus on providing the legal and institutional environment in which markets and firms are able to thrive. As Michael Porter has observed

…[g]overnment's proper role is as a pusher and challenger. There is a vital role for pressure even adversity in the process of creating national competitive advantage … Sound government policy seeks to provide the tools necessary to compete, through active efforts to bolster factor creation, while ensuring a certain discomfort and strong competitive pressure.

In our view, a core feature of an effective framework for competition is the nature and quality of the corporate governance system that obtains in a given country. Here, we refer to the legal and market institutions that make up a country's corporate governance system. Nevertheless, before we begin to think about the precise nature of an optimal corporate governance system, there is great need to sort out where exactly the public interest lies in issues of corporate governance.

Date modified:

Archivé — Document de discussion No 3 : La régie des sociétés au Canada et les choix sur le plan des politiques

par Ronald J. Daniels, Faculté de droit de l'Université de Toronto, et Randall Morck, Faculté d'administration des affaires de l'Université de l'Alberta, mars 1996


1. Les rouages économiques fondamentaux de la mondialisation

Nul n'a besoin d'une boule de cristal pour prédire qu'au cours de prochaines décennies, l'économie canadienne sera de plus en plus exposée au prénomène que la presse populaire a appelé la « mondialisation ». Certains des effets les plus importants de la mondialisation sur le Canada sont déjà manifestes. Ainsi, les consommateurs canadiens ont maintenant un choix plus vaste parce que des peoduits de partout dans le monde sont disponibles au paysà des prix abordables. Par aileurs, la mondialisation impose à l'État de nouvelles contraintes. Les investisseurs, les entrepreneurs et les sociétés qui n'apprécient pas la politique du gouvernement canadien sont libres, comme jamais auparavant, d'aller mener leurs affaires à l'étranger. La mondialisation a aussi ouvert les marchés mondiaux aux entreprises canadiennes mais, simultanément, elle a exposé de nombreuses sociétés canadiennes à la concurrence de certaines régions du monde dont nous n'avions pratiquement jamais entendu parler il y a une dizaine d'années. Au Canada, les effets conjugués de la mondialisation ont imposé une rationalisation rapide de l'économie qui a perturbé le statu quo. On peut examiner ces effets sous l'éclairage d'idéologies différentes, mais il ne fait dorénavant plus de doute qu'ils sont bien réels.

Dans ce document, nous examinons la prise de décisions dans les entreprises au Canada en tentant de préciser les facteurs qui ont parfois donné lieu à une régie d'entreprise moins qu'optimale. Dans ce contexte, de mauvaises pratiques de régie d'entreprise qui ont pu être tolérées jusqu'à récemment sont maintenant jugées inacceptables. Notre objectif ultime est de faire ressortir des solutions, sur le plan des politiques, qui soient réalistes dans le nouveau contexte économique mondial tout en offrant des chances d'améliorer la régie d'entreprise au Canada.

Dans les années 30, l'économiste autrichien Joseph Schumpeter soutenait que le succès du capitalisme reposait sur un processus qu'il appelait la « destruction créatrice ». Le capitalisme récompense immensément — certains diraient de façon obscène — les gens qui conçoivent des innovations permettantd'améliorer l'efficience ou de mieux répondre aux besoins des consommateurs. Mais le capitalisme détruit, parfois brutalement, les entreprises qui échouent sous ces deux dimensions. Selon la thèse de Schumpeter, la destruction créatrice engendre des améliorations incomparables à la fois dans l'efficience de la production et dans le niveau de vie. De plus en plus, les économistes qui s'inscrivent dans le courant de pensée dominant acceptent les idées de Schumpeter et reconnaissent, en grande majorité aujourd'hui, qu'il importe davantage de laisser libre cours à la créativité capitaliste que d'éviter les prix monopolistiques transitoires ou d'autres distorsions économiques.

Au cours des dernières décennies, les marchés ont progressivement joué un rôle plus déterminant tant dans le monde industrialisé que dans les pays en développement. Pour unelarge part, la place de plus en plus importante faite au marché et la prime qui en découle sur le plan de la compétitivité sont liées à l'intégration mondiale des marchés des produits, des capitaux et de la main-d'oeuvre. L'origine de cette intégration, qui a été étudiée attentivement par d'autres, serait attribuable principalement à la réduction des obstacles intérieurs au commerce, à l'innovation technologique et à la libéralisation des économies dirigées. La prime liée à la compétitivité internationale a fait sentir davantage ses effets au Canada que dans d'autres pays, en raison de la plus grande ouverture de l'économie canadienne à la concurrence étrangère. Comparativement aux autres pays de l'OCDE, le Canada affiche un plus haut niveau de dépendance à l'égard des exportations et un plus haut niveau depénétration des importations. Ainsi, le secteur des exportations représente 25,2 pour cent de l'économie intérieure, ce qui place le Canada au deuxième rang derrière l'Allemagne parmi les pays du G-7 pour l'importance du commerce d'exportation dans l'ensemble de l'économie. En 1970, le taux de pénétration des importations au Canada était cinq fois plus élevé qu'aux États-Unis et, en 1985, il représentait encore trois fois celui de ce pays. Une autre indication de la dépendance du Canada à l'égard des marchés extérieurs est le niveau élevé de l'investissement étranger direct. En 1990, par exemple, le Canada a reçu 5 pour cent du flux total des investissements étrangers directs vers les grands pays industrialisés, tandis ue les États-Unis, dont l'économie est environ dix fois plus grande, en ont reçu 29 pour cent.

La plus grande ouverture des économies industrialisées aux pressions des marchésextérieurs a eu un certain nombre de répercussions. L'une des plus importantes est l'augmentation marguée de la cadence des innovations. En 1992, 187 200 demandes de brevets ont été déposées aux États-Unis, comparativement à 105 300 en 1972 et à 68 384 en 1952. Il y a eu par ailleurs 3 107 lancements de nouveaux produits aux États-Unis en 1992, alors qu'il y en avait eu 1762 en 1982. Si l'on tient compte des innovations moins tangibles dans les domaines de la gestion des ressources humaines, des stratégies de commercialisation et d'autres, le taux de créativité pourrait bien être plus élevé. L'innovation continue est coûteuse et les entreprises novatrices doivent pouvoir rejoindre rapidement un important bassin de clients pour tirer le rendement maximum de leur effort de créativité. L'accès aux marchés mondiaux est donc essentiel pour le Canada et cela veut dire que nous devons accorder aux entreprises étrangères un accès réciproque aux marchés canadiens.

Le rythme plus rapide de l'innovations signifie que les entreprises qui tirent de l'arrière peuvent être reléguées dans un état d'obsolescence et que leur main-d'oeuvre sera alors laissée pour compte. Un nouveau concurrent innovateur établi dans une région éloignée du globe pourra s'accaparer une part du marché sans avertissement. Le taux de faillites d'entreprises rend compte du côté négatif du bilan de cette explosion de la créativité. En 1993, 85 982 entreprises ont fait faillite aux États-Unis, comparativement à 8 862 en 1952. Bien entendu, les lois et les pratiques en matière d'insolvabilité ont changé au fil des années, tout comme la répartition des faillites d'entreprises entre les divers secteurs. De plus, les employés des entreprises défaillantes ne perdent pas toujours leur emploi. Souvent, les créanciers vendront en bloc l'actif de l'entreprise et l'acquéreur conservera une bonne partie ou la plupart des employés. Néanmoins, l'augmentation du rythme des faillites comporte des coûts sociaux élevés.

Il semble clairement dans l'intérêt du Canada de promouvoir l'innovation, d'encourager les entreprises canadiennes à prendre les devants — et à y demeurer — et de fournir un appui aux entreprises qui tirent de l'arrière. Mais la mondialisation de l'économie exerce aussi de nouvelles contraintes sur les gouvernements.

Les politiques gouvernementales classiques, fondées sur les impôts et les subventions, sont en défaveur. Il se pourrait que les subventions gouvernementales et les crédits d'impôt à la R-D aident davantage à concevoir des façons inédites d' « exploiter » l'État qu'elles ne suscitent des innovations véritables. Les politiques industrielles qui visaient à sélectionner des gagnants et à subventionner leur croissance ont rarement donné de bons résultats. Même l'exception notable à cet égard — le Japon — ne fait plus bande à part. Beason et Weinstein (1994) ont recueilli des données sur la valeur et les bénéficiaires des capitaux que la politique industrielle japonaise a ainsi réorientés; ces données montrent de façon convaincante que les subventions versées dans ce pays seont allées principalement a des perdants. Le bénéficiaires des plus fortes subventions au Japon ont été les entreprises les plus faibles dont la performance collective a par la suite diminué en termes réels. De fait, l'imposition des gagnants dans le but de subventionner les perdants, ou même des gagnants éventuels, est une pratique particulièrement téméraire dans un context économique mondial où les pays sont en concurrence pour attirer les capitaux mobiles et, en particulier, l'information (c'est-à-dire les gens qui possèdent des connaissances spécialisées). Les capitaux comme les gens peuvent aller ailleurs s'ils sont trop lourdement taxés. Dans ce nouveau contexte, accabler d'impôts les gagnants afin de soutenir les perdants risque de mener, à brève échéance, à un pays de perdants.

Bref, l'État lui-même est devenu un secteur concurrentiel dans la nouvelle économie mondiale. Autrefois, les gouvernements jouissaient d'une position monopolistique. Les entreprises et les particuliers qui n'aimaient pas le gouvernement de l'heure pouvaient tenter de le changer, mais il était rare qu'ils pouvaient tout simplement transporter leurs affaires ailleurs. Aujourd'hui, ils le peuvent et ils le font. Les gouvernements sont donc soumis eux-mêmes à des pressions pour devenir plus « concurrentiels ». Un État concurrentiel ne signifie par forcément un État de plus petite taille, mais d'un État qui fournit des services que la plupart des gens et des entreprises veulent, à des taux d'imposition qu'ils sont disposés à supporter. Manifestement, les subventions sélectives financées par des impôts universels entrent rarement dans ces catégories.

Comment alors le gouvernement, privé de ses instruments d'intervention classiques, pourra-t-il promouvoir l'intérêt public dans cette dressons un bilan des options viables à cet égard. Un thème central de notre analyse est que les gouvernements doivent mettre l'acfent sur les politiques cadres. Cela veut dire que l'État devrait s'efforcer de mettre en place le cadre juridique et institutionel qui permettra aux marchés et aux entreprises de prospérer. Comme Michael Porter l'a fait observer :

[…] le rôle qu'il convient au gouvernement de jouer est celui de poussoir et de stimulant. La pression, voire l'adversité, ont un rôle vital à jouer dans le processus de création d'un avantage concurrentiel national… Une politique gouvernementale avisée cherchera à fournir les outils nécessaires pour soutenir la concurrence, par des efforts énergiques visant à accroître la production de facteurs, tout en faisant en sorte de maintenir un certain inconfort et une forte pression concurrentielle.

À notre avis, la nature et la qualité du système de régie d'entreprise est un élément fondamental du cadre de concurrence effectif d'une économieé Ici, nous voulons parler des institutions juridiques et commerciales qui constituent le régime de régie des sociétés dans un pays donné. Néanmoins, avant de commencer à réfléchir sur la nature précise d'un régime optimal de régie d'entreprise, il est essentiel de préciser où se situe exactement l'intérêt public sur ce plan.

Date de modification :