Archived — Working Paper Number 10: R&D and Productivity Growth in Canadian Communications Equipment and Manufacturing

by Jeffrey I. Bernstein, Carleton University and The National Bureau of Economic Research, June 1996


Summary

Productivity and the factors of production are the two sources of output growth in an economy. Productivity growth generally arises from technological improvements, scale economies and other sources of efficiency gains over time. Indeed, it is important for a society to have a stable and positive long-term productivity growth rate, because the associated gains lead to improvements in living standards.

It is primarily advances in the state of knowledge through technological change which determine productivity growth over long periods of time; research and development (R&D) investments contribute directly to knowledge accumulation. Investment in R&D generates new products and production processes, and thereby contributes to productivity improvements. A distinctive feature of R&D investment is that the benefits from R&D activities spill over among firms and other organizations. Productivity growth in an industry, therefore, depends on its own R&D activities, as well as on the R&D efforts of other knowledge-generating industries. This implies that productivity growth is influenced by joint cumulative R&D activity. The significance of R&D spillovers in generating productivity growth has stimulated a growing interest in the sources of R&D spillovers. It has also been observed that high-tech industries exhibit relatively high rates of productivity growth and are important sources of R&D spillovers. Firms operating in the Canadian communications and other electronic equipment industries are centres of knowledge-based activity. Hence, this industry provides an important opportunity to consider the role of R&D investment generally in improving productivity performance.

This paper addresses three major issues.

The first issue has to do with estimating the effects of R&D spillovers from the communications equipment industry on the structure of production or factor intensities (i.e., the labour-output, intermediate input-output, physical capital-output, and R&D capital-output ratios) of the Canadian manufacturing sector (measured as net of the communications equipment industry). In addition, because spillovers from the United States have significant effects on Canadian factor requirements, those emanating from the U.S. manufacturing sector are also included. In order to determine whether the production structure of the communications equipment industry differs from that of other manufacturing industries, the effects of R&D spillovers on factor intensities in the communications equipment industry are also estimated. In this case, R&D spillovers derive from both the Canadian manufacturing sector and the U.S. electrical products industry.

The second issue relates to the contribution of R&D spillovers to productivity growth. Productivity growth in Canadian manufacturing is measured and decomposed, so that the sources of growth, and especially the contribution of spillovers from the communications equipment industry and the U.S. manufacturing sector, can be determined. In addition, a similar analysis is conducted with respect to productivity growth in the communications equipment industry, where spillovers emanate from the Canadian manufacturing sector and the U.S. electrical products industry. The results of these analyses enable us to consider the extent to which R&D capital accumulation by producers in one segment of the economy influences productivity growth of producers in other industries or sectors.

The first two issues address the effects of R&D spillovers from the viewpoint of its user or receiver. Turning to the source of spillovers, the third issue pertains to an estimation of the private and social rates of return to R&D capital. Private rates of return measure the benefits that accrue to those engaged in R&D activities; social rates of return measure the benefits that accrue to the users of the investment.

Several conclusions are reached in this paper.

First, between 1966 and 1991 the average annual rate of productivity growth in the communications equipment industry was 1.24 percent, while the growth rate for manufacturing averaged 0.50 percent. Thus, the rate of productivity growth in communications equipment was 150 percent higher than in manufacturing. Moreover, unlike manufacturing (which suffered a productivity slowdown in the post-1973 period — from 1.08 percent to 0.23 percent), the average annual productivity growth in the communications equipment industry increased by 46 percent, from 0.94 percent to 1.37 percent.

Second, as a source of spillovers, the communications equipment industry affects the production structure (i.e., factor intensities) of the manufacturing sector. Indeed, it is estimated that a 1 percent expansion of R&D capital in the communications equipment industry leads to an increase of 0.15 percent in knowledge intensity for the entire manufacturing sector. This magnitude is quite large in light of the fact that this effect emanates from a single three-digit standard industrial classification industry. In addition, spillovers from the communications equipment industry reduce factor intensities associated with physical capital, labour and intermediate inputs (such as materials).

In terms of relative importance, the R&D spillovers from the U.S. manufacturing sector generate greater effects on Canadian manufacturing factor intensities than spillovers from the communications equipment industry. It is noteworthy that the R&D capital inputs between the two North American manufacturing sectors are substitutes. A 1 percent increase in U.S. manufacturing R&D capital leads to a 0.52 percent reduction in the domestic knowledge intensity in Canadian manufacturing.

Third, factor intensities in the Canadian communications equipment industry are affected by spillovers from both Canadian manufacturing and the U.S. electrical products industry. Both sources of spillovers reduce labour and intermediate input intensities and increase the intensity of physical capital. However, the spillovers from Canadian manufacturing reduce the R&D intensity of the communications equipment industry. A 1 percent increase in the R&D capital of Canadian manufacturing leads to a 0.38 percent decline in the R&D intensity of the communications equipment industry. Combining the results of spillovers between communications equipment and manufacturing, we can see that expanding R&D capital in the communications equipment industry increases the R&D intensity of manufacturing production. This result then mitigates the need (when all other elements are held constant) for further R&D expansion in the communications equipment industry. The spillovers from the U.S. electrical products industry increase the R&D intensity in the Canadian communications equipment industry. Between these two industries, R&D capital stocks are therefore complementary. In addition, R&D capital from the U.S. electrical products industry has a greater impact on the production structure of the Canadian communications equipment industry than R&D capital from Canadian manufacturing. A 1 percent increase in R&D capital in the U.S. electrical products industry causes R&D intensity to rise by 0.65 percent in the Canadian communications equipment industry.

Fourth, the communications equipment industry is a source of important productivity gains in Canadian manufacturing. Between 1966 and 1991, about 8.5 percent of the average annual rate of productivity growth in manufacturing was accounted for by spillovers from the communications equipment industry. Moreover, this contribution increased during the post-1973 period when the productivity slowdown occurred. Thus, the spillovers were a mitigating influence on the further erosion of productivity performance in Canadian manufacturing. However, it should be recognized that the spillovers from U.S. manufacturing were the major contributor in this regard — accounting for 76 percent of the average annual rate of productivity growth in Canadian manufacturing. Spillovers from Canadian manufacturing and the U.S. electrical products industry contributed to productivity growth in the Canadian communications equipment industry. The spillovers from Canadian manufacturing accounted for only about 6 percent of productivity growth, largely dominated by the spillovers from the United States. However, the main source of productivity in the Canadian communications equipment industry was the scale economies associated with output growth, which accounted for 65 percent of productivity growth.

Fifth, the fact that the Canadian communications equipment industry and manufacturing sector are sources of productivity gains implies that there are extra-private returns to their R&D capital. The before-tax, gross of depreciation private rate of return to R&D capital averaged 17 percent between 1966 and 1991. The social rate of return pertaining to Canadian communications equipment R&D capital is estimated at 55 percent, or 225 percent higher than the private rate of return. The social rate of return associated with Canadian manufacturing R&D capital is estimated at 21 percent, or 24 percent higher than the private rate of return. These differences point to an under-investment in R&D. However, this does not mean that governments should target the Canadian communications equipment industry for special status. Although its high annual rate of productivity growth and high social rate of return distinguish this industry, there are other manufacturing industries whose social rates of return to R&D capital exceed the private rate of return.

Finally, R&D investment should be encouraged through policy instruments that focus on R&D capital formation, but these policies should not be directed towards particular industries. There are several possibilities in this regard. The government could provide information to facilitate joint ventures aimed at new product development, and joint research or "laboratory" ventures. Legislation and regulation could be amended in order to reduce the transaction costs associated with these joint ventures. Reducing the legislative and regulatory burden would also help to encourage other more indirect means of internalizing the spillovers arising from R&D. Licensing agreements are one example that come to mind.

Tax expenditures and subsidies are other policy instruments that are — and can be — directed towards R&D capital formation. It is important to recognize that any analysis of the relative costs and benefits of government tax policies aimed at R&D investment must take into account R&D spillovers. Otherwise, the benefits associated with these policies will be underestimated, not only in the way they encourage R&D investment, but also in their contribution to improving living standards through higher rates of productivity growth.

Date modified:

Archivé — Document de travail No 10 : R-D et croissance de la productivité dans le secteur manufacturier et l'industrie du matériel de communications au Canada

par Jeffrey I. Bernstein, Université Carleton et The National Bureau of Economic Research, juin 1996


Résumé

La productivité et les facteurs de production sont les deux sources de croissance de la production dans une économie. La croissance de la productivité est généralement attribuable au progrès technologique, aux économies d'échelle et aux autres sources de gains d'efficience qui font sentir leurs effets avec le temps. De fait, il est important pour une société d'avoir un taux stable et positif de croissance de la productivité à long terme parce que les gains connexes contribuent à l'amélioration du niveau de vie.

Ce sont principalement les progrès réalisés dans l'état des connaissances, par le mécanisme du changement technologique, qui déterminent la croissance de la productivité en longue période; les investissements en recherche et développement (R-D) contribuent directement à l'accumulation du savoir. Les investissements en R-D donnent lieu à de nouveaux produits et procédés de production et, ainsi, contribuent à l'amélioration de la productivité. Un trait distinctif des investissements en R-D est que les avantages qui en découlent se diffusent parmi les entreprises et les organisations. La croissance de la productivité dans une industrie dépend donc de ses propres activités de R-D mais aussi des efforts de R-D des autres secteurs générateurs de connaissances. Cela signifie que la croissance de la productivité est déterminée par le total cumulatif des activités de R-D. L'importance des retombées de la R-D en tant que moteur de la croissance de la productivité a suscité un intérêt croissant à l'égard des sources de ces retombées. On a observé par ailleurs que les secteurs de haute technologie ont des taux relativement élevés de croissance de la productivité et constituent d'importantes sources de retombées de la R-D. Les entreprises qui évoluent dans l'industrie canadienne du matériel de communications et les autres industries de matériel électronique sont des centres d'activités fondées sur le savoir. Par conséquent, ce secteur est un bon candidat pour entreprendre un examen du rôle de l'investissement en R-D comme source d'amélioration de la productivité.

Dans le présent document, nous abordons trois grandes questions.

La première question a trait à l'estimation des effets des retombées de la R-D de l'industrie du matériel de communications sur la structure de production ou l'intensité des facteurs (c.-à-d., les ratios travail/production, intrants intermédiaires/production, capital physique/production et capital de R-D/production) dans le secteur de la fabrication au Canada (mesuré en excluant le secteur du matériel de communications). En outre, parce que les retombées en provenance des États-Unis ont une incidence significative sur les besoins en facteurs au Canada, celles émanant du secteur manufacturier américain ont aussi été prises en compte. Afin de déterminer si la structure de production de l'industrie du matériel des communications diffère de celle des autres industries manufacturières, les effets des retombées de la R-D sur l'intensité des facteurs dans cette industrie ont aussi été estimés. Dans ce cas, les retombées de la R-D proviennent à la fois du secteur manufacturier canadien et de l'industrie des produits électriques aux États-Unis.

La deuxième question est liée à la contribution des retombées de la R-D à la croissance de la productivité. La croissance de la productivité dans le secteur manufacturier canadien est mesurée et décomposée afin de préciser les sources de cette croissance et, en particulier, la contribution des retombées provenant de l'industrie du matériel de communications et du secteur manufacturier américain. En outre, le document renferme une analyse de la croissance de la productivité dans l'industrie du matériel de communications, où les retombées proviennent à la fois du secteur manufacturier canadien et de l'industrie américaine des produits électriques. Les résultats de ces analyses nous permettent de voir dans quelle mesure l'accumulation du capital de R-D parmi les producteurs d'un segment de l'économie influe sur la croissance de la productivité des producteurs d'autres secteurs ou industries.

Avec les deux premières questions, nous traitons des effets des retombées de la R-D du point de vue de l'utilisateur ou du bénéficiaire de ces retombées. Si nous tournons notre attention vers les sources des retombées, notre troisième question porte sur l'estimation des taux de rendement privé et social du capital de R-D. Le taux de rendement privé mesure les avantages qui échoient aux auteurs des activités de R-D, tandis que le taux de rendement social mesure les avantages que retirent les utilisateurs de ces investissements.

Plusieurs conclusions se dégagent de notre étude.

Premièrement, entre 1966 et 1991, le taux annuel moyen de croissance de la productivité dans l'industrie du matériel de communications a été de 1,24 pour cent, tandis qu'il a été de 0,50 pour cent dans le secteur manufacturier. Ainsi, le taux de croissance de la productivité dans l'industrie du matériel de communications a été 150 pour cent plus élevé que le taux observé dans le secteur manufacturier. De plus, contrairement au secteur manufacturier (où il y a eu ralentissement de la productivité après 1973 — le taux moyen est passé de 1,08 pour cent à 0,23 pour cent), la croissance annuelle moyenne de la productivité dans l'industrie du matériel de communications a augmenté de 46 pour cent, passant de 0,94 pour cent à 1,37 pour cent.

Deuxièmement, en tant que source de retombées, l'industrie du matériel de communications agit sur la structure de production (c.-à-d. l'intensité des facteurs) du secteur manufacturier. De fait, on a estimé qu'une expansion de 1 pour cent du capital de R-D dans l'industrie du matériel de communications entraînait un accroissement de 0,15 pour cent de l'intensité des connaissances dans l'ensemble du secteur manufacturier. Cet ordre de grandeur est important si l'on songe que l'effet provient d'une seule industrie de la classification type des industries (CTI) à trois chiffres. En outre, les retombées de l'industrie du matériel de communications réduisent l'intensité des facteurs liés au capital physique, au travail et aux intrants intermédiaires (par exemple, les matériaux).

Pour ce qui est de leur importance relative, les retombées de la R-D du secteur manufacturier américain ont un impact plus important sur l'intensité des facteurs dans le secteur manufacturier canadien que les retombées provenant de l'industrie du matériel de communications. Il faut signaler que les intrants liés au capital de R-D des secteurs manufacturiers des deux économies nord-américaines sont substituts. Une augmentation de 1 pour cent du capital de R-D dans le secteur manufacturier américain entraîne une diminution de 0,52 pour cent de l'intensité du facteur correspondant aux connaissances locales dans l'industrie manufacturière canadienne.

Troisièmement, les intensités des facteurs dans l'industrie du matériel de communications au Canada subissent l'influence des retombées émanant à la fois du secteur manufacturier canadien et de l'industrie des produits électriques américaine. Ces deux sources de retombées réduisent les intensités des facteurs travail et intrants intermédiaires tout en accroissant l'intensité du facteur capital physique. Cependant, les retombées du secteur manufacturier canadien ont pour effet de réduire l'intensité de la R-D dans l'industrie du matériel de communications. Une hausse de 1 pour cent du capital de R-D dans le secteur manufacturier canadien entraîne une baisse de 0,38 pour cent de l'intensité de la R-D dans l'industrie du matériel de communications. Si nous combinons les résultats des retombées de l'industrie du matériel de communications et du secteur manufacturier, on constate qu'une expansion du capital de R-D dans l'industrie du matériel de communications a pour effet d'accroître l'intensité de la R-D de la production manufacturière. Ce résultat atténue donc le besoin (tous les autres éléments étant maintenus constants) d'une expansion supplémentaire de la R-D dans l'industrie du matériel de communications. Les retombées de l'industrie des produits électriques aux États-Unis accentuent l'intensité de la R-D dans l'industrie du matériel de communications au Canada. Par conséquent, les stocks de capital de R-D sont complémentaires entre ces deux industries. En outre, le capital de R-D de l'industrie des produits électriques aux États-Unis a une incidence plus grande sur la structure de production de l'industrie du matériel de communications au Canada que le capital de R-D du secteur manufacturier canadien. Ainsi, un accroissement de 1 pour cent du capital de R-D dans l'industrie américaine des produits électriques engendre une hausse de l'intensité de R-D de 0,65 pour cent dans l'industrie canadienne du matériel de communications.

Quatrièmement, l'industrie du matériel de communications est une source importante de gains de productivité pour le secteur manufacturier canadien. Entre 1966 et 1991, environ 8,5 pour cent du taux de croissance annuel moyen de productivité dans le secteur manufacturier était attribuable aux etombées émanant de l'industrie du matériel de communications. Qui plus est, cette contribution a augmenté au cours de la période postérieure à 1973, lorsque s'est amorcé le ralentissement de la productivité. Ainsi, ces retombées ont contribué à limiter l'érosion de la performance du secteur manufacturier canadien sur le plan de la productivité. Mais il faut reconnaître que les retombées du secteur manufacturier américain ont été la principale source de croissance de la productivité au Canada — représentant 76 pour cent du taux annuel moyen de croissance de la productivité. Les retombées du secteur manufacturier canadien et de l'industrie américaine des produits électriques ont contribué à la croissance de la productivité dans l'industrie canadienne du matériel de communications. Les retombées du secteur manufacturier canadien n'ont représenté qu'environ 6 pour cent de la croissance de la productivité, celles émanant des États-Unis dominant largement les premières. Mais ce sont les économies d'échelle liées à la croissance de la production qui ont constitué le principal facteur de croissance de la productivité dans l'industrie du matériel de communications au Canada, avec 65 pour cent du total.

Cinquièmement, le fait que l'industrie du matériel de communications et le secteur manufacturier canadiens soient des sources de gains de productivité signifie que leur capital de R-D engendre des rendements privés excédentaires. Le taux de rendement privé, avant impôt et amortissement, du capital de R-D a été, en moyenne, de 17 pour cent entre 1966 et 1991. Le taux de rendement social du capital de R-D dans l'industrie du matériel de communications au Canada est estimé à 50 pour cent, ce qui est 225 pour cent plus élevé que le taux de rendement privé. Le taux de rendement social du capital de R-D du secteur manufacturier canadien est estimé à 21 pour cent, ce qui est 24 pour cent plus élevé que le taux de rendement privé correspondant. Ces écarts font ressortir un sous-investissement en R-D. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que les gouvernements devraient accorder un statut particulier à l'industrie canadienne du matériel de communications. Malgré le fait que cette industrie se distingue par des taux de croissance annuelle de la productivité et un taux de rendement social élevés, il y a d'autres industries manufacturières où le taux de rendement social du capital de R-D dépasse le taux de rendement privé.

Enfin, on devrait encourager l'investissement dans la R-D par des mesures privilégiant la formation de capital de R-D, mais sans cibler une ou des industries en particulier. Plusieurs possibilités s'offrent à cet égard. L'État pourrait diffuser des renseignements qui facilitent les co-entreprises axées sur le développement de nouveaux produits, des projets de recherche ou des «  laboratoires  » exploités conjointement. Les lois et les règlements pourraient être modifiés en vue de réduire les coûts de transaction associés à ces co-entreprises. En outre, en réduisant le fardeau législatif/réglementaire, on favoriserait d'autres mécanismes, moins directs, d'internalisation des retombées de la R-D. Les accords de licences constituent un exemple à cet égard.

Les dépenses fiscales et les subventions sont d'autres mesures qui sont ou qui pourraient être orientées vers la formation de capital de R-D. Il est important de reconnaître que toute analyse des coûts et des avantages relatifs des politiques fiscales de l'État en matière d'investissement en R-D doit tenir compte des retombées de la R-D. Autrement, les avantages qui se rattachent à ces politiques se trouvent sous-estimés, non seulement pour ce qui est de la mesure dans laquelle elles favorisent l'investissement en R-D, mais aussi de leur contribution à l'amélioration du niveau de vie par le jeu de taux plus élevés de croissance de la productivité.

Date de modification :