Archived — Working Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 15: The Knowledge-Based Economy: Shifts in Industrial Output

by Surendra Gera, Industry Canada and Kurt Mang, Department of Finance, January 1997


Summary

The authors analyze Canada's industrial structure over the period from 1971 to 1991, using Statistics Canada's input/output model. Though largely based on previous work done by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (1992), this study employs more timely data and a finer industrial disaggregation (111 industries versus 33), and explores more closely the role played by the "new economy" industries – that is, those industries where innovation through the use of knowledge, technology and skills is the key to generating growth.

The study examines the extent and nature of changes in the Canadian industrial structure by addressing four policy-related questions:

  • What has been the extent of structural change in the Canadian economy? Which industries experienced growth? Which industries did not?
  • Has the pace of structural change been accelerating?
  • Is the Canadian economy becoming more innovative? Is it increasing its use of knowledge, technology, skills, etc.?
  • What are the key factors driving this structural change: final domestic demand, exports, imports, or technical change (measured by changes in input/output coefficients)?

Our analysis has led to the following conclusions.

Structural change is evident at the aggregate level and at the detailed industrial level.

The traditional sectors - primary resources, manufacturing, and construction – are losing a great deal of their importance in the economy relative to the service sector.

The "engines of growth" in the Canadian economy - computers and office equipment; communication equipment and semiconductors; communication services; real estate and business services; community, social, and personal services; pharmaceuticals; electricity, gas, and water; and finance and insurance – have led the way throughout the 1971–1991 period. There is surprisingly little movement among the growth leaders over time.

Contrary to widespread belief, the speed of change in the economy does not appear to be accelerating.

The Canadian industrial structure is becoming increasingly knowledge-based and technology-intensive, with competitive advantage being rooted in innovation and ideas – the foundations of the new economy.

Industrial structural change is occurring in parallel with increases in knowledge intensity. The economy is moving up the knowledge intensity scale. Moreover, this shift has been apparent since the early 1970s.

High-knowledge industries dominated growth rankings over the most recent period (1986–1991), with seven of the top ten growth industries belonging to the knowledge-intensive category.

Despite this superior performance, the Canadian business sector is still largely comprised of medium- and low-knowledge industries.

In the manufacturing, service, and resource sectors, those industries which require high-knowledge input consistently outperformed, on average, those with more modest knowledge requirements.

The Canadian manufacturing sector is becoming more innovative through the use of high-technology and more advanced labour skills.

Structural change in the manufacturing sector occurs in parallel with changes in technological intensity, in the skill intensity of output, and in wage levels.

From 1971 to 1991, high-technology industries in the manufacturing sector - those which spend a high proportion of their resources on research and development (R&D) – experienced higher growth rates than the sectoral average. During the same period, the relative importance of low-technology industries declined.

Industries in the manufacturing sector that use higher labour skills have, over the period, increased their relative importance as compared to lower-skill industries.

Over the period 1971–1991, industries in the manufacturing sector that pay higher wages have been higher-growth industries.

The service sector is also becoming more innovative.

The service sector has undergone much the same evolution, in terms of knowledge intensity, as has manufacturing: high-knowledge industries outpaced the growth of the service sector as a whole and of the overall business sector. So, too, have medium-knowledge services.

While in the past domestic demand was the dominant factor influencing the growth of industries, trade is now becoming much more important. High-knowledge industries in the tradable sector seem to have benefited the most from export performance; low-knowledge industries have seen their relative decline hastened by import competition.

Exports have been an increasingly important factor for change in high-technology manufacturing industries. Rising imports contributed to the loss of output share in low-technology industries. The same conclusion is reached in the case of those industries which tend to employ lower-skilled workers.

Within the manufacturing sector, high-wage industries are generally export-oriented. Changing trade patterns, at least during the 1980s, did not hurt those industries. However, import competition generally had net negative effects on medium- and low-wage industries.

For the service sector, the domestic market remains predominant. This is a reflection of the fact that services are not traded to the same extent as goods. Nonetheless, trade in services is growing in importance.

For both traditional and high-knowledge services, technical change has become more important.

Structural change is also evident in the natural resource sector.

While the natural resource sector seems to be in general decline, a closer examination of industry-level data reveals the above-average performance of several industries that comprise this sector – namely, fishing and trapping, a low-knowledge industry; and such medium-knowledge industries as metal and non-metal mining, and mineral fuels.

In the most successful resource industries, above-average performance is related to trade factors; most of these industries experienced strong growth despite low or even negative domestic-demand effects.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document de travail No 15 : L'économie du savoir et l'évolution de la production industrielle

par Surendra Gera, Industrie Canada, et Kurt Mang, ministère des Finances, janvier 1997


Résumé

Dans cette étude, les auteurs analysent la structure industrielle du Canada au cours de la période allant de 1971 à 1991 en utilisant le modèle d'entrées-sorties de Statistique Canada. Bien que largement fondée sur des travaux antérieurs de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (1992), l'étude repose sur des données plus à jour, sur une ventilation plus poussée d'industries (111 industries au lieu de 33) et les auteurs examinent plus à fond le rôle que jouent les industries de la « nouvelle économie », c'est-à-dire, les industries où l'innovation, alimentée par l'utilisation du savoir, de la technologie et des qualifications professionnelles, est la source essentielle de la croissance.

L'étude a pour objet d'examiner la nature et la portée des changements observés dans la structure industrielle du Canada en se penchant sur les quatre questions suivantes liées à l'élaboration des politiques :

  • Quelle a été la portée du changement structurel dans l'économie canadienne ? Quelles sont les industries qui ont pris de l'expansion et quelles sont celles qui ont tiré de l'arrière ?
  • Le rythme du changement structurel s'est-il accéléré ?
  • L'économie canadienne est-elle en voie de devenir plus innovatrice ? Son utilisation du savoir, de la technologie et des qualifications professionnelles s'intensifie-t-elle ?
  • Quels sont les facteurs clés à l'origine du changement structurel : la demande finale intérieure, les exportations, les importations ou le progrès technique (mesuré à partir des changements observés au niveau des coefficients d'entrées-sorties) ?

L'analyse a permis de dégager les conclusions suivantes :

La présence du changement structurel est observable tant à l'échelle globale qu'à une échelle industrielle désagrégée.

Les secteurs traditionnels – ressources primaires, fabrication et construction - perdent beaucoup de leur importance dans l'économie par rapport au secteur des services.

Les « moteurs de la croissance » de l'économie canadienne – ordinateurs et matériel de bureau, matériel de communications et semiconducteurs, immobilier et services commerciaux, services personnels, sociaux et communautaires, produits pharmaceutiques, électricité, gaz et eau, et finances et assurance - se sont maintenus en tête du peloton pendant toute la période 1971-1991. On observe une stabilité étonnante parmi les chefs de file de la croissance durant ces années.

Contrairement à une perception largement répandue, le rythme de changement dans l'économie ne semble pas s'être accéléré.

La structure industrielle du Canada s'oriente de plus en plus vers les industries du savoir et à haute technicité, pour lesquelles l'avantage concurrentiel réside dans l'innovation et les idées créatrices – les fondements mêmes de la « nouvelle économie ».

L'évolution de la structure industrielle s'est accompagnée de hausses du niveau de concentration en savoir. L'économie suit un mouvement ascendant dans l'échelle de concentration en savoir. De plus, cette mutation a été perceptible depuis le début des années 70.

Les industries à fort contenu de savoir ont dominé le classement en terme de croissance pendant la période la plus récente (1986-1991), sept des dix industries les plus performantes étant du groupe des industries à densité élevée de savoir.

En dépit de cette performance supérieure, le secteur des entreprises canadiennes comprend encore en majorité des industries à contenu de savoir moyen et faible.

Dans les secteurs de la fabrication, des services et des ressources, la performance des industries à fort contenu de savoir a surpassé, en moyenne, celles dont le niveau de savoir requis était plus modeste.

Le secteur manufacturier canadien est en voie de devenir plus innovateur en intensifiant son utilisation des technologies de pointe et de travailleurs plus spécialisés.

Le changement structurel dans le secteur manufacturier s'est accompagné de modifications en matière de densité technologique de la production, de qualifications requises des travailleurs et de niveaux de salaires.

Entre 1971 et 1991, les industries manufacturières à haute technicité – celles dont la proportion des dépenses en recherche et développement (R-D) est élevée – ont enregistré des taux de croissance supérieurs à ceux de la moyenne sectorielle. Pendant la même période, l'importance relative des industries à faible technicité a diminué.

L'importance relative des industries manufacturières qui utilisent une main-d'oeuvre plus qualifiée s'est accrue, à plus long terme, par rapport à celle des industries qui emploient des travailleurs moins spécialisés.

Entre 1970 et 1991, les industries manufacturières qui payaient des salaires plus élevés furent aussi celles dont la croissance a été plus rapide.

Le secteur des services est aussi en voie de devenir plus innovateur.

Le secteur des services a suivi une évolution à peu près semblable à celle du secteur manufacturier : les industries à haute densité de savoir ont enregistré une croissance supérieure à celle de l'ensemble du secteur des services et de l'ensemble du secteur des entreprises. Il en fut de même des services à contenu moyen de savoir.

La demande intérieure était auparavant l'élément dominant qui influait sur la croissance des industries, mais le rôle des échanges commerciaux est devenu beaucoup plus important. Les industries à forte concentration de savoir dans le secteur des biens échangeables semblent être celles qui ont le plus profité de la performance des exportations; les industries à faible densité de savoir ont vu leur recul relatif s'accélérer à cause de la concurrence des importations.

Les exportations sont devenues un élément de changement de plus en plus important dans les industries manufacturières à haute technicité. Une hausse des importations a contribué à la perte de parts de production dans les industries à faible technicité. La même conclusion s'applique aux industries qui emploient du personnel peu spécialisé.

À l'intérieur du secteur manufacturier, les industries à hauts salaires sont généralement tournées vers les marchés d'exportation. L'évolution des profils commerciaux, du moins pendant les années 80, n'a pas eu d'incidence négative sur ces industries. Mais la concurrence provenant des importations a généralement eu des effets négatifs nets sur les industries à rémunération faible et moyenne.

Pour ce qui est du secteur des services, le marché intérieur demeure encore la force dominante. Il en est ainsi parce que les services ne font pas l'objet d'échanges commerciaux dans la même mesure que les produits. Néanmoins, l'importance du commerce des services est à la hausse.

Dans le cas tant des services traditionnels que de ceux à forte densité de savoir, le rôle du progrès technique est devenu plus important.

La présence du changement structurel est manifeste aussi dans le secteur des ressources naturelles.

Le secteur des ressources naturelles semble suivre une tendance générale à la baisse, mais un examen plus poussé des données à l'échelle industrielle révèle que plusieurs industries comprises dans ce secteur ont une performance supérieure à la moyenne – notamment, la pêche et le piégeage, une industrie à faible contenu de savoir, et des industries à contenu moyen de savoir comme l'extraction de minerais métalliques et non métalliques ainsi que les combustibles minéraux.

Parmi les industries de ressources les plus performantes, ce sont des éléments liés au commerce qui expliquent leur performance supérieure à la moyenne; la plupart de ces industries ont enregistré une forte croissance en dépit d'une incidence faible ou même négative de la demande intérieure.

Date de modification :