Archived — Working Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 27: Recent Jumps in Patenting Activities: Comparative Innovative Performance of Major Industrial Countries, Patterns and Explanations

by Mohammed Rafiquzzaman and Lori Whewell, Industry Canada, December 1998


Summary

In recent years, Canada has experienced an increase in patenting activities. Canadians are filing patent applications at an ever-increasing rate, both at home and abroad. Further, patent applications abroad by Canadian inventors have grown at a faster rate than patent applications in Canada from abroad, thereby widening the gap between the outflow and inflow of patent applications. All these trends are direct reflections of an increase in inventive activity in Canada. This paper analyses the nature, pattern and causes of these shifts in patenting activities in Canada.

The paper has five objectives: (1) to investigate whether the recent surge in patenting activities is a global phenomenon or something unique to Canada, and to examine the causes of these increases; (2) to examine Canada's inventive performance vis-à-vis that of other G-7 countries; (3) to demonstrate the trend in the flow of patent applications to and from Canada; (4) to understand the factors that determine international patenting activities of inventors from one country in another country; and (5) to identify the most innovative and dynamic industries within the Canadian manufacturing sector.

Trends in patenting activity indicate that Canadian inventors are well positioned in the field of innovation vis-à-vis those of the other six G-7 countries (the United States, Japan, Italy, Germany, France and the United Kingdom). Canadian inventors have been gaining ground in the development of technology more quickly than nationals of most other industrialized countries. We find that the propensity of Canadian inventors to patent in the other six countries has changed over time, as has the patenting activity of inventors from these countries in Canada. In particular, dramatic changes have occurred in cross-border patenting between Canada and the United States. While Canada still receives the largest share of its foreign patents from U.S. inventors, and the United States receives the highest share of foreign patents from Canadians, each of these shares has been falling over time. Canadians are increasingly applying for patent protection in countries other than the United States; in addition, Canada is becoming a more attractive place in which to seek patent protection for nationals of foreign countries other than the United States.

The paper considers two competing hypotheses to explain the causes of the recent increase in Canadian patenting activity: first, the pro-patent hypothesis, associated with changes in patent policy that have benefited patent holders and thereby increased the propensity to patent; second, the fertile technology hypothesis, related to the current technological revolution and innovation in the high-technology sector, particularly in the fields of biotechnology, information technology and software industries. The result has been an increase in the filing of patent applications related to these specific technologies. The findings of the paper suggest that, although both hypotheses are at work, the fertile technology hypothesis can better explain the recent increase in patenting activity in Canada.

Further, the paper finds that the characteristics of both technology source and destination countries, along with national patent systems, play important roles in international patenting decisions. Source country characteristics, such as research intensity and home country bias, are significant determinants of international patenting activity. Destination country characteristics, such as human capital, imports, market size, degree of intellectual property protection, and geographic proximity, tend to induce inventors from the source country to patent in the destination country. However, the cost of patenting was not found to be an important determinant of international patenting activity.

Finally, the paper finds that increases in patenting activity have not been uniformly distributed across all industrial sectors within Canadian manufacturing. The largest concentration of applications for manufacturing patents is found in the science-based industries. The science-based sector, which is the smallest sector within Canadian manufacturing, remains the most innovative, and a handful of industries within the science-based sector have become increasingly dynamic over time.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document de travail No 27 : La hausse récente des demandes de brevets et la performance des principaux pays industrialisés sur le plan de l'innovation — tendances et explications

par Mohammed Rafiquzzaman et Lori Whewell, Industrie Canada, décembre 1998


Résumé

Au cours des années récentes, le Canada a enregistré une augmentation de l'activité liée à l'obtention de brevets. Les Canadiens présentent des demandes de brevets à un taux de plus en plus élevé, tant au pays qu'à l'étranger. En outre, les demandes de brevets présentées à l'étranger par des inventeurs canadiens ont augmenté à un rythme supérieur à celui des demandes de brevets présentées au Canada par des étrangers, ce qui a contribué à creuser l'écart entre les flux de demandes de brevets à l'entrée et à la sortie. Toutes ces tendances traduisent directement une augmentation de l'activité inventive au Canada. Dans ce document, nous analysons la nature, les tendances et les causes de ces déplacements dans les activités liées aux brevets au Canada.

Cette étude vise cinq objectifs : 1) examiner si l'augmentation récente de l'activité liée aux brevets est un phénomène mondial ou s'il est unique au Canada et examiner les causes de cette augmentation; 2) examiner la performance du Canada au chapitre des inventions par rapport à celle des autres pays du G-7; 3) démontrer la tendance des demandes de brevets à destination et en provenance du Canada; 4) comprendre les facteurs qui déterminent les demandes de brevets des inventeurs d'un pays dans un autre pays et 5) déterminer quelles sont les industries les plus innovatrices et dynamiques dans le secteur manufacturier canadien.

Les tendances observées dans l'activité liée aux brevets indiquent que les inventeurs canadiens sont bien placés dans le domaine de l'innovation par rapport à ceux des autres pays du G-7 (les États-Unis, le Japon, l'Italie, l'Allemagne, la France et le Royaume-Uni). Les inventeurs canadiens ont gagné du terrain sur les ressortissants de la plupart des autres pays industrialisés en ce qui a trait au développement de la technologie. Nous constatons que la propension des inventeurs canadiens à obtenir des brevets dans les six autres pays a changé avec le temps, tout comme l'activité liée aux brevets des inventeurs de ces six pays au Canada. En particulier, une évolution spectaculaire s'est produite dans les demandes transfrontalières de brevets entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Si les inventeurs américains viennent encore en tête de liste des ressortissants étrangers présentant des demandes de brevets au Canada et que les Canadiens sont eux-mêmes au premier rang des étrangers qui demandent des brevets aux États-Unis, ces parts respectives ont diminué avec le temps. Des Canadiens sollicitent de plus en plus la protection des brevets dans les pays autres que les États-Unis; en outre, le Canada présente progressivement plus d'intérêt pour les ressortissants de pays étrangers autres que les États-Unis qui souhaitent obtenir cette forme de protection.

Dans cette étude, nous examinons deux hypothèses concurrentes qui visent à expliquer les causes de l'augmentation récente de l'activité liée aux brevets au Canada : premièrement, l'hypothèse de la politique favorable aux brevets, qui est associée aux changements apportés à la politique en matière de brevets en faveur des détenteurs de brevets qui, par conséquent, a haussé la propension à solliciter des brevets; deuxièmement, l'hypothèse de la technologie fertile, qui a trait à la révolution technologique actuelle et à l'innovation dans les secteurs de haute technologie, notamment dans les domaines de la biotechnologie, de la technologie de l'information et du logiciel. Ce phénomène a entraîné une augmentation des demandes de brevets portant sur ces technologies particulières. Les résultats de notre étude laissent penser que, même si les deux hypothèses interviennent dans l'explication des tendances observées, l'hypothèse de la technologie fertile permet mieux d'expliquer l'augmentation récente de l'activité liée aux brevets au Canada.

En outre, l'étude montre que les caractéristiques des pays d'origine et de destination de la technologie et celles des systèmes nationaux de brevets, jouent un rôle important dans les décisions liées aux demandes de brevets à l'échelon international. Certaines caractéristiques du pays d'origine, par exemple l'intensité de la recherche et le préjugé favorable aux ressortissants du pays, sont des déterminants importants de l'activité internationale en matière de brevets. Les caractéristiques du pays de destination, par exemple le capital humain, les importations, la taille du marché, le degré de protection de la propriété intellectuelle et la proximité géographique ont tendance à inciter les inventeurs du pays d'origine à obtenir un brevet dans le pays de destination. Cependant, le coût de l'obtention d'un brevet n'est pas ressorti comme un déterminant important de l'activité liée aux brevets à l'échelon international.

Enfin, le document fait ressortir que l'augmentation de l'activité liée aux brevets n'est pas répartie de façon uniforme entre les diverses industries au sein du secteur manufacturier canadien. La concentration la plus importante de demandes de brevets manufacturiers est observée dans les industries à forte intensité de recherche. Le segment scientifique, qui est le plus modeste au sein du secteur manufacturier canadien, demeure le plus innovateur et une poignée d'industries au sein de ce segment sont devenues dynamiques avec le temps.

Date de modification :