Archived — Discussion Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 7: Implications of Foreign Ownership Restrictions for the Canadian Economy — a Sectoral Analysis

by Steven Globerman, Western Washington University, April 1999


Introduction

The purpose of this report is to assess the implications of foreign ownership restrictions for the Canadian economy on a sectoral level. The assessment draws largely upon a literature review, although it also incorporates some original theoretical analysis.

It is worth briefly noting how this review differs from the numerous and fairly comprehensive reviews of the welfare implications of inward foreign direct investment (FDI) for host countries.1 One is that the review concentrates on sectors rather than on the overall host economy. While a fundamental consensus has emerged over time in favour of the view that inward FDI imparts substantial net economic benefits to the host economy, primarily in the form of a variety of "spillover" efficiency benefits, these efficiency gains are not necessarily uniformly distributed across host country industries.2 Moreover, to the extent that there are certain costs associated with inward FDI that are not borne completely by the foreign investor, and to the extent that the nature and magnitude of those costs vary across industrial sectors, application of "macroeconomic" findings to the liberalization of inward FDI within specific sectors may lead to biased, if not misguided, conclusions.

This review also differs from most found in the literature in that it considers economic benefits and costs in a somewhat broader context than most similar studies. This is because, at this point in time, significant remaining government restrictions on inward FDI (in Canada and elsewhere) tend to be focused on so-called infrastructure industries such as transportation, telecommunications and financial services. Critics of inward FDI often take the positions that while the net costs of inward FDI may be insignificant for other industries, infrastructure industries are "critical" to the economic development of the host economy, and that the role of infrastructure companies will only be satisfactorily executed if the latter are domestically owned. Hence, a particularly close look at these infrastructure industries seems merited.

Unfortunately, there have been relatively few studies of the sectoral impacts of inward FDI, as well as few studies of the impacts of government policies on FDI flows on a sectoral basis. Hence, it is necessary to evaluate in some detail the organizational structure of the sectors of interest, as well as the nature of government FDI policies in those sectors, in order to assess whether the "conventional wisdom" about FDI and government policies toward inward FDI are applicable to specific industrial sectors.

The report proceeds as follows. The second section reviews the general arguments for and against host government restrictions on foreign ownership and summarizes the available evidence bearing upon the relevance of these arguments. The third section provides a conceptual discussion of the applicability of the theoretical arguments and the empirical evidence to the sectors of interest to this report: transportation, telecommunications, financial services, oil and gas and agriculture. The fourth section reviews the available empirical evidence on the impacts of inward FDI on the host country sectors of interest, as well as the effects of government restrictions on and regulation of FDI in those sectors. The fifth and concluding section evaluates existing Canadian government FDI policies in the sectors and offers an analysis of those policies.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document de discussion No 7 : Conséquences des restrictions à la propriété étrangère pour l'économie canadienne  — une analyse sectorielle

par Steven Globerman, Université Western Washington, avril 1999


Introduction

Cette étude vise à évaluer les conséquences sectorielles des restrictions à la propriété étrangère au Canada. L'évaluation se fonde en bonne partie sur un examen de la documentation disponible, bien qu'elle comporte aussi une analyse théorique originale.

Il convient d'indiquer brièvement de quelle façon notre analyse se distingue des nombreuses études passablement exhaustives des conséquences sur le plan du bien-être des entrées d'investissement étranger direct (IED) pour les pays d'accueil. 1 D'abord, l'analyse met l'accent sur les secteurs industriels au lieu de s'intéresser à l'ensemble de l'économie du pays d'accueil. Un consensus fondamental s'est progressivement dégagé concernant les importants avantages économiques nets que procurent les entrées d'IED à l'économie d'accueil, principalement sous la forme de gains d'efficience attribuables à des retombées économiques, bien que ces gains ne soient pas nécessairement répartis de façon uniforme entre les diverses industries du pays d'accueil2. De plus, dans la mesure où certains coûts liés aux entrées d'IED ne sont pas absorbés entièrement par l'investisseur étranger et que la nature et l'ampleur de ces coûts varient d'un secteur à l'autre, l'application de résultats « macro-économiques » à la libéralisation des entrées d'IED dans des secteurs précis pourrait mener à des conclusions tendancieuses, voire même erronées.

Notre analyse se distingue aussi de la plupart des autres parce que les coûts et les avantages économiques y sont considérés dans un contexte un peu plus large. Il en est ainsi parce les importantes restrictions gouvernementales qui s'appliquent encore aux entrées d'IED (au Canada et ailleurs) ont tendance à viser les industries d'infrastructure comme les transports, les télécommunications et les services financiers. Les critiques de l'IED affirment souvent que, même si les coûts nets de l'IED sont peut-être négligeables pour d'autres secteurs industriels, les industries d'infrastructure jouent un rôle crucial dans le développement économique du pays d'accueil et la mission des entreprises d'infrastructure ne peut être remplie de façon satisfaisante que si ces dernières appartiennent à des intérêts locaux. Il semble donc pertinent d'examiner ces industries de plus près.

Malheureusement, relativement peu de chercheurs se sont intéressés aux effets sectoriels des entrées d'IED et aux effets des politiques gouvernementales sur les flux d'IED dans une optique sectorielle. Il est donc nécessaire d'évaluer de façon assez détaillée la structure organisationnelle des secteurs concernés ainsi que la nature des politiques gouvernementales relatives à l'IED dans ces secteurs, afin de déterminer si les opinions traditionnelles au sujet de l'IED et des politiques gouvernementales à l'égard des entrées d'IED s'appliquent à des secteurs industriels particuliers.

Notre étude est structurée de la façon suivante. Le deuxième chapitre est consacré à une analyse des arguments généraux en faveur et contre l'application de restrictions gouvernementales à la propriété étrangère et renferme un résumé des preuves empiriques pertinentes à ces arguments. Dans le troisième chapitre, nous présentons un examen conceptuel de l'application possible des arguments théoriques et des preuves empiriques aux secteurs considérés : transports, télécommunications, services financiers, pétrole et gaz, et agriculture. Le quatrième chapitre renferme un examen des preuves empiriques disponibles sur l'incidence des entrées d'IED sur les secteurs industriels étudiés, ainsi que des effets des restrictions gouvernementales et de la réglementation applicables à l'IED dans ces secteurs. Enfin, le cinquième et dernier chapitre, présente une évaluation et une analyse des politiques gouvernementales actuelles concernant l'IED dans ces secteurs.

Date de modification :