Archived — Canada in the 21st Century: Paper Number 11: Institutions and Growth—Framework Policy as a Tool of Competitive Advantage for Canada

by Ronald Daniels, University of Toronto, under contract with Industry Canada, 1998


Summary

The paper examines the design of Canadian institutions in light of the modern challenges confronting the Canadian economy and it evaluates the broad, institutional lessons of modern growth theory for framework policy in Canada.

The first part of the paper canvasses the new institutional economics and sets out those principles of institutional design which are widely acknowledged among individuals and institutions advising developing nations as catalysts for economic growth. The key components of a competitive legal/institutional landscape include a stable government and currency, a strong but limited government, high investments in education, and a transaction- cost reduction orientation in framework policy. Not only have these principles been demonstrated as essential for growth in developing nations but they can also be effectively applied to the Canadian scene.

The second part reviews Canada's track record in framework policy over the past 10 to 15 years, highlighting changes that impact the neutrality of framework policy and comparing those changes to the principles canvassed in the second section. Overall, changes in the taxation system, competition law, intellectual property and trade policy have been largely consistent with the creation of distribution-of-power arrangements between and among various levels of government in order to create a stable political climate that is also responsive to the voice of the public. Nevertheless, there are a number of problems that must be addressed including the distortive effects of Canadian competition policy and the need to adopt competition enhancing policies in recently deregulated sectors.

The third part of the paper outlines the pressures currently being experienced in Canada. Challenges of globalization, demographic change, unstable and highly fractious inter-governmental relationships, and pressing fiscal constraints are all working to complicate the adoption of efficient framework policies and corresponding institutions.

The fourth part applies the development theory principles and sets out a series of institutional recommendations designed to facilitate the adoption of a responsive framework policy for Canada. The paper makes the following recommendations:

  • The creation of distribution-of-power arrangements between and among various levels of government in order to create a stable political climate that is also responsive to the voice of the public.
  • The creation and maintenance of a strong, independent bureaucracy which is professional, merit-driven, resistant to corruption, and committed to broad public accountability. This expert bureaucracy will be especially important in the next decade as the state is forced to achieve significant reductions in public expenditures.
  • A more rapid divestiture of Crown assets in order to achieve the goal of a more limited government. Canadian governments will have to invest greater energy in determining privatization priorities and then in constructing streamlined and effective instruments for implementing these goals.
  • The creation of an elaborate institutional regime that supports a public/ private partnership in a range of different policy areas. Such a regime would be designed to develop an environment conducive to the transfer of services and activities from the public to the private sector.
  • The continued acknowledgment of the importance and persistence of public goals and values in a setting of increased market reliance. Policy-makers must not lose sight of the central role for government in creating a foundation for market interactions that is perceived as legitimate.
  • That the state promote and nurture citizen capacity for risk-taking. The existence of state-sponsored insurance distortions which thwart individual initiative must be overcome since citizen willingness to make economically rational investments in physical, financial, and human capital is what underlies an institutional regime oriented to the provision of neutral framework policy.

The conclusion of the paper notes the role of political forces in frustrating the adoption of value-enhancing institutional changes. Certain groups who will be subjected to concentrated losses as a result of the proposed changes can be expected to lobby vigorously for policies and arrangements designed to mitigate the impact of these changes. The key challenge for policy-makers is to develop mechanisms that address the costs of economic change without thwarting the capacity of markets to make those changes in the first place.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le Canada au 21e siècle : Document No 11 : Institutions et croissance — Les politiques-cadres en tant qu'instrument de compétitivité pour le Canada

par Ronald Daniels, Université de Toronto, dans le cadre d'un contrat avec Industrie Canada, 1998


Sommaire

Dans la présente étude, nous examinons la structure des institutions canadiennes à la lumière des nouveaux défis que doit affronter notre économie, et nous évaluons les leçons institutionnelles de vaste portée issues de la théorie moderne de la croissance dans la perspective des politiques-cadres au Canada.

Au premier chapitre nous passons en revue la nouvelle théorie économique des institutions en faisant ressortir les principes de structuration institutionnelle identifiés comme catalyseurs de croissance par les experts et les institutions qui conseillent les pays en développement. Les éléments clés d'un encadrement législatif et institutionnel qui favorise la compétitivité comprennent : un gouvernement et une monnaie stables, un gouvernement fort mais de taille modeste, un niveau élevé d'investissement en éducation et des politiques-cadres visant à réduire les coûts de transaction. Ces principes, considérés essentiels à la croissance des pays en développement, peuvent aussi être appliqués efficacement au Canada.

Le second chapitre traite de la performance canadienne sur le plan des politiques-cadres au cours des dix à quinze dernières années, en mettant l'accent sur les changements qui affectent la neutralité des politiques-cadres et en les comparant aux principes présentés au premier chapitre. Dans l'ensemble, les modifications apportées au régime fiscal, à la législation sur la concurrence et la propriété intellectuelle, ainsi qu'à la politique commerciale ont été largement conformes à la mise en place d'ententes de partage des pouvoirs entre les divers paliers de gouvernement afin de créer un climat politique stable qui corresponde aux attentes du public. Néanmoins, un certain nombre de problèmes demeurent, en particulier les distorsions attribuables à la politique de concurrence et le besoin d'adopter des politiques favorisant la concurrence dans les secteurs récemment déréglementés.

Nous soulignons ensuite les tensions qui se font actuellement sentir au Canada. Les défis de la mondialisation, les changements démographiques, les relations intergouvernementales instables et particulièrement difficiles et les contraintes budgétaires se conjuguent pour rendre difficile l'adoption de politiques-cadres efficientes et la création des institutions qu'elles requièrent.

Au quatrième chapitre, nous appliquons les principes de la théorie du développement au Canada et nous présentons une série de recommandations institutionnelles favorisant la mise en place de politiques-cadres appropriées. Nous recommandons les mesures suivantes :

  • L'élaboration d'ententes de partage des pouvoirs entre les gouvernements qui puissent créer un climat politique stable et répondre à la volonté populaire.
  • La création et le maintien d'une fonction publique forte et indépendante, qui soit professionnelle, gérée au mérite, intègre et respectueuse de sa responsabilité envers le public. Cette bureaucratie spécialisée sera particulièrement nécessaire au cours de la prochaine décennie alors que l'État devra réduire sensiblement les dépenses publiques.
  • Une privatisation plus rapide des entités gouvernementales de manière à atteindre l'objectif de réduction du secteur public. Les gouvernements canadiens devront consacrer plus d'énergie à déterminer leurs priorités en matière de privatisation et, par la suite, à créer les outils nécessaires à la réalisation de ces objectifs.
  • La création d'un régime institutionnel capable de soutenir les partenariats entre le secteur public et le secteur privé dans une vaste gamme d'activités. La conception d'un tel régime devrait favoriser le transfert de services et d'activités du public vers le privé.
  • La réaffirmation de l'importance et de la pérennité des valeurs et des objectifs publics dans un contexte de plus en plus dominé par le marché. Les décideurs politiques ne doivent pas perdre de vue qu'un des principaux rôles du gouvernement est justement de fournir une assise capable de légitimer les relations de marché aux yeux des citoyens.
  • Que l'État encourage et entretienne la capacité des citoyens à prendre des risques. La présence de distorsions liées aux modalités d'assurance de l'État qui gênent l'initiative individuelle doit être compensée puisque la justification essentielle d'un encadrement législatif et réglementaire neutre repose sur la volonté des citoyens d'investir rationnellement dans le capital humain, physique et financier.

En conclusion, les auteurs signalent le rôle des forces politiques comme obstacle à des changements institutionnels susceptibles d'accroître la prospérité. Certains groupes vont subir des pertes considérables si les changements proposés se concrétisent; on peut donc s'attendre à ce qu'ils interviennent avec vigueur dans l'arène politique pour s'assurer que des mesures soient prises en vue d'atténuer l'effet de ces changements. Le principal défi pour les décideurs est de concevoir des mécanismes qui réduisent les coûts des changements économiques sans pour autant empêcher les marchés de réaliser ces changements.

Date de modification :