Archived — Occasional Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 23: Linkages Between Technological Change and Productivity Growth

by Steven Globerman, Western Washington University, 2000


Introduction

The purpose of this study is to review and synthesize the relevant literature dealing with the linkages between technological change and productivity change. The two concepts, although theoretically distinct, are often linked in policy discussions, and both are the focus of a wide range of public policies.

Recent commentaries in the popular press have highlighted Canada's stagnating productivity performance relative to that of the United States.1 Various possible explanations have been suggested including a long-standing concern in Canada about the relatively small amount of research and development (R&D) carried out by firms in this country.2 Indeed, a number of other possible explanations including government regulations and the decline in the value of the Canadian dollar, which raises the cost for Canadian companies to import productivity-enhancing technology, are also linked to technological change.3

A slowdown in the rate of technological change has also been widely bruited as a possible cause of the post-1973 productivity growth slowdown among developed countries. While the evidence (reviewed below) on this issue is inconclusive, there is now a growing perception that major technological developments in computing and telecommunications, including the emergence and growth of the Internet as a major new mode of mass communications, will induce a new and dramatic improvement in productivity growth, as well as in the growth of real incomes.4

The propensity of policymakers to look to the promotion of technological activities as an important component of industrial growth strategies is certainly not new, especially in Canada where a debate about the causes and consequences of technological change has taken place over at least three decades.5 Having implemented one of the most generous R&D tax regimes among OECD countries, the apparent failure of Canadian productivity growth rates to track those of other countries is disappointing. It is also a cause for questioning the faith being reinvested by the Canadian government in offering yet more financial assistance for technological activities.

The linkages between technological activities and productivity changes are complex and difficult to measure. Thus, notwithstanding the relatively large literature on the topic, there is no "conventional wisdom" on either the nature or the magnitude of these linkages. The purposes of this report are to review and synthesize the relevant literature, as well as to highlight important areas for future research and suggest specific research projects.

The report proceeds in the following way. Section 2 sets out the simple theoretical linkages between productivity growth and technological change. It also identifies and evaluates the conceptual and empirical problems associated with specifying and estimating those linkages. Section 3 summarizes and synthesizes empirical studies of the relationships between R&D, innovation and productivity at the levels of both the aggregate economy and individual industries and firms, or groups of industries and firms. Section 4 discusses factors that have been identified as "conditioning" the empirical relationship between technological change and productivity change, including the educational level of the workforce, industrial competition and so forth. Section 5 looks at whether there is any temporal pattern in the observed linkages between technological change and productivity change and what factors might account for any observed pattern. Section 6 focuses on the relationship between computerization and related technological changes in telecommunications and productivity change. The main issue of interest here is whether the "Digital Revolution" is sparking an accelerated growth in productivity and, if not, why. Section 7 identifies the important remaining gaps in our knowledge about the relationship between technological change and productivity change. Section 8 suggests a number of research projects designed to address the gaps identified in the preceding section.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document hors-série No 23 : Liens entre changement technologique et croissance de la productivité

par Steven Globerman, Université Western Washington, 2000


Introduction

L'objet de la présente étude est de passer en revue et de synthétiser la documentation pertinente sur les liens entre le changement technologique et l'évolution de la productivité. Bien que théoriquement distinctes, ces deux notions sont souvent liées dans les débats sur les politiques et elles font l'objet d'une gamme étendue de mesures gouvernementales.

Les analyses parues récemment dans la presse populaire ont mis en relief la stagnation de la productivité au Canada par rapport aux États-Unis 1. Diverses explications ont été proposées, dont une issue d'une préoccupation de longue date au Canada : le faible niveau de la recherche-développement (R-D) dans les entreprises 2. De fait, un certain nombre d'autres explications, y compris la réglementation gouvernementale et la baisse de la valeur du dollar canadien – qui hausse le coût de l'importation de technologies qui permettraient aux entreprises canadiennes d'améliorer leur productivité – ont aussi un lien avec le changement technologique 3.

Le ralentissement du taux de changement technologique est souvent mentionné comme cause possible du ralentissement de la croissance de la productivité survenu après 1973 dans les pays développés. Bien que les données sur cet aspect (examinées plus loin) ne soient pas concluantes, on a de plus en plus l'impression que les importants progrès technologiques survenus en informatique et dans les télécommunications, dont l'apparition et l'expansion d'Internet en tant que nouveau mode de communication de masse, permettront un regain spectaculaire de la croissance de la productivité et du revenu réel 4.

La propension des responsables des politiques à considérer la promotion des activités technologiques comme un volet important de la stratégie de croissance industrielle n'est certes pas nouvelle, notamment au Canada, où le débat au sujet des causes et des conséquences du changement technologique se poursuit depuis au moins trois décennies 5. Après avoir mis en place l'un des régimes fiscaux les plus généreux à l'égard de la R-D de tous les pays de l'OCDE, l'incapacité apparente du Canada à engendrer des taux de croissance de la productivité semblables à ceux des autres pays est déconcertante. On peut aussi s'interroger sur la conviction réaffirmée du gouvernement canadien d'offrir une aide financière encore plus importante pour les activités à caractère technologique.

Les liens entre l'activité technologique et l'évolution de la productivité sont complexes et difficiles à mesurer. Ainsi, en dépit de l'abondante documentation publiée sur cette question, il n'y a pas de « vision orthodoxe » de la nature ou de l'ampleur de ces liens. L'objet du présent rapport est de passer en revue et de synthétiser la documentation pertinente, en faisant ressortir les aspects sur lesquels il serait important d'orienter la recherche future tout en proposant des projets de recherche spécifiques.

Le rapport est structuré de la façon suivante. Le chapitre 2 renferme un exposé succinct des liens théoriques entre la croissance de la productivité et le changement technologique. Les problèmes conceptuels et empiriques liés à la spécification et à l'estimation de ces liens y sont décrits et évalués. Le chapitre 3 résume et synthétise les études empiriques consacrées aux liens entre la R-D, l'innovation et la productivité aux niveaux de l'économie, de l'industrie, de l'entreprise et des groupes d'industries et d'entreprises. Le chapitre 4 est consacré aux facteurs reconnus pour avoir une incidence sur la relation empirique entre le changement technologique et l'évolution de la productivité : niveau de scolarité de la main-d'oeuvre, concurrence industrielle, etc. Le chapitre 5 tente de vérifier l'existence d'un profil temporel dans les liens observés entre le changement technologique et l'évolution de la productivité, en faisant ressortir les facteurs qui pourraient expliquer un tel profil. Le chapitre 6 est consacré aux liens entre l'informatisation et les changements technologiques connexes dans les télécommunications, d'une part, et l'évolution de la productivité, d'autre part. La principale question qui nous intéresse ici est de savoir si la « révolution numérique » a déclenché une croissance accélérée de la productivité et, si ce n'est pas le cas, pour quelle raison. Au chapitre 7, nous énumérons les principales lacunes qui persistent dans notre connaissance de la relation entre le changement technologique et l'évolution de la productivité. Enfin, au chapitre 8, nous proposons un certain nombre de projets de recherche qui pourraient contribuer à combler les lacunes décrites dans le chapitre précédent.

Date de modification :